Customer Reviews for

Die for Me: A Novel of the Valentine Killer

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Contemporary, Suspense New Orleans Katherine Cole thought


Contemporary, Suspense

New Orleans


Katherine Cole thought she had the perfect fiancé three years ago until the day she found out that he was the serial killer named the Valentine Killer. So named that because he stabbed his victims through the heart and left a si...

Contemporary, Suspense

New Orleans


Katherine Cole thought she had the perfect fiancé three years ago until the day she found out that he was the serial killer named the Valentine Killer. So named that because he stabbed his victims through the heart and left a single rose in their hand. Then he vanished. Now he is back and after the one that got away. Living in New Orleans Katherine believed she was finally safe from the past. Now somehow her ex-fiancé has found her. This time Katherine is determined to stop the man she thought she knew and loved. She will stop him any way she can even if that means trusting a sexy cop when she has learned not to trust. A cop that says he can keep her safe.

Dane Black has always kept his emotions under control when he was on the job. That becomes difficult now that the Valentine Killer is in New Orleans. Dane has agreed to keep Katherine safe in the hopes of catching the killer in his town. He just never expected the passion that explodes between him and Katherine and he is determined that he will not stop until Katherine is safe in his arms and that the Valentine Killer is dead.


This is one story that once the reader starts they will not be able to put down until the very last page. This suspense is full of twist and turns that will have the reader guessing until all the secrets are revealed. This is a page turner that will keep the reader on the edge of their seats and up late into the night trying to figure out just who is who and what will happen next. The action doesn’t stop until the very end of the story and neither do the twists. This is a must read for those that enjoy suspense books along the lines of James Patterson but with more romance. This is one for the keeper shelves.

posted by lrwirum on February 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I would really really love it if this was an e-book!!

I would really really love it if this was an e-book!!

posted by lilbook-worm on February 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Contemporary, Suspense New Orleans Katherine Cole thought


    Contemporary, Suspense

    New Orleans


    Katherine Cole thought she had the perfect fiancé three years ago until the day she found out that he was the serial killer named the Valentine Killer. So named that because he stabbed his victims through the heart and left a single rose in their hand. Then he vanished. Now he is back and after the one that got away. Living in New Orleans Katherine believed she was finally safe from the past. Now somehow her ex-fiancé has found her. This time Katherine is determined to stop the man she thought she knew and loved. She will stop him any way she can even if that means trusting a sexy cop when she has learned not to trust. A cop that says he can keep her safe.

    Dane Black has always kept his emotions under control when he was on the job. That becomes difficult now that the Valentine Killer is in New Orleans. Dane has agreed to keep Katherine safe in the hopes of catching the killer in his town. He just never expected the passion that explodes between him and Katherine and he is determined that he will not stop until Katherine is safe in his arms and that the Valentine Killer is dead.


    This is one story that once the reader starts they will not be able to put down until the very last page. This suspense is full of twist and turns that will have the reader guessing until all the secrets are revealed. This is a page turner that will keep the reader on the edge of their seats and up late into the night trying to figure out just who is who and what will happen next. The action doesn’t stop until the very end of the story and neither do the twists. This is a must read for those that enjoy suspense books along the lines of James Patterson but with more romance. This is one for the keeper shelves.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2013

    Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Michelle L. Olso

    Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha - Michelle L. Olson:

    A good murder-mystery thriller is like chocolate for me, and I devour Patterson, Deaver, Johansen and more whenever I can.... Die for Me
    was like the best chocolate found in the far corners of Europe, and I LOVED very single page! It's an action packed, gripping psychological
     thriller that had me yearning for more. Having only read Cynthia's Paranormals prior to this, I was pleasantly surprised at how much I
    enjoyed it, and will definitely be checking out some of her other RS titles ASAP.

    Our villain is a super creepy serial killer. He's damaged, scarred, and obsessive beyond comprehension and has his sights set on the
    only woman he's ever been able to truly love (or so his warped mind believes). 

    Our hero is a no-nonsense detective, but he has a weakness for his initial suspect, the villain's ex-fiance, and victim, Katherine. The
    internal struggles he deals with when torn between duty and his heart are incredibly emotional and definitely believable.

    Katherine is a very strong heroine, even though she has her obvious weaknesses. She survived the nightmare of finding out that her
    fiance was a killer and is determined to bring him to justice no matter the cost. 

    The mystery is full of twists & turns, and even though some of the outcomes were predictable, it made the story no less intense and
    compelling. 

    LITERAL ADDICTION gives Die for Me 4 Skulls and believes it will make both romance and suspense lovers happy. I can't wait to check
    out more romantic suspense from Cynthia Eden!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    This book will leave you guessing. Throws together some action

    This book will leave you guessing. Throws together some action packed serial killer hunting with some hot passionate sex scenes. How could you go wrong? Lots of twists and action. I love the chemistry between Katherine and Dane. Nothing in this book is predictable. It left me guessing until the end

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2014

    This was my first Cynthia Eden and I LOVE it when I discover a n

    This was my first Cynthia Eden and I LOVE it when I discover a new author whose book I like and even better, who is prolific. This story had just the right balance of suspense and romance between our heroine and hero. Some authors get too bogged down with the mystery of the story that they leave the reader craving for more of the romance. This novel was not a disappointment and I simply adore a good serial killer mystery. I listened to the audiobook and didn't want to leave my car! As soon as I finished with the book, I immediately got my hands on another Cynthia Eden novel and just started to read Angel of Darkness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2014

    What a fantastic book!!! Full of mystery, psychologic mind-games

    What a fantastic book!!! Full of mystery, psychologic mind-games, action, so much hot passion and romantic. I loved this books and it became of my favorite's by Cynthia Eden.

    Katherine is the ex-fiancée of the Valentine's killer; she changed her name and her entire life so, when the killer was captured, she could testify in court. But now the Valentine is back and he knows where she is. When a woman is found dead, she recognizes the killer's MO and looks for Dane, the detective in charge.

    The passion between Dane and Katherine is immediate, angering more the Valentine's Killer. Because this killer only wants Katherine and has a disturbed sense of protection towards her.

    This is a non-stop action book, the suspense is to die for through the entire book until an end where the killer plays his psychologic mind-games with Dane and Katherine, but also with the reader.

    Mindblowing!

    I'm so thrilled that I guessed who's the killer in this book! It's not easy in Eden's novels, because the author always has surprises.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book was full of alot of suprising twists and turns that ke

    This book was full of alot of suprising twists and turns that kept me guessing and on the edge of my seat impatient to read more. We get to see things from a few different characters views and it just makes the book more intriging and spellbinding without giving everything away and sometimes explaining more in depth about the characters and there thoughts or feelings. Another well written book by Cynthia Eden that wont disappoint readrers that have come for more by this author or new to her books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    I love anything by Cynthia Eden - she never disappoints! This will keep you on the edge of your seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    This was a good book I could not put it down. I fished it within

    This was a good book I could not put it down. I fished it within the day I started reading it amazing book 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was a nail biting thriller.  I kept trying to guess who was

    This was a nail biting thriller.  I kept trying to guess who was the killer.  I was ready to arrest everyone.

    It included a very interesting twist -- our killer was in love with and obsessed with our heroine, and the cop was in love with and obsessed with the heroine, so what made them all the different?

    I liked the characters here and I was totally engrossed in the story.

    A fantastic thriller to keep your heart racing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I received an arc of this book to provide an honest review. HON

    I received an arc of this book to provide an honest review. HONESTLY this was an awesome read. Die For Me is a gripping, action packed, suspenseful, nail-biting romantic read. It’s absolutely entertaining. The story held my interest from the beginning. I had a real hard time putting it down.
    The characters were amazing. I just loved how the author portrayed them.
    Katherine, the lead female character, was strong yet vulnerable. She experienced a dramatic change in her life the day she discovered that the man she was engaged to was a serial killer.
    Dane was the detective in charge of finding and capturing this notorious serial killer. He was tenacious in his task and was willing to do just about anything to capture the valentine killer.
    The Valentine Killer was very smart and perceptive. He was always one step ahead of the police.
    This story is filled with a lot of twists and turns and some unexpected surprises. The descriptions were vivid and life like. The story flowed beautifully from beginning to end and it does not leave the reader hanging.
    I would definitely recommend this book to readers of romantic suspense. So what are you waiting for you need to go and get a copy for yourself trust me you will not regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2013

    From the time I finished Cynthia Eden's Deadly series I could no

    From the time I finished Cynthia Eden's Deadly series I could not wait for another romantic suspense book from this author. She did not disappoint. From page 1 I was hooked.
    Katherine Cole believes she has found the perfect man. Her and Michael O'Rourke are happily engaged and planning a happy future together. There is nothing Michael wouldn't do for Katherine. One day she comes home early and discovers just how far he would go to protect her as he in plunging a knife into the heart of a woman. Katherine runs and tries to start over in a new town with a new identity. Soon the killings begin again. She knows the Valentine Killer is back. Kate knows he will continue to kill anyone he feels is a danger to her. She goes to the police for help. Dane Black is the detective in charge. Dane has seen much violence in his lifetime both professional and personal and he vows to keep Katherine safe at all costs. Soon Dane realizes he has feelings for Katherine so protecting her is not only his job, but his future. He knows Kate is that special person for him. As Dane and Kate become closer, the danger becomes more intense. The killings continue and Kate realizes Valentine will never let her go.
    If you like a book filled with suspense, action and romance this book is for you. Ms. Eden will keep you up until the wee hours of the morning reading as the twists and turns keep you turning page after page. The shocking climax leaves me waiting once again for more from this author. Cynthia Eden has become an auto-buy for me and if you like romantic suspense I highly recommend this book. She will soon become a must buy for you too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ¿~Reviewed by ANGELA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    “~Reviewed by ANGELA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    “Die For Me is without a doubt one of Ms. Eden’s best work. It was fast paced with never ending suspense and mystery. Ms. Eden kept me at the edge of my seat…another job well done…” ~Under the Covers

    Do you ever count how many roses are in the bouquet you received? Katherine Cole does. Her ex-fiancé used to give her a dozen red roses all the time. Until, she found out he was the Valentine Killer. She has been on the run since and under protection of the US Marshal. Well, now that he has struck again, she wants to stop running and stop him from killing. With the help of Detective Dane Black, she may just succeed.

    Die For Me is without a doubt one of Ms. Eden’s best work. It was fast paced with never ending suspense and mystery. Ms. Eden kept me at the edge of my seat with the plot’s twists and turns. I love that there were a good amount of characters in this book. Not one time I was confused of whom the character is to the hero/heroine and anyone of them could very well be the suspect(s). Dane and Katherine had strong tension between them and steamy when they were together. I thought their relationship was sweet and not one bit did either of them play the pity card…I loved that they were both strong leads.

    The only thing that I was not fond of was few discoveries that Dane made. I’m sure it was to throw off the readers…but at the cost of making Dane look incompetent by making quick assumptions. That was my job. LOL.

    Overall, another job well done and another book I highly recommend for the Romantic Suspense genre.

    *ARC provided by author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    DIE FOR ME: A NOVEL OF THE VALENTINE KILLER by Cynthia Eden is a

    DIE FOR ME: A NOVEL OF THE VALENTINE KILLER by Cynthia Eden is an exciting Dark Romantic Suspense set in New Orleans. What a thrill ride of emotions. Follow,Katherine Cole,whose ex-fiancee was a serial killer(the Valentine Killer), and Detective Dane Black on a fast paced,danger filled journey to healing,and love. Fast paced from the first page to the last with many twists and turns. Filled with passion,romance,love,suspense,a whirl wind of emotions,and danger.Oh,did I mention a Serial Killer on a mission. Ms. Eden knows how to draw a reader into her stories with her engaging characters,her realistic and emotional plots. "Die For Me" is a not to miss romantic suspense that will have you turning pages. You won't know who is want until the very end. Oh, did I mention Valentine's Day? Let me tell you,you don't want to miss this awesome read. Ms. Eden has done it again. Her romantic suspense is by far her favorite to me. Loved,absolutely loved this title! Received from the author.

    RATING: 5

    HEAT RATING: MILD

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1