Customer Reviews for

Difficult Conversations: How to Discuss What Matters Most

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Incredibly useful book

I picked up this book on CD because the title intrigued me, and I had been noticing lately that I have any number of 'difficult' conversations in my life, one's that i just don't want to have. I consider myself a decent communicator, willing to confront any number of d...
I picked up this book on CD because the title intrigued me, and I had been noticing lately that I have any number of 'difficult' conversations in my life, one's that i just don't want to have. I consider myself a decent communicator, willing to confront any number of difficult subjects. I also have a couple of people in my life where I now, always have good conversations, no matter what the subject. I have been frustrated that my competence in some conversations did not seem to bleed through to other contexts. Most of the material I have read about communications seems to either be incredibly esoteric or so over simplifying that it is not useful. I found this book both incredibly useful and in a useable structure that addresses the very real complexities of something that I believe challenges most of us. I found myself able to retrieve and use the information easily. I am here buying a copy for each of my 5 siblings.

posted by Anonymous on November 29, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I didn't find this book very practical...

I found 'Crucial Conversations: Tools for Talking when Stakes Are High' by Kerry Patterson, Joseph Grenny, Al Switzler, Ron McMillan far more useful and practical. I have actually applied it's principals in my daily life.

posted by Anonymous on September 13, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2008

    Timeless piece of Art

    indeed an effective overview of how we communicate with the people we care about. This work will remain a timeless classic as it is guided by universal principles of human dialog. Very well written, and easy to relate to the stories and examples, as we encounter situations with difficult conversations more often than we realize.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2002

    Incredibly useful book

    I picked up this book on CD because the title intrigued me, and I had been noticing lately that I have any number of 'difficult' conversations in my life, one's that i just don't want to have. I consider myself a decent communicator, willing to confront any number of difficult subjects. I also have a couple of people in my life where I now, always have good conversations, no matter what the subject. I have been frustrated that my competence in some conversations did not seem to bleed through to other contexts. Most of the material I have read about communications seems to either be incredibly esoteric or so over simplifying that it is not useful. I found this book both incredibly useful and in a useable structure that addresses the very real complexities of something that I believe challenges most of us. I found myself able to retrieve and use the information easily. I am here buying a copy for each of my 5 siblings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    A Must Read

    Either the timing was right or this was just a plain great book. I don't usually write reviews nor do I purchase a book from my "management" reading list. But I did this one. It gives you a breakdown of the perspectives people have (including your own) as well as dissecting it into understandable parts and usable techniques. This works for the office or home. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    This book is great for us who have difficulties starting difficu

    This book is great for us who have difficulties starting difficult discussions. Practical and useful. I could only apply a little at a time because there was so much information. I found the book not only useful but setup in a very logical structure. A great tool for people of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book, Useful Information

    This is one of those books that you will want to underline and highlight and refer back to when you need them most. Some books gloss over certain topics, this book will guide you through them. This should be apart of your permanent library.

    For anyone who feels bound by their anger, guilt, hurt or pain, I also recommend "When God Stopped Keeping Score." I thought that the book was just about forgiveness, I soon learned, it was about so much more than that. I was about how you should deal with friends, family and yourself and more importantly, how to keep these relationships strong when things go wrong.

    Having read it, I feel like a better person. Maybe because this book spoke to me and not down to me. I have read a lot of books that was written like I didn't know anything. What the author of "When God Stopped Keeping Score" does is talk to you like a friend. I needed that. You will understand why when you read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Digestive Masterpiece

    The first time I read this book, I only got to page 42 before I realized I couldn't go any further... This book is SO JAM-PACKED with useful information, that I had to put it down come back to it a year later (after digesting the first bits of info). It is SUCH a great book. It points to the real conversations that people are having in their heads as they talk to you, and it teaches you to recognize those things and put them out on the table. Highly recommend, just like most books I'm reviewing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Love This Book!

    Great tips on commuication. I have noticed a positive difference on how my spouse communicates back to me after using the principals that are talked about in the book. I also enjoyed the stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    You will face difficult conversations throughout your life, but now you can learn how to cope with them. This book provides a framework and various strategies for achieving better outcomes from hard exchanges. Douglas Stone, Bruce Patton and Sheila Heen use principles, illustrative stories and charts to teach you how to understand the components of challenging conversations, and how to prepare for them and transform them into something constructive. The language of the book is clear, insightful, concise and always helpful. You can use these principles in business, but the stories also concern relationships in your everyday life. We say everyone from teenagers to mature adults can use the communication skills discussed in this wise book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2006

    Buy this book!

    This was really a good book, well written, authoritative source¿the sort of book you are apt to read more than once. I am on my third read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2005

    Difficult Conversations Simplified

    Well, the folks at the Harvard Law School Project on Negotiation have done it again - come up with useful, easy to understand methodology for dealing with the 'tough ones'. Utilizing the methodolgy they set out in several of their other books, but applying it to emotionally-laden interpersonal contexts, they give tools to see the way out of difficult situations. Practical, readable and effective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2003

    Professional Conflict Management- for the rest of us...

    Here is a book that masterfully addresses concepts that could easily have been buried in much larger texts that would have sat unread. Instead, the authors have used very realistic scenarios in which to prove that by knowing what's REALLY going on in conversations with your spouse, your friend, or your co-worker, you are in a much better situation to positively influence the outcome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2001

    A must read... and apply.

    After reading many books on 'human interaction' I still found this book orginal and helpful. I can't imagine anybody reading it without thinking 'Oh, that's were and why things went wrong in that conversation!'. Even if you never learn to apply the methods, you will keep this alarm in your head that indicates things are going wrong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2001

    Telling my wife I wasn't happy

    I bought the CD audio collection and am so glad I did. I was able to use the insight provided from this book to tell my wife I felt like I was close to having an affair. Regardless of what type of difficult conversation you might have, the topics discussed in this book will help. But get the CD; it costs more but a lot easier to get through. Worth the extra cost. PS She was able to listen and we are working through our difficulties.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1