Customer Reviews for

Dilemma: A Priest's Struggle with Faith and Love

Average Rating 3.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

More Powerful Than the 95 Theses!

I read "Dilemma" in a single day. I can present the following excerpt from "Dilemma" to prove the hypocrisy that exists among the Catholic clergy: A lesbian goes to Confession where Father Cutie is presiding. She is extremely upset and crying. She tells Father Cutie tha...
I read "Dilemma" in a single day. I can present the following excerpt from "Dilemma" to prove the hypocrisy that exists among the Catholic clergy: A lesbian goes to Confession where Father Cutie is presiding. She is extremely upset and crying. She tells Father Cutie that she had gone to Confession to another priest and was scolded that she and her partner risk eternal salvation if their relationship continues. Father Cutie asked who told her such a thing. When she tells him the name of the priest, Father Cutie reveals that the priest is a closeted Gay man who is currently partnered and he is mean to any Gay person who confesses to him. Father Cutie has always welcomed Gay people to the Catholic Church and never believed that they are "intrinsically disordered." Regarding the issue of celibacy, Father Cutie discusses celibacy with the force of a tsunami. He historically tracks down the issue of celibacy dating back to the 12th century when it became compulsory. He states that celibacy is a main ingredient for the current sex abuse scandal in the Catholic Church. Albert Cutie made it an aspiration to take up the cause for Immigration Reform in the United States because his ancestors came from Cuba and he had heard of the executions and suffering under the Castro regime. The Archbishop of Miami immediately issued a proclamation condemning Father Cutie for his "scandal" against the Catholic Church when pictures were revealed in the press with Albert and Ruhama kissing each other on the beach. Father Albert was stripped of his salary, pension, and health benefits. Father Albert was disgusted with this condemnation and stated that priests who molested children were dealt less severely than he. I liked Father Cutie's description of the Catholic Church as being "antiseptic" and wanting to rid itself of germs (priests whom they view to go against their dictates). Father Cutie had plenty of support from his own family for marrying Ruhama and later becoming an ordained Episcopal priest. To be adversarial, there were some enemies who hurt Father Cutie with vicious words. For example, he and his wife attended his niece's first Holy Communion at a Catholic Church in Florida where he grew up. The priest during his homily talked about the evils of this world and explicitly looked at Albert and Ruhama when he scolded those who dropped out of the Catholic Church. Father Cutie revealed in his book that he was really hurt by those words. Father Cutie has written a powerful book that should not fall on deaf ears in the Vatican. "Dilemma" is a book that will ignite sparks in the Catholic Church and rightfully so. "Dilemma" will inspire Catholics who want change in the Catholic Church because the Vatican is certainly not listening.

posted by CasperAZ on January 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Misleading-remember who wrote it.

This book is like a little teen who got caught going against their parents wishes and uses every excuse to justify their case. Do you blame him? In truth, a priest can legitimately leave the priesthood and be secularized back to what the church calls a "lay" person. ...
This book is like a little teen who got caught going against their parents wishes and uses every excuse to justify their case. Do you blame him? In truth, a priest can legitimately leave the priesthood and be secularized back to what the church calls a "lay" person. There is a process. Then he could have been married legitimately in the church and him and his wife would have been welcome members of the church. Actually, he still could go thru the process and come back into the church with his wife and child. That is why I read this as a man who got caught with his pants down and then wanted the cake and eat it too. He is a cry baby and holding the Church up as his sacrificial escape goat. If you read the book understand who is the child writing it and pointing fingers. Then go search the truth yourself. Try reading The Big Fisherman by Lloyd Douglas? (same author as The Robe) now that might instill some prespective.

posted by catwalk on January 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    Misleading-remember who wrote it.

    This book is like a little teen who got caught going against their parents wishes and uses every excuse to justify their case. Do you blame him? In truth, a priest can legitimately leave the priesthood and be secularized back to what the church calls a "lay" person. There is a process. Then he could have been married legitimately in the church and him and his wife would have been welcome members of the church. Actually, he still could go thru the process and come back into the church with his wife and child. That is why I read this as a man who got caught with his pants down and then wanted the cake and eat it too. He is a cry baby and holding the Church up as his sacrificial escape goat. If you read the book understand who is the child writing it and pointing fingers. Then go search the truth yourself. Try reading The Big Fisherman by Lloyd Douglas? (same author as The Robe) now that might instill some prespective.

    19 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    More Powerful Than the 95 Theses!

    I read "Dilemma" in a single day. I can present the following excerpt from "Dilemma" to prove the hypocrisy that exists among the Catholic clergy: A lesbian goes to Confession where Father Cutie is presiding. She is extremely upset and crying. She tells Father Cutie that she had gone to Confession to another priest and was scolded that she and her partner risk eternal salvation if their relationship continues. Father Cutie asked who told her such a thing. When she tells him the name of the priest, Father Cutie reveals that the priest is a closeted Gay man who is currently partnered and he is mean to any Gay person who confesses to him. Father Cutie has always welcomed Gay people to the Catholic Church and never believed that they are "intrinsically disordered." Regarding the issue of celibacy, Father Cutie discusses celibacy with the force of a tsunami. He historically tracks down the issue of celibacy dating back to the 12th century when it became compulsory. He states that celibacy is a main ingredient for the current sex abuse scandal in the Catholic Church. Albert Cutie made it an aspiration to take up the cause for Immigration Reform in the United States because his ancestors came from Cuba and he had heard of the executions and suffering under the Castro regime. The Archbishop of Miami immediately issued a proclamation condemning Father Cutie for his "scandal" against the Catholic Church when pictures were revealed in the press with Albert and Ruhama kissing each other on the beach. Father Albert was stripped of his salary, pension, and health benefits. Father Albert was disgusted with this condemnation and stated that priests who molested children were dealt less severely than he. I liked Father Cutie's description of the Catholic Church as being "antiseptic" and wanting to rid itself of germs (priests whom they view to go against their dictates). Father Cutie had plenty of support from his own family for marrying Ruhama and later becoming an ordained Episcopal priest. To be adversarial, there were some enemies who hurt Father Cutie with vicious words. For example, he and his wife attended his niece's first Holy Communion at a Catholic Church in Florida where he grew up. The priest during his homily talked about the evils of this world and explicitly looked at Albert and Ruhama when he scolded those who dropped out of the Catholic Church. Father Cutie revealed in his book that he was really hurt by those words. Father Cutie has written a powerful book that should not fall on deaf ears in the Vatican. "Dilemma" is a book that will ignite sparks in the Catholic Church and rightfully so. "Dilemma" will inspire Catholics who want change in the Catholic Church because the Vatican is certainly not listening.

    14 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    One more Priest that selects what to believe

    Sad. The book tells the tale of a Priest who discusses the confessions of others under the premise of exposing hypocrisy. Perhaps it is Mr. Cutie that thinks he forgives sins because he apparently feels open to discussion of some he has a point of view about. He implies that he has the best insight on biblical teaching and the Pope is out of date, particularly he feels the gay & lesbian lifestyle should not be spoken about in any but a positive light. I know some Priests who would admit to having gay feelings but they chose to suppress those feelings and live a lifestyle accepted for Priests. The Church does not condemn them to hell just because they may still have but not act on those feelings. Mr. Cutie would have you believe that it does. Cutie might do a bit of self inspection before writing a book for money. I personally am confused. He takes a vow with the Church but then he breaks that vow in silence and goes on dates on a public Florida beach with a woman he eventually marries. Apparently he also believes one simply make vows and disposes of them once your life encounters a change. He did not leave the Church before taking to the beach because he did not care what message let's say he would give to a child of a parish member on that Florida beach and what message that child might take from his actions. That is OK in Cutie's mind because life is first and foremost about "you/him" not service to others. Christ said forsake all and follow him. He didn't add until you meet someone, decide to date for awhile and then decide if you want to be a full time member of the role, in this case of disciple. He might look at the bible where it refers to millstones around the neck of people that mislead a child. Mr. Cutie is not focused on Church teaching, he is talking social justice in this book and how the Church must change. Personally, I too am accepting of the idea that Priests be allowed to marry. But we're I the new wife of Mr. Cutie I might keep an open eye on how he keeps this particular vow. Or perhaps, keep an eye on the beaches. Father Cutie's book will make liberal/progressives happy for it gives more opportunity to attack the Catholic Church than to speak of its many wonderful acts, beliefs and teaching. I wonder if Father Cutie really cares that the book could well cause more damage to souls than good. Father Cutie wrote the book to shift the dilemma away from himself and to move it so as to appear it is the Catholic Church that has the dilemma. Any Priest is able to leave and marry. The book gives much opportunity for liberals and progressives to criticize the Church. I wonder if he cares if in the end it causes more harm to souls than help?

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    Not so much....

    The problem I have is why not just go away quietly and not make a profit on your choice? Trying to justify his decision he loses me. I get it, you were not cut out to be a priest so why belittle the Catholics and the Catholic priests who did not make the same decision.

    10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    Pray for this man rather than buy the book

    It is obvious this man is in need of prayers especially for the salvation of his soul. The book is not worth the time. It is a book written to make a quick buck. It has made me think twice about purchasing future books published by Celbra.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    This is the first book that sheds light on many of the things that we were taught not to question because of our faith.

    This book is a must read for anyone of any faiths, who's struggled with the role of religion in their lives. I would also recommend that you buy "When God Stopped Keeping Score" which tackles the power of God in forgiveness. I saw it recommended in another post and brought it, and loved it, so I am returning the favor. That book changed my life for the best. ;)

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    A MUST READ!!!

    I ENCOURAGE EVERYONE TO READ THIS BOOK PARTICULARLY ALL ROMAN CATHOLICS. AS A FORMER ROMAN CATHOLIC ALL MY LIFE I CAN TELL YOU THAT I AM GLAD THAT I AM NO LONGER PART OF A CHURCH THAT LIVES A DOUBLE STANDARD. A FAKE IMAGE IS NOT GOD INTENTION FOR ANYONE TO LIVE AND ESPECIALLY THOSE WHO ARE SUPPOSE TO TEACH US HIS WORD AND HOW TO LIVE A CRISTIAN LIFE. IN OTHER WORDS PRATICE WHAT YOU PREACH. THE TIME HAS COME TO STOP THE DICTATORSHIP THAT ROME HAS WITH THE CHURCH AND ITS MEMBERS. THEY HAVE GOTTEN USE TO DICTATING IT'S MY WAY OR THE HIGHWAY FOR TOO LONG. IT WAS A GREAT EXPIRIENCE READING FATHER CUTIÉ BOOK "DILEMMA" IT PUT ME THROUGH MANY EMOTIONS. YOU CAN FEEL HIS JOY OF BECOMING A PRIEST. YOU FEEL THE PASSION OF HIS LOVE FOR CHRIST AND HIS HUMANITY WITH HELPING OTHERS. THE PAIN HE FELT AND DISILLUSION THAT HE EXPIRIENCE AS THINGS OCCURRED FOR MANY YEARS. I PRAISE YOU FOR HAVING THE COURAGE TO WRITE THIS BOOK AND LETTING US KNOW THESE THINGS BUT, ALSO CONFIRMING WHAT MOST OF US ALREADY HAVE HEARD OR SEEN ABOUT THE ROMAN CHURCH. FOR SOME REASON THE UNTOUCHABLES. ON A DIFFERENT NOTE I BELIEVE THAT ALL PRIESTS SHOULD HAVE BEEN GIVEN THE RIGHT TO MARRY MANY MOONS AGO. THEY SHOULD HAVE THE RIGHT TO LOVE AND BE LOVED BY THEIR OWN FAMILY. THIS WAS OUR GIVEN RIGHT BY GOD AND NO PERSON OR INSTITUTE SHOULD HAVE THE RIGHT TO TAKE IT AWAY. MAY GOD BLESS YOU ALWAYS FATHER CUTIÉ YOU DEFENTLY HAVE GOD CALLING TO BE A PRIEST. TO GO THROUGH ALL YOU HAVE EXPERIENCE AND STILL HAVE THE LOVE TO CONTINUE BEING A PRIEST CAN ONLY MEAN A TRUE CALLING. YOU HAVE WRITTEN AND EXCELLENT BOOK THAT HAS MADE ME CRY IN MANY OCCASIONS THROUGHOUT THE BOOK. MANY BLESSING TO YOU AND YOUR FAMILY IN YOUR NEW LIFE.

    8 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    Highly Recommend it!

    This is a book that makes you think about the struggles many people have not with faith but with religious institutions. Wonderfully written. I read it in 2 days-could not put it down.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    Absolutely adored this book!!!!

    I loved that father cutie gave his honest opinion while also providing facts about the roman catholic churches that many question but no one would speak about!!! It was definitely an inspirational book that answered a lot of my own questions and even opened my mind about other branches of Christianity.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    I was not thrilled with this book.

    I felt that the book was repetive and lacked depth.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    Don't waste your time

    The author needs to do his soul searching alone with his God. He seems to hav forgotten some of the basic tentents of the faith he espouses.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    Dilemma - The Story of a Whining Priest

    This is the story of a kid who had his candy taken away and now has to tell everyone how unfair that was. For ten years he lead a double life. He is the priest who was called "Father Oprah" because of a highly popular TV show. He had a radio talk show and a column in the newspapers. He had been carrying on an affair with a woman he was in love with for ten years. He led this woman on for ten years!! Finally, he got caught on a beach in Florida by a photographer who saw the two of them and exposed the affair. Why didn't this priest just leave the priesthood when he realized he was in love. Why? Because he had a TV show, a talk radio show and a newspaper column which would never have happened if he wasn't a priest. After he was caught did he suddenly realize that he had taken a vow of celibacy and now the Catholic church is the scapegoat that he can blame everything on? What a baby!!! In one instance after another he defends accused sex offenders by saying that the church abandoned them. Man, get real! These priest abused and traumatized children and he states that the church should have called them or had written them a letter to show support. I can't fathom his thinking. Wouldn't even give this book one star but since it is required, I did it. If you need your blood pressure raised then buy this book!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    Great Look Behind Closed Doors

    This book is a very insightful look at a very corrupt church. The story of Albert Cutie shows that God's love is more powerful than man-made rules and beliefs. This took a lot of courage for Albert to write but I believe it helped him heal from such betrayal of a church he once loved dearly that did not love him. Powerful story of one man's life in the clergy.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    I recommend this book. It seemed very sincere and heartfelt.

    I believe Father Cutie' was being as honest as possible. His writing truly seems to be a soul searching memoir. I can understand that the Roman Catholic church would be upset by many of the revelations here but I see this priest as representing the dilemma faced by innumerable priests over the ages. How sad that the church cannot see fit to bring itself up to modern day standards. They are missing out on having many young people who would happily dedicate their lives if celibacy was not demanded of them. No wonder the elderly priests die lonely and forgotten. The church bureaucracy has totally denied them the love of a life partner and children as well. Thank goodness he has finally moved on and made a real life for himself, the woman he loves and their children.

    They have my admiration.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    Extremely repetitious

    Could have been written in less than 50 pages.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    Hard to Get Through

    This book is very repetetive and not well organized. It could have been written in one-third of the pages.

    Although I am sadly aware that much of what Albert says is true with regard to the Catholic Church (and the brotherhood of priests in particular), this book was obviously written to 1) self-serve, and 2) retaliate against those whom he felt had hurt and betrayed him. What ever happened to turning the other cheek?

    Albert, with regard to the wonderful and innocent man of God you profess to be throughout the book, the book's existence is pretty telling.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    Truthful but Hurtful.

    As a devout Catholic for most of my adult life and having been very involved with my parish .......most of what he writes is sadly true. There is little if any accountability for our Pastors and Parochial Vicars and diosecesan priests in general have become spoiled and most lack humility their "calling" has become a job.

    But what must be remembered is that the Catholic Church is run by people.... people just like you and me....no better no worse. If we are to follow a person or persons in search of God we will be disappointed each and every time no matter what religion. The Catholic Faith is still the richest in it's sacraments and in my opinion closest to what Jesus spoke about while here on earth. And yes there are wonderful priests that I know and are doing wonderful things in the world!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Excellent book from the beginning to the end! A few men can handle the truth and Reverend Albert Cutie is definetely one of them! Congratulations!!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    Excellent Read - Couldn't put it down

    As a practicing Catholic, I was eager to judge Fr. Cutie when I saw his pictures in the tabloids and news with his then girlfriend, now wife. But I believe in a married priesthood, so I decided to read his story. I got so much more than I thought I would with this book. It is a love story, but much, much more. The book just reiterates what and how I feel the Church needs to change. His true heart came through. I disagree with the reviewers that this was a guy just crying because he was caught. I believe his faith in God, his love of the Church and his wife, come through very clearly. Plus, he tells about the secrecy the Church thrives upon. A great read. Don't hesitate to by it - Catholic or non-Catholic alike.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    Awesome, Enlightning Book

    I thoroughly enjoyed this interesting book. Father Albert is a very caring priest and it was a pleasure getting to know him in this book. It was also enlightning to learn that the Catholic church is the way it is. Maybe change will come. I have gone to wonderful Catholic church for 10 years. I would be interested in going to an Episcopal church after reading Father's book. I highly suggest reading it.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4