Customer Reviews for

Die in Plain Sight (Rarities Unlimited Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2003

    Another Homerun for EL

    Lacey Quinn has painted all her life ¿ she grew up following in the footsteps of her talented grandfather who served as her mentor and inspiration. Upon his death, she inherits all the beautiful landscapes he had done along with paintings depicting gruesome scenes of murder. As striking and masterful works, David¿s paintings also create quite a stir when Lacey submits three of them to be appraised by renowned artist, Susa Donovan, while at a charity benefit auction. <br> <br> Ian Lapstrake is taken by Lacey at their first meeting at her shop, Lost Treasures Found ¿ a combination antique store and second hand shop. When he sees Lacey at the benefit, he is even more intrigued when La Susa is certain they have been painted by another artist, causing Lacey to question whether her grandfather was really a forger. And why do these paintings cause the wealthy and influential Forrester family to sit up and take notice of a heretofore-unknown artist? Do they hold the key to three mysterious deaths from over 40 years ago? <br> <br> Suddenly, Lacey and Ian find themselves barely escaping from the mysterious fire at her shop and soon after they are also investigating the theft of not only Susa¿s paintings she¿d done for the auction but also the theft of Lacey¿s grandfather¿s paintings. The attraction between Ian and Lacey is strong, hot and instantaneous. The romance starts early in the book and doesn¿t let up until the very last page. Ian is definitely alpha but he isn¿t domineering ¿ although he knows that Lacey is in danger, he and Lacey work together to find out the who¿s, what¿s and why¿s of these puzzling events.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Wow....

    You should read it and learn something you may or may not hear of it before about the paintings and history!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2010

    Probably best Rarities title

    Some of the other Rarities titles are too "fey" for me (way too much emphasis on the psychic or druidic, and not enough on the contemporary). This title is one of my favorite Lowell books. I've read lots of reviews of it that point out it's pretty predictable (name me a Lowell book that isn't for the main plot points?) Others have objected to the information about plein air painting. I found the way she weaves the painting process into the story interesting and convincing. It made me care about the characters and got me tangled into the plot. I live (a long time ago) in the area she describes - if you've never been to Southern California, she captures it so well I can almost smell the sea again. Recommended for those who enjoy R-rated romantic thrillers. Not only a Rarities title, it also crosses over into the Donovan series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2007

    Why Change?

    I'm a big Lowell fan and she's done it again. sure it's very similar to the other books of hers, but that just makes it all the more interesting the see the lovey dovey side of someone who might of been portrayed differantly in the other books from the series. Besides Ian has the best lines ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2004

    great!

    this book was great! it fits right in with the rest of the donovan family books. the romance was fun and entertaining, although the family saga in the book was a little confusing and could have used some clarification. otherwise a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2004

    Began great, died to quickly

    This book was awesome, the only problem with it was the ending died off to quickly. I wanted a little more 'after the fact' story that just wasn't there. BUT the book was definetly worth reading, I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2004

    Elizabeth Does it Again

    She knows how to write a story that just keeps you turning the pages..then you wish it would not end!! Lacey and Ian were just wonderful and keep things going! And to hear about Rareties, was a gift!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2004

    good romance gone to drivel

    I am getting disappointed with E.L. work. The basic plot was good, but she's giving up character development for fast moves--her work is going from what used to be a little racy to just plain crass; from edgy to sleazy. (If my boyfriend talked to me like that, I'd knee him.) I loved the Amber Beach series, but her stories are just getting tired.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2004

    Another good read from Elizabeth Lowell

    Fans wanted Ian Lapstrakes story... and here it is. Wonderful book, great suspence and as always a touching love story. You will even see a few Donovans from her earlier books pop up for a cameo. Can't wait for the next book from Elizabeth Lowell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2003

    a bit disappointing

    don't get me wrong, it wasn't a bad book, it just wasn't quite up there with some of lowell's other work. I found some points of the mystery part of the book to be so obvious from a readers standpoint that it was annoying when the characters didn't automatically grasp what was happening. other things just seemed too coincidental and illogical. the romance part was okay but the rest seemed to drag.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2003

    Good beginning, but I found the ending disappointing and predictable

    The beginning was ok, but then the author just ran out of good ideas. The characters were two dimensional, the plot weak and improbable. Lowell needs to stop using the cookie-cutter format that allows her readers to correctly guess the ending after reading less than one third of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    suspense-laden tale

    In California, renowned artist Susa Donavon will paint a canvas in front of an audience. Her work will be auctioned as part of raising money for the Friends of Moreno County. Additionally Susa will appraise any works brought in by patrons of the arts with the money raised also donated to the Friends of Moreno County. <P>Art buyer and artist Lacey Quinn brings in paintings done by her late grandfather in the 1920s for Susa to evaluate. Susa feels that the works owned by Lacey are from highly regarded plein air artist Lewis Marten. Though she doubts it, Lacey, already interested in the life of her relative, cannot resist researching the darker portrayals of murder, but soon finds evidence that the homicides occurred and that history repeats itself. <P>Insight into the California art scene adds a taste of reality to a suspense-laden tale. The heroine is a delight as she seeks her place feeling like the outsider in her family especially when compared to her two siblings. The murder mystery is thirty plus years old with frozen tundra trails yet Lacey relatively easily solves them, which takes credibility away from a well written fun story that readers will still value. <P>Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1