Customer Reviews for

DietMinder: Personal Food & Fitness Journal

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Journal Your Way To Fitness

    The spiral bound "Dietminder" is a good tool of choice if you're looking for a handy and convenient way of keeping track of your food intake. While there is a space provided to write down your daily physical activity, it is minimal. <BR/><BR/>Okay. The "binder" starts off with tips for using the journal- and includes a general overview of what's contained on each page (remember, this is a journal filled with pages that are all the same). Essentially, this section shows you how to use the journal. Some dietary web resources you can refer to follow. <BR/><BR/>Next comes a section on setting your goals, complete with pages for before and after photos of the new you. After this, the pages are all the same. On the left side page are places for you to record your breakfast, lunch, and dinner, with columns for calories, as well as fat, carb, protein, and fiber grams. The right side page contains a place for snacks, vitamins, daily grand totals, as well as vitamins, supplements, and medications. A small space for physical activity is placed at the bottom, along with an even tinier spot for miscellaneous notes. All-in-all, there's plenty of room on the pages to write down the things you bought the journal for, and the spiral binding makes it easy to write on because you can flip the pages over for a thicker writing surface! <BR/><BR/>The book ends with a kind of "wrap up" section that contains favorite food facts (i.e. like the number of calories or fat in common foods), a place to graph records, weekly progress charts to write down info such as your weight and other measurements, and some reference calendars. The last page is a plastic page to store things (no,not your snacks). <BR/><BR/>As you can see, the Dietminder is a compact little tool filled with all the right spaces to keep track of all the right things. This journal, plus a healthy dose of get up and go, should help anyone reach their fitness goals. Readers who have trouble sticking to a diet or exercise program long enought to see results may also be interested in The Sixty-Second Motivator. Good luck!

    26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Journal Your Way To Fitness

    The spiral bound "Dietminder" is a good tool of choice if you're looking for a handy and convenient way of keeping track of your food intake. While there is a space provided to write down your daily physical activity, it is minimal.

    Okay. The "binder" starts off with tips for using the journal- and includes a general overview of what's contained on each page (remember, this is a journal filled with pages that are all the same). Essentially, this section shows you how to use the journal. Some dietary web resources you can refer to follow.

    Next comes a section on setting your goals, complete with pages for before and after photos of the new you. After this, the pages are all the same. On the left side page are places for you to record your breakfast, lunch, and dinner, with columns for calories, as well as fat, carb, protein, and fiber grams. The right side page contains a place for snacks, vitamins, daily grand totals, as well as vitamins, supplements, and medications. A small space for physical activity is placed at the bottom, along with an even tinier spot for miscellaneous notes. All-in-all, there's plenty of room on the pages to write down the things you bought the journal for, and the spiral binding makes it easy to write on because you can flip the pages over for a thicker writing surface!

    The book ends with a kind of "wrap up" section that contains favorite food facts (i.e. like the number of calories or fat in common foods), a place to graph records, weekly progress charts to write down info such as your weight and other measurements, and some reference calendars. The last page is a plastic page to store things (no,not your snacks).

    As you can see, the Dietminder is a compact little tool filled with all the right spaces to keep track of all the right things. This journal, plus a healthy dose of get up and go, should help anyone reach their fitness goals. Readers who have trouble sticking to a diet or exercise program long enought to see results may also be interested in "The Sixty-Second Motivator". Good luck!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The DietMinder is recommended for anyone who wants to stay organized while shedding off the pounds!

    I have had many other diet journals and they just didn't have enough places to write down my excercises, calorie count. You should be eating five to six times a day, little meals, to keep your metabolism going. These other diet journals didn't have enough meal boxes to write them down, I had to end up writing on the side of the page! DietMinder is awesome! The front cover isn't as "exciting" as other diet journals, but it deffinitely brings the results within the pages. There are six boxes for meals and all set up by how many caloris you ate, grams of carbs and fat and etc. It's all on the page for you! There is a spot for what vitamens you took that day. There is a huge box for what exercises you did that day, what level you worked out on and how many calories you burned from it.
    By the end of the day you can figure out how many calories you ate plus how many grams of carbs, fats etc. Also how many servings of fruits and vegetables you had. Oh, also there is a check box on the top of the page to check if you drank eight, eight oz. glasses of water each day. In the front of the book there's six pages to write down your goals, what you will exercise to, how many carbs and calories you want to eat to shed off the fat. In the back of the DietMinder is a list of everday foods and all the nutritional facts right next to it! This diet journal has everything you need! Since using it I have been able to eat 1200 calories a day by keeping organized data in the DietMinder and I have lost 17 pounds!
    If you are someone who's looking to shed a few pounds while staying organized and tracking your workouts everyday, I DEFFINITELY recommend DietMinder!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    The best diet tracker!

    I have a Diet Minder that i have completely filled up. I ordered the Ultimate Diet Log just to try something new and I instantly hated it because it was very limiting - no space to track food weight/amount, and "focus" areas for only 2 macro-nutrients. The Diet Minder allows for very thorough tracking of food amounts, cals, fats, proteins, carbs and fiber in addition to water consumption, detailed supplement usage and exercise. I will be giving my other journal to someone else to use (i had written in it before looking it over) and have already ordered a new Diet Minder. I won't use anything else from now on!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    Excellent Tool for Anyone on a Weight Loss Program

    This is a great journal for keeping track of your food intake and physical activity. It allows you to track standard items (calories, fat grams, protein, fiber, etc.), and has room for optional items. The instructions in the front and list of web sites are very useful, as well as the calorie count section in the back. It is flexible enough to work with any weight loss program.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    Good food diary

    Has pretty good space to keep track of what you eat, broken down in Breakfast/snack/lunch/snack/dinner/snack and that worked well for me. Maybe should have little more room for how you are feeling each particular day, but i am still able to fit everything.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    very useful for my food plan that i received from my RN

    @ diabetes class, It helped chart my loss of 35 lbs from 217 to 182 in four months, and a waist from 41 to 36. I love this book and chart. i have already promoted it to my diabetic support group, last month.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Diet minder journal is a must if you want to lose weight

    I love this journal. I had been looking for food journals that would be easy enough to follow and had some information included in it. This does. Every where I read about weight lose they tell you the most effective way to lose weight is to write down what you eat everyday. They are right. I have been using my diet minder for about a month and a half now and it really helps. It helps to see what you eat and know what your taking in as far as calories and fat. I would really reccomend this journal for anyone trying to lose weight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    FINALLY

    I love this journal. I have tried countless times to log my food using online programs, my own blank notebooks, and my own spreadsheets. This is the only thing that I have actually stuck too. It's awesome for the detail oriented! It has given me that extra push that I needed to see what I am eating. It's great!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    I only used it for a few days. Didn't fit my needs at all. I'm u

    I only used it for a few days. Didn't fit my needs at all. I'm using another one now so we'll see. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    The best I've found

    Used Corinne Netzers Calories counter for many years but didn't have much room to add exercise. Liked the Diet Minder place for before and after pictures, measurements and goals. This one gives lots of options for tracking...just select the ones that you want to use. Liked particularly the physical activity format with the intensity rating and the bar that reflected how much of your goals were met for the day. Ample room to do as detailed or as general food counts and exercise levels as you would wish. Even a space for notes . I used mine to identify good and bad things over the day so I could plan out my next day with those hints in mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    Wonderful journal to keep yourself accountable. I had such great

    Wonderful journal to keep yourself accountable. I had such great success, I am ordering another one. Great size and easy to use with spiral binding. Daily pages offer great organization for recording meal and snack intake with multiple columns that help track whatever you are interested in such as calories, carbs, fat, fiber, and sugar; with a special place at the bottom of the page to mark whether you stayed within daily goal. I also love the graphic chart in the back that I converted to weekly intervals which made for a great results presentation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    Only food journal you'll ever need!

    This thing is great! Three pages to set personal goals (only 1 is needed initially) where you track your nutritional goals; activity targets; and your statistics including measurements, weight, etc. Two pages per day are given for tracking your food intake (6 meals total). You are also given space to track supplements, activity, and notes. They even thought to put a separate space on the day for checking off how many 8 oz. glasses of water you consumed.

    At the back of the journal Favorite Food Facts, Graph Records, Weekly Progress Charts, and a Reference Calendar is included. I LOVE the Favorite Food Facts section. Many healthy food items are listed here alphabetically (a few popular junk food items), and extra space is given under each letter to add foods to the list making it a good quick reference for filling out your daily allotments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Motivating way to stay focused!!

    This is a great way to track your calories and stay accountable to your weight loss goals. I would highly recommend it. The list of calories for foods in the back is VERY limited so I wouldn't use it to figure out the calories of foods however there is space for you to put in the foods that you love to eat and the calorie counts. This also tracks fat, carbs, ect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    A useful tool for dieting

    This diet log has plenty of space to record all manner of nutrition/health categories including exercise, medication, weight as well as calorie content. There is plenty of space for daily notes also. The spiral binding and size make it more useful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    Useful tool

    After comparing many different journals I chose this one for it's ease of use. It allows planty of space for tracking meals as well as activity, water consumption and medications. There isn't a lot of useless fluff. I am happy with the purchase and would recommend it to others who are looking for a simple way to keep track of their diet and exercise plans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Diet Minder Journal

    This journal was okay, but really wasn't what I was looking for to suit my needs.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    A definate aid in becoming healthy

    I was impressed with this book. It is easy to use, well organized, and a real plus to losing weight. Reminds me of my WW days - and writing down every morsel that enters your mouth is awakening!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    DietMinder Personal Food & Fitness Journal

    I wanted a journal to track diet, water, supplements and excercise to help me with my commitment to a healthy lifestyle. I love this journal because it has a place for all meals, snacks, targets, exercise, goals and a favorite food list as well. I also like the fact that there is a blank field next to calories, etc. for those that want to track cholesterol or points. The favorites section is great because I can add many of the foods I eat often and I copy my favorites from book to book. There is a sleeve in the back so you can tuck past favorites lists into the back. I am on my third journal and plan to continue to using this journal because I am meeting goals everyday. Journaling has become a part of my healthy lifestyle with the benefits of staying at a normal weight and an accomplished fitness level. I am very proud of myself because I am ready for anything life serves up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    Dietminder

    This is the best journal for healthy eating and attention to it that I have found. I like the area you can check for number of glasses of water each day. You can make it as detailed as you want with calories or selections. It is good that they have an area for snacks three times a day. This can go along with advice to eat small meals several times a day. Very adaptable to whatever food health habits you are trying to establish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4