Customer Reviews for

Digitalis

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    cowboy, solider, hero

    Struggling with debilitating flashbacks, Colton Neeley knows he can't go on with his career in MARSOC - the Marine Special Operations Command/Team. When a buddy offers him a chance for a fresh start in a new elite group - Nightshade - including the time to heal that he needs, Colton accepts.

    But the flashbacks don't go away.

    Piper Blum is drawn to the quiet but larger-than-life cowboy, but she has her own secrets. Ones that could cause death and destruction if they are revealed. Even so, Piper finds herself falling for the enigmatic soldier... Until the unthinkable happens and her worst fears come true.

    Ronie's third book (second in this series) is action-packed, fast-paced, and laced with romance throughout. I would rate this up there with Dee Henderson's O'Malley series, which is one of my favorites in inspirational romantic suspense. Damaged hero whose tough exterior hides a heart of gold (especially shown in his interactions with his young daughter), strong heroine trapped in circumstances she can't help... a team of buddies that won't let each other down. There is a lot to love in this book.

    Great dialogue, believable plot that keeps you in the moment every step of the way, surprises that keep it just a little unpredictable, and did I mention the romance?

    Loved it the whole way through - highly recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Uh-mazing read!

    Colton, "Cowboy," Neely is struggling to forget, yet the flashbacks keep happening. He cannot control where and when they happen. So he keeps reliving his days overseas over and over again. Will he ever be free of these daymares?

    Piper Blum, the cute Hastings employee who works at the cosmetic counter, smiles as she sees Cowboy breeze through her store again. Wondering, hoping he might stop to talk to her. Or did he need more towels for his mother again? Is is safe for her to get to know him? Will he find out her secret?

    Colton and Piper are thrown together for an adventure neither expects. As the two get to know each other, their pasts come to the present. Will their friendship fade or bloom? Can they overcome their pasts and help each other live in the present?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    She will totally capture you from the first few pages. This is j

    She will totally capture you from the first few pages. This is just a great series! It is also funny.
    You can see my full review at More Than a Review dot com where I rate the level of sex, violence, language and drug/alcohol use in books. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Diana

    HURRY UP!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Loved it!

    This story got my attention from the very beginning. Never boring. After I finished this book I immediately read the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Highly Recommend!!!

    "Discarded Heroes" series is an excellent read....enjoyed each page!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    Why did I wait so long to read this book? It was sitting on my b

    Why did I wait so long to read this book? It was sitting on my bookshelf for over a year and then I finally grabbed it 3 days ago. I was very busy those last 3 days and that's not the best time to grab a Ronie Kendig book. You have to read Ronie's books in one sitting, but I had to do it in 3. When I wasn't reading I was thinking about how the story would continue. There was not one moment that the story was slow or not interesting.

    I really felt for our sniper Cowboy--Colton Neeley. He has to live with flasbacks to horrible incidents in his life. Sometimes they're so real that he doesn't know if he's living in the present or in the past.
    He's afraid to start a relationship with a woman, because he thinks no woman wants a broken man like him. But he has set his eyes on a beautiful lady named Piper Blum. When circumstances bring them together he finds out that Piper is not the woman who he thought she was. Actually Piper Blum does not even exist! When bad guys are found in her appartment he knows she's hiding more than only her identity.
    Colton is confused and doesn't trust her anymore. Then something tragic happens to his family and he blames Piper for it.

    Piper is protecting her father, but she can't tell anyone, because that will endanger her father's life. She's torn between her love for Colton and her father. But after the tragic happening she must tell the whole story.
    The Nightshade team go to rescue Piper's father, but what seemed like a snap-and-grab mission turned out much more dangerous than they had imagined.
    During the mission Colton and Piper are thrown together. Will they find a way to overcome the obstacles that stand between them?

    After reading Dead Reckoning I knew I had found a new favorite author. With Nightshade and Digitalis Ronie did a fantastic job. Can't wait to read the other books in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Wild & Crazy Ride

    Thanks for the best military-based christian romance I have ever read. Ms. Dee Henderson was right. You sure know how to right 'em. I barely wanted to take time to eat. Gripping and thought provoking. It is one that I will continue to read, loan and buy for others who love the genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Another Masterpiece

    Ronie has created another masterpiece! Her writing is amazing and I am continually surprised at her imagination and creativity. The more I read the more I want.


    Colton is one of my favorite characters of Ronie's. He is strong and faithful. He is there for his friends. He's that 'good old boy' cowboy that everyone can't help but love. But we find out that he carries scars on the inside like the most that serve in the military and/or see the terrible things he has seen and had to do. Piper is a strong woman that needs love and family but has been isolated from the ones she cares about most. When Colton comes into her life she is drawn to him despite the fact she knows it could put her or others in danger. You will love Colton and Pipers story and the intrigue that is intertwined throughout the pages of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    Riveting and suspense filled!

    Digitalis, written by Ronie Kendig, is the second book in the Discarded Heroes series. Each book in the series revolves around a different character who has served time in the military, seen action in various conflicts around the globe, and returned home, worn out, damaged in some way, and unappreciated for the service that they have given for our country and its people. Each of the discarded heroes are recruited to serve as members of a very secret black ops group named Nightshade. In Digitalis, we read about Colton Neeley who is an ex-marine and has left his military career to raise his precocious four-year-old daughter, Mickey. As a result of the events that he has lived through in the military, Colton suffers from terrible flashbacks; flashbacks that are so severe that they sometimes interfere with his ability to function in life's daily routines. A shopping trip brings Colton in contact with Piper, a beautiful young woman with secrets of her own. Without giving away too much of the plot, I will just say that a romance begins to bloom between Colton and Piper until the day that both of their pasts collide with the present and they must either overcome the obstacles or go their separate ways. My review: Did you ever read books by an author whose writing immediately struck home with you and every word resonated and leaped off the pages to form a picture so vivid that the line of demarcation between fiction and reality became so thin that it was nearly nonexistent? This is the case with me and Ronie's books. Ronie Kendig is a writer with a phenomenal talent and ability to capture the reader's attention with the first sentence of her books and never let go until the final page is turned. At the risk of sounding trite, I would add that the characters become real and are not mere cardboard cutouts. The reader can readily sympathize with their plight and feel the anguish along with Colton and Piper as they confront many precarious and hazardous trials. The author also very capably demonstrates that it is only through faith in God, trust in his omnipotent power, and love, both divine and human, that Colton and Piper are able to overcome their pasts and the obstacles that are thrown in their paths. Digitalis is the first book that I have read by Ronie Kendig. However, I am currently reading book one of this series, Nightshade, and I am finding it to be every bit as mesmerizing and riveting as was Digitalis. While it is not essential to read the books in this series in sequential order, I would recommend that you begin with book one simply because it lays the groundwork for the Nightshade organization and gives a better understanding of the group's function in subsequent books. Ronie Kendig has earned her place at the top of my list of "must read" authors and I eagerly anticipate future books by this gifted and exceptional writer. A copy of this book for review purposes was provided to me by Barbour Publishing. I received no compensation for this review nor was I under any obligation to provide a favorable review. All comments are my own true and unsolicited observations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Suspense, Thrills, Action and Romance

    Ronie Kendig, in her new book, "Digitalis" Book Two in the Discarded Heroes series published by Barbour Publishing takes us on another thrilling adventure with the Nightshade team.

    I said in the previous review that my all time favorite TV show is Mission: Impossible. Every week this elite team of spies would go and do the impossible in insanely short periods of time. Well "Mission" is back, sorta, in this new series, Discarded Heroes, because they are an elite team, called "Nightshade". This time it is five men, due to the death of a member of the team in the previous book, all honorable discharged from various military services who are having a tough time readjusting to civilian life. Along comes a sponsor who wants to create a military team to go and rescue villages or situations that the government cannot handle. So this is "Mission" from a military point of view. This team is not sanctioned by the U.S. Government and if they are caught mo one will admit they know of their existence.

    This time up in the spotlight is the Colton Neeley, code name, "Cowboy", an ex-marine suffering from Post-Traumatic-Stress-Disorder. "Cowboy" is a single father with a four year old daughter living on a ranch in Texas with his parents. Whenever the team is called he goes on missions with Nightshade as a sniper. At the mall Colton has fallen with one of the sales persons and after many months and an accident has finally had a chance to do something other than purchase towels from her. Piper Blum is pretty and she has an interest in Colton as much as he is interested in herHe is nervous because the previous relationship resulted in his daughter without marriage and she is nervous as she is hiding many secrets. However secrets have a habit of being exposed especially when Piper is placed in danger and Colton comes to the rescue. Not realizing the full extent of the danger he takes Piper home then goes to his superior to ask on a background check on her so that he may pursue the relationship further.

    During the background check lots of information is discovered that causes the team to go to Israel for a mission. In the meantime there are certain events that are happening there that will put the lives of each team member in great danger, especially Colton's as he is having his PTSD attacks again. Does this sound like a soap opera? Trust me it is not. This is a page-turning, blood-rushing, adrenaline-pumping extremely clever thriller! There are exciting events happening on the home front and there are equally exciting events happening with their missions and everyone's life is in danger through the course of this book. It is how Max learns to deal with everything that gives it a human focus.

    Like the previous book "Digitalis" is more than a thriller it is a story of relationships. The relationships are the most important things that a person ever has in this life and Ms. Kendig makes this very relevant in this book. This book focuses on family. Colton's family, his friends as family and Piper and her family as family. How Colton learns to deal with each level of family is what is driving the book. I am going to go out on a limb here and say that the title of the book, "Digitalis" refers to the drug that is used for the treatment of heart conditions which makes perfect sense to me as Colton has a relationship heart condition that he has to deal

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    *Warning* A Great Book!

    Break out the digitalis because you are going to need it after reading this book! It's everything I love about suspense, Christian fiction and romance all rolled into one. From the first page it's non-stop action, thrills and sweet romance! Usually in suspense there's a gradual rise in tension until it all explodes, not so here. It starts out with war flashbacks of a suicide bombing and ends with a nuclear showdown in Israel! Digitalis is all action and it's so fast-paced your head will spin, and did I mention the sparks? The characters have so much fire and passion for God, country, and family in this book that the pages fairly crackle.

    Just when I thought it couldn't get any better than a guy on a fast bike, a man in a pickup comes along and steals my heart. If you're not half in love with Colton "Cowboy" Neeley by the end of this book, I will be very worried for you. Movie star good looks, a heart of gold and dedication to family all topped off with a Stetson...characters don't get any better. *Sigh* Piper Blum is an interesting heroine to say the least, I'm not sure if she's my favorite of the two we've met so far (a little helpless for someone who was in the military) but I still like her.

    The supporting characters are incredible too. The Nightshade team is a true band of brothers, each different but so alike. With their back and forth teasing banter there's some great comic relief. The Neeley family and Colton's young daughter Mickey really make this story too with their show of love and care for both Colton and Piper. There were so many reason why I enjoyed this story that I can't mention them or this post would be 5 pages long!

    Ronie Kendig has earned the top spot as my favorite suspense author. Not only are her characters dynamic but the messages that she weaves seamlessly into her novels make one realize what and who should be the most important things in our lives. I recommend Digitalis to anyone who enjoys a great story.

    *I received my copy from the author but was not obligated to provide a review.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    AN EXCITING,ACTION PACKED MILITARY SUSPENSE/ROMANCE!DIGITALIS BY RONIE KINDIG

    DIGITALIS by Ronie Kendig is a fantastic,heart thumping Military Romance set in present day Virgina and various places around the world. It is the second book in the"Discarded Heroes" series and can be read as a stand alone.Book One,"Nightshade".It is well written with military details,depth,action packed,fast paced,page turning and full of suspense. It has faith,romance, commitment,betrayal,sacrifice,team members,an elite group of military soldiers,sniper,solidarity,camaraderie,death,secrets,flashbacks,bad memories,suspense,forgiveness,truth,military missions and finding true love.The hero,Colton (Cowboy) is hard cord,a sniper, has flashbacks,has dark secrets,Ex-Marine,has a 4 year old daughter,want a life with some peace,has faith but at times is faith is a little wobbly,but than enters....Piper,who he thinks he can love.The heroine,Piper,is full of secrets,running from killers,trying to protect her father and his secrets,not looking for love, but enter....Colton.Just when Colton believes he can fall in love,finally have peace,enter a war zone at his home.All Piper's secrets,half truths causes devastation to come to Colton's family and home.Can he ever forgive Piper?Colton and his team nearly die in Israel on a mission to rescue Piper's father.Can Piper keep Colton from flashbacks,save him from himself,find forgiveness and put their love back together?This is a wonderful fast paced,action packed story of heroes,trying to save a country from devastation,put the past behind them,keep their faith,and find true love.This is a dramatic story with death,devastation,and finding peace.If you enjoy military romance/suspense that will keep you turning the pages,setting on the edge of your seat,than this is a story for you.You will have your heart in your throat from the first page to the last.I would highly recommend this fantastic story.This book was received for the purpose of review from Net Galley and details can be found at Barbour Publishing and My Book Addiction and More.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Can't put It Down!

    Hold on to your hats - and your seats! "Digitalis," Book Two in author Ronie Kendig's Discarded Heroes series, takes off on the first page and never slows down until the final sentence, which tempts you with the possibility of seeing more of the Discarded Heroes Series.

    "Digitalis" is destined to be a number one best seller. Ms. Kendig has done an exceptional job in weaving all of the various threads together to make this a great story. From the gorgeous countryside of Virginia to Saudi Arabia to Jordan to unnamed points in the Middle East, every location added to the intrigue of the story.

    The suspense will keep you on the edge of your seat the entire time you're reading this book. In fact, this book is very hard to put down. With the crazy schedule I have right now, I still read this book in three days.

    And then.there's the hero, Colton Neely. He is a U. S. Marine. Need I say more? Drop-dead gorgeous, strong, determined, handsome, growing in his faith, great dad to his four-year-old daughter, good looking. By the way, did I mention that Colton is really good looking? But all those good looks cover up a secret that Colton finds hard to reveal to Piper Blum, the heroine.

    Piper is a beautiful woman with a smile that stops Colton in his tracks. She, too, has a secret. A secret of national importance that could destroy the tenuous relationship with Colton and more important could destroy a nation.

    Conflict. Danger. Intrigue. Love. Suspense. It all adds up to make "Digitalis" a best-seller hit!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    Fabulous

    Digitalis is a can put down book that kept me intrigued to end. I especially liked how the female character was able to hold her own among elite military men and still maintain her feminity. I'm looking forward to reading the other books int he series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    Fantastic Military based romance

    This book picks up tempo quickly and launches you into the world of an elite military team. But rather than being only action-driven, there's also a great, star-crossed romance. Cowboy had a strong supporting role in the first book, but comes to life as the kind of hero I adore. He's strong, passionate, and filled with angst. And he's met his match in Piper Blum, a woman with a hidden past. This series reminds me of Dee Henderson's books, but with even stronger suspense. I highly recommend this book for those who love romantic suspense set in a military setting. I couldn't turn the pages fast enough!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    Great Read

    Mystery, secrecy, romance, devotion and struggle are just a few words that describe Digitalis. Author Ronie Kendig wrote a suspenseful to the end novel. I enjoyed Nightshade (first book in the Discarded Heroes series). Digitalis book number two had me on the edge of my seat more than once. I felt my heart racing, looking through the eyes of Colton, a member of a black ops group called Nightshade. Flashbacks were only one of Colton's enemies. He relived his past and struggled for his future with Piper, a girl, which tugged on his heart and drew him into danger. A perilous mission took the team to Israel, to save more than Piper's father. I couldn't put this book down as each page unraveled a mystery that wasn't revealed until the surprising end. I found myself cheering Colton on as he struggled with his belief in God, his life and relationship. Raw emotions described in great detail connected me to the main characters and drew me deeper into the story. I look forward to the next book in this series: Wolfsbane

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2