Customer Reviews for

Dies the Fire (Emberverse Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 240 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(105)

4 Star

(83)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Camelot here we come.

The book came heavily recommended to me, and rightly so. It's a great read, and a fast read. It's not often that I find books set in the area that I live. The Pactific Northwest, but most notably Oregon. It was great reading about the town's I've lived in and worked in....
The book came heavily recommended to me, and rightly so. It's a great read, and a fast read. It's not often that I find books set in the area that I live. The Pactific Northwest, but most notably Oregon. It was great reading about the town's I've lived in and worked in. My only complaint about the book is the Juniper MacKenzie Clan and the Wicca religion. Just didn't do much for me. However, Mike Havel and the Bearkillers are great and hope to read more about their adventures.

posted by Jetski on January 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Mr. Preachy

I have to agree with the reviewers that have given this series a negative review. In my opinion too many of Mr. Stirling's books turn into preachy, tedious and very partisan readings of history. He often blatantly inserts his own viewpoints concerning the value and/or...
I have to agree with the reviewers that have given this series a negative review. In my opinion too many of Mr. Stirling's books turn into preachy, tedious and very partisan readings of history. He often blatantly inserts his own viewpoints concerning the value and/or relative lack of value of various civilizations using the voices of his characters to make his point. For example in the parallel story of the Nantucket survivors who get thrown into the past; he uses two Black characters to disparage the view that Egypt was an African culture and not some alien group of Euro-Asiatics plopped down on the African continent. While it is obvious that history is a hobby of Mr. Stirling's he is not a historian nor is he an archaeologist, anthropologist and/or ethnologist. And I found the concept that within the continental United States that a religion such as Wicca would draw in the number of converts in such a short period of time and that its then too numerous to count adherents would so easily morph into "so mote it be" clansmen. Again as another reviewer noted...if I wanted to study the Wiccan religion I would pick up a book on it. His overall portrayal of those who ascribe to more or less Christian if not other monotheistic belief systems is laced with scorn and derision. Lastly, both he and Harry Turtledove have an abysmal history (my opinion) of writing believable non-White characters; specifically Black characters. Both present their various Black, Latino, Asian and/or Native American characters as so much fluff and window dressing. They are either perfect long suffering Sidney Poitier/Tonto stereotypes; or they are vicious sadistic Fu Manchu reprisals of evil inscrutable foreigners.

posted by Ankhenaton on November 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic apocalyptical thriller

    A multi-colored electrical storm that contains a beam of light is over Cape Cod. Soon a white light blinds everyone and the pain in their heads is intense. Nothing electrical works when their vision returns in the United States and probably worldwide. As time passes people call the event the Change even though they don¿t know who or what was responsible for the new Dark Age. Survivors moved to the outlying countryside to learn to grow crops so they can eat. Folksinger Juniper Mackenzie heads for her country hideaway joined by coven members and the people that can contribute to the well being of the group. These are hard times so she is forced to turn away people for the good of the group.----- Surviving a plane crash Mike Havel and the Larson family make their way from Idaho to Oregon where they can settle on land the Larsons¿ own. It is not an easy journey because they have to fight gangs and cannibals but they thrive by gathering up members to become part of their future community. Both Juniper and Mike¿s groups are threatened by an organized army headed by the Lord Protector who sees them as serfs and slaves. To keep their freedom, they must fight him and win.----- Fans of apocalyptical thrillers like Stephen King¿s THE STAND will find DIES THE FIRE absolutely riveting. The tale centers on two natural leaders who provide hope in this strange new world. As Mike and his followers travel the country side, readers see how different groups cope with the Change. The predators come out of the woodwork hoping to become the rulers of their very own fiefdoms. This is a fantastic epic work that will probably lead to a sequel because there are many questions that need answering.----- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    Well written and entertaining

    This book has an interesting foundation, with technology gone, how will we survive? The side story of social groups and community structures is very advanced. I recommend both the story and the writer. I will look for more stories by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    Thought provoking and a great story!

    The characters are well defined. You felt like you knew them. The plot was very original and thought provoking. A good topic of conversation. I am reading the second in the series and am just as impressed. Anyone who likes Science Fiction will love this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best books I have ever read!!! Highly Recommended

    I read this book a couple months ago and I still remember it vividly in my mind. I have got to say the apocalyptic plot has always interested me and this book has made me want to read more on it. The scenario the author throws the characters into is original and inventive. It shows a world gone berserk and how the human race takes different actions to make up for it. I have read most of the series and working on the last two. If you are looking for a heart pounding, leave you at the edge of your seat novel, Dies The Fire is the book to do that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    THIS BOOK IS HUGE

    I first read ¿The Sunrise Lands¿, the fourth book in this series. It provided a good summary of what had happened in the first three books. Nevertheless I am glad I decided to go back and read what I missed. This book provides the flavor of the old west, the medieval era, and Celtic or Wicca culture through the eyes of contemporary characters with contemporary ideas. It is full of adventure, action, battles and romance. The loss of all electronic devices, explosives, and gun powder is all the more believable because the root cause is not explained in detail. Stirling is able to bring a multitude of characters to life that have distinctive outlooks, humor, cynicism, courage, villainy and megalomania. The rapidity of the decline of civilization as we know it given this survivalist state of affairs is realistic. If you have trouble believing this read ¿Blood River¿ by Tim Butcher, or consider how drastically we are affected by high gas prices, or research the current fear over the possibility of pandemics, or consider the impact of the Black Plague especially in the 14th century when 40% of the world¿s population died a horrible death within five years. Stirling shows great insight into the human character in the way people in crises cling to leaders and try to establish a system of order. Life is brutal, but the human spirit prevails. However, I wonder if we would cope as well as Stirling¿s characters during a global nightmare.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What happens when your power goes out and then you find out flashlights don't work either?

    The headline is only the catalyst of how everyone in the world, set in 1998 at the time, sets forth into an apocalyptic state of proportions I've never seen in the literary world. <BR/>Believe it or not, a few other things stop working as well; this is no Children of Men or I Am Legend, though. Reading this isn't facing the end of the human race and there's no monsters, moral personalities aside. <BR/>"Dies the Fire" marks the beginning of a new age within our world and from our own history (primarily, but that comes a little later and is in enough of a factual sense to be of credit). <BR/>Fans of apocalyptic (dramatic)thrillers and alternate history will enjoy this first of a trilogy, although I suspect the target audience was somewhat larger...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2006

    Draws you into the big 'What if'

    This book really got my mind turning. Clearly the whole 'alien space bats' theroy of how the change came about is silly, but the thougth behind the 'what if' here is prevoking. The story pulls the reader into a world of the worst case senerio and makes you wonder if you could survive the change as well! I stayed up several nights reading this one, and have read it again since I finished it the first time. If you like the 'end of the world' kind of science fiction, this book is for you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2006

    Riveting and Thought-Provoking

    Wow! A friend lent me the book who himself had purchased it merely because it sounded interesting on the back and the story takes place here in the Willamette Valley where we live. I had never before thought of what might happen in a situation like this... and the story is very entertaining!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2006

    INCREDIBLE!!

    Outstanding! I first found this book while looking for other what-ifs by Stirling. Even though this technically wasn't one I thought, 'What the heck, try it'.By the time I reached the end of the first chapter, I was hooked. Great characters, well-developed plot, and eeriely possible scenarios. A must have!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2005

    Like 'The Stand'?? Well this is better

    Fantastic book to make you go 'hmmmm.' Very engrossing and well done. 2 thumbs way up. This is the opposite side of the story line that Stirling also wrote called the 'Island in the Sea of Time.' Which puts Nantucket to about 1250 B.C. The other three books are about that. Well what happens on our side is a whole lot worse than the Nantucket side, and extremely interesting either way. Wonderfully engrossing and interesting read. New one due soon, 'The Protector's War'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2004

    Wonderful read

    Outstanding story concept which puts the reader into the minds of the key players. Can't wait for the sequeal.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Great Series!

    If you love the TV show "Revolution", this is better! After an unknown energy surge, all electricity AND combustible materials no longer work. What ensues is believable chaos as the worls as we know it ends. This is the first book in a fabulous series by one of my favorite authos, S. M. Stirling. His great writing, awesome charater development, and unbelievable plot development make this a must-read! I could not put the book down and am hooked on another series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    What is old is new after the fall

    This is a great vision of what the first year might be like after a worldwide disaster breaks down society as we know it. Who will survive? What will their new values be? Stirling takes you through despondency and back to hope. Just as relevant today as a decade ago, although the breakdown in communications would probably hurt worse now than it did then. Those prepared to do things the "old way" are obviously better off when the tap of our modern comforts gets turned off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Excellent

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Great read!

    If u like
    Fantasy u will like this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    A Must Read for Alternate History, Post-Apocalyptic, and Survival Fans

    When I first joined the SCA (Society for Creative Anachronism) I was told this book was required reading if I wanted to truly appreciate what reenactment could offer. I still hadn't committed to anything regarding this group but I figured if enough people were recommending it I could give it a try.

    This became my all time favorite book.

    Treading the line between Survival Fiction and Science Fiction, Dies the Fire presents a beautifully imagined world of heroes and villains set among the decaying ruins of Oregon following the loss of gunpowder and electricity. Through the community building of two individuals -- an ex-army bush pilot with the balls to stand up for the people depending on him and the charisma of a Wiccan folk musician dedicated to preserving the dignity of humanity -- and the empire forged by one history professor obsessed with William the Conqueror Dies the Fire displays the faults of humanity as well as its greatest triumphs.

    If you enjoy great detail and an obvious attention to research that suggests years of effort you will heartily enjoy Dies the Fire. If you enjoy compelling action scenes and a realistic depiction of humanity thrust 600 years into the past technologically then you will enjoy Dies the Fire.

    If you enjoy reading about sparkling mythical creatures, characters with less depth than a shallow puddle, and annoying plot holes that aren't explained then you won't like Dies the Fire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    A very good start to a very good series!

    Having two interleaved plot lines kept things interesting!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    One of the best books I have read

    This book is a great book to read. I would highly reccomend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    We have the entire series

    Book one 'Dies the fire' sets the tone, then you must keep on reading as you find out what happens to the characters you fall in love with. Not a book for the casual reader, complicated and violent at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6