Customer Reviews for

The Digital Photography Book, Volume 1: The Step-by-Step Secrets for How to Make Your Photos Look like the Pros

Average Rating 4
( 193 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

47 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

A Good Book That Begins Beyond the Basics

Since I¿m offering an opinion (and review) on the book, The Digital Photography Book, I think a brief look at my background may give what follows a bit more veracity. I am an enthusiastic advanced amateur photographer with roughly 40 years of experience that includes a ...
Since I¿m offering an opinion (and review) on the book, The Digital Photography Book, I think a brief look at my background may give what follows a bit more veracity. I am an enthusiastic advanced amateur photographer with roughly 40 years of experience that includes a goodly number of awards and published photos. I shut down my wet darkroom a few years ago and have happily traded film and silver-based images for electrons, pixels and ink jet printing. Enough about me now let¿s look at the latest book by Scott Kelby (of National Association of Photoshop Professionals fame): The Digital Photography Book. This is a different kind of animal in the world of self-help photography books. The author describes the experience of reading the book as having your good friend¿who also happens to be an expert in digital photography¿standing besides you while you¿re taking pictures. The book lives up to Scott¿s description¿complete with the frequent interjection of his quirky sense of humor. (Warning, watch out for the first page of Chapter One.) I don¿t feel this is a book for complete novices¿either in photography or in the use of digital equipment. Scott assumes the readers already know the basics of how their cameras work (what and where the controls are) and have used their cameras long enough to know what else they want to learn to take better photographs. Another reason some basic knowledge of photography is necessary to get the most from this book is that Scott doesn¿t shy away from including the terms in common use by digital photographers today: ISO, white balance, focal length, lens aperture, etc. He also assumes the readers have the desire to move up in the ranks from point-and-shooters to at least competent amateurs. Therefore, Scott includes numerous suggestions about photographic gear he feels can help any photographer take better pictures¿and, although he breaks his suggestions down by price range, much of the gear still comes with a hefty price tag. A look at the chapter titles also confirms that Scott was not writing a teach-everything book for all readers. The 11 chapters include specialized topics, such as, Shooting Flowers like a Pro, Shooting Weddings Like a Pro, Shooting Sports Like a Pro and Taking Advantage of Digital Like a Pro. For me, the final chapter, Photo Recipes to Help You Get ¿The Shot¿, was the best part of the book. This is where Scott puts everything together and takes his readers into the field to practice what they¿ve learned. So, do I like The Digital Photography Book? More importantly, do I recommend it? Yes, to both of these questions but, as I mentioned above, to get the most out of the book, the reader should have at least point-and-shoot digital experience and a basic vocabulary of photographic terms. One final note. The book can be read front to back, or chapters can be sampled at random to learn just the techniques each reader needs. At the offered price, I think The Digital Photography Book definitely has a place in a well-rounded photographer's library.

posted by Anonymous on October 21, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I am bored out of my mind!

I bought this book to get digital SLR photography insight; I am on page 22 and the only tip has been for tack sharp pictures use a tripod. Duh! The rest of the 22 pages, the author's lame attempt at humor. I trusted the publisher on this purchase; Pearson Education usua...
I bought this book to get digital SLR photography insight; I am on page 22 and the only tip has been for tack sharp pictures use a tripod. Duh! The rest of the 22 pages, the author's lame attempt at humor. I trusted the publisher on this purchase; Pearson Education usually has the best in educational works. I gave the book one star because I had to.

posted by kkdavisson on January 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2006

    A Good Book That Begins Beyond the Basics

    Since I¿m offering an opinion (and review) on the book, The Digital Photography Book, I think a brief look at my background may give what follows a bit more veracity. I am an enthusiastic advanced amateur photographer with roughly 40 years of experience that includes a goodly number of awards and published photos. I shut down my wet darkroom a few years ago and have happily traded film and silver-based images for electrons, pixels and ink jet printing. Enough about me now let¿s look at the latest book by Scott Kelby (of National Association of Photoshop Professionals fame): The Digital Photography Book. This is a different kind of animal in the world of self-help photography books. The author describes the experience of reading the book as having your good friend¿who also happens to be an expert in digital photography¿standing besides you while you¿re taking pictures. The book lives up to Scott¿s description¿complete with the frequent interjection of his quirky sense of humor. (Warning, watch out for the first page of Chapter One.) I don¿t feel this is a book for complete novices¿either in photography or in the use of digital equipment. Scott assumes the readers already know the basics of how their cameras work (what and where the controls are) and have used their cameras long enough to know what else they want to learn to take better photographs. Another reason some basic knowledge of photography is necessary to get the most from this book is that Scott doesn¿t shy away from including the terms in common use by digital photographers today: ISO, white balance, focal length, lens aperture, etc. He also assumes the readers have the desire to move up in the ranks from point-and-shooters to at least competent amateurs. Therefore, Scott includes numerous suggestions about photographic gear he feels can help any photographer take better pictures¿and, although he breaks his suggestions down by price range, much of the gear still comes with a hefty price tag. A look at the chapter titles also confirms that Scott was not writing a teach-everything book for all readers. The 11 chapters include specialized topics, such as, Shooting Flowers like a Pro, Shooting Weddings Like a Pro, Shooting Sports Like a Pro and Taking Advantage of Digital Like a Pro. For me, the final chapter, Photo Recipes to Help You Get ¿The Shot¿, was the best part of the book. This is where Scott puts everything together and takes his readers into the field to practice what they¿ve learned. So, do I like The Digital Photography Book? More importantly, do I recommend it? Yes, to both of these questions but, as I mentioned above, to get the most out of the book, the reader should have at least point-and-shoot digital experience and a basic vocabulary of photographic terms. One final note. The book can be read front to back, or chapters can be sampled at random to learn just the techniques each reader needs. At the offered price, I think The Digital Photography Book definitely has a place in a well-rounded photographer's library.

    47 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2007

    Down to earth, layman's terms

    Scott has done an excellent job of giving you the best information without technical jargon most of us don't understand or need. He takes through different scenes and scenarios, how to set up, camera settings, and angle to shoot from. He also recommends gear for different budgets. I have read through the book several times and have taken notes for the field. I highly recommend this book.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Awesome tips!

    This book was full of awesome tips. It is not very technical for the new photographer, but that can be a good thing. Quick read, helpful once you are familiar with your camera, and terms of the business.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Simple title, tells exactly what the book is about

    I especially enjoyed this book. It was clearly written, with humor, and had reams of very practical and useful pointers on how to improve my
    photography. I did not contain a lot of theory, just basic how to get better pictures. This is a very good book for beginners as well as advanced amateurs.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    Great Book

    This book is written in a language that is easy to understand for us unprofessional photography people who are usually written for in what I call "First Grade Words". This book isn't like that at all. It's interesting, it's not too simple but not too technical. I am learning a lot from this book and enjoying my Nikon more than ever. I believe that it is a great book for those people with a good camera that are tired of wasting all of that great technology that you have available with a digital SLR by always putting it on automatic and aim & shoot.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Better than Excellent

    The single best book I have read regarding photography..!! Straight-forward and to the point..Easy to read, easier to understand...The author clearly has succeeded with his objective which is to write the book as if you were out shooting with him and asked "how do you do that"!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun & Easy

    I bought this book for my stepdad for Father's Day and he LOVED it. He is an amateur photographer, and he really appreciated all the tips. He also loves that each tip is one page long--you can read up on a specific technique quickly and easily.
    The writing style is fun and irreverent--very anti-textbook. This is a great book for any amateur photographer out there. It also has tips for breaking into the business professionally.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    Holy Cow!

    This book is fantastic. I am relatively new to photography and this book offers a lot of excellent tips that will make shooting much more interesting and enjoyable. Easy to read and simple to understand.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I couldn't put this book down.

    I purchased Volume 3 at a retail outlet. After reading it I had to get the other two volumes. Very imformative. The Author presents all criteria in easy to understand dialogue.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    Scott Kelby digital photography very useful for beginners

    I just retired and always wanted to take more pictures of landscapes. I never considered myself a photographer. I find this book on the barnes and Nobel web site. this book is extremely informative and give me more insights into photography..(things that I thought I knew)... but found a whole world of knowledge new from this book. This is truely a Bible of photography for me. I recommend this book to anyone who needs a hobby...thank you scott kelby you saved my life.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Digital Photography 1 by Scott Kelby

    I highly recommend any of Scott Kelby's books. I have learned many things just from reading his books. This book is especially great for beginners in digital photography - AND - good reveiw for others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2009

    AWESOME BOOK-BUY IT!

    His tips are short, quick, and to the point. Your photos will improve immediately after reading just a few of his pro tips.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2008

    Great for Novice Photographers

    I got a DSLR about a year and a half ago, and being new to photography i felt overwhelmed with all the information out there on what to do and buy. This book made the basics easy to understand and helped me get started without over complicating things. I liked it so much I bought "book 2" as well. This is really not intended for advanced photographers. So if you are new to the DSLR world, and want a nice "cheat-sheet" type book to get you going and feeling like you know what you are doing, this is a great place to start! You might be annoyed by the authors sense of humor, but get past it, its worth it. He tones it down quite a bit in book 2.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2007

    Scott: Thank You !!!. Just that.

    I`m an amateur but for a long, long time. Shooting since 5 (Kodak 'Fiesta'), it´s 40years of enjoying photography quite a lot. I´ve just jumped into digital, from PENTAX PZ1 TO K10D and eagerly scanned BN for some 'bibles'. Scott´s is positively one, and not only for Digital. While reading, I was able to remember and relate the reasons for my 'good ones' and also for that tons of celuloide of the 'non so good'. The touch of humour, more than welcomed, as well as the very concise approach and scope of subjects included. Wish I had read the fireworks section, before enjoying this New Year´s night in Koln. I`ve purposedly experienced the 'when to shoot' a few weeks ago in Metz (France) enjoying the morning´s warm sunligt and the laser-like rays beautifuly traveling the narrow streets. Regarding hardware: yapp !!!, another success. A new manfrotto and ball-head is part of my now ironman´s micro-trekker, the spirit-level has replaced the hot-shoe´s tiny protection. Some devices where already part of my back-pack, but due to many try-and-fail exposures. Bottom line, I highly recommend this book. If you´re a 'new-kid-on-the-block', this is a great guide thru the safe path. For the experienced amateur, you´ll get a perfect 'check-list'.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Great for pros and amatuers alike!

    Funny detailed and understandable! Really good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    The best

    Geat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Photagraphy

    Cant wait tobread because i luv to tak pics of my self freinds family nature and just random stuff

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    Excellent Source for Creating Better Photos

    I am getting a lot of good information from this book- while we all can't be Ansel Adams, this book will help you be the best photographer you can be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    nice.

    very nice book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Higly Recommend!!!

    Some concepts have been difficult for me to grasp in the past, but Scott Kelby has a way of presenting the material in such a "user friendly" way that made it simple to understand and easy to retain! Loved the book and would absolutly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4