Customer Reviews for

Dilemma: A Priest's Struggle with Faith and Love

Average Rating 3.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

More Powerful Than the 95 Theses!

I read "Dilemma" in a single day. I can present the following excerpt from "Dilemma" to prove the hypocrisy that exists among the Catholic clergy: A lesbian goes to Confession where Father Cutie is presiding. She is extremely upset and crying. She tells Father Cutie tha...
I read "Dilemma" in a single day. I can present the following excerpt from "Dilemma" to prove the hypocrisy that exists among the Catholic clergy: A lesbian goes to Confession where Father Cutie is presiding. She is extremely upset and crying. She tells Father Cutie that she had gone to Confession to another priest and was scolded that she and her partner risk eternal salvation if their relationship continues. Father Cutie asked who told her such a thing. When she tells him the name of the priest, Father Cutie reveals that the priest is a closeted Gay man who is currently partnered and he is mean to any Gay person who confesses to him. Father Cutie has always welcomed Gay people to the Catholic Church and never believed that they are "intrinsically disordered." Regarding the issue of celibacy, Father Cutie discusses celibacy with the force of a tsunami. He historically tracks down the issue of celibacy dating back to the 12th century when it became compulsory. He states that celibacy is a main ingredient for the current sex abuse scandal in the Catholic Church. Albert Cutie made it an aspiration to take up the cause for Immigration Reform in the United States because his ancestors came from Cuba and he had heard of the executions and suffering under the Castro regime. The Archbishop of Miami immediately issued a proclamation condemning Father Cutie for his "scandal" against the Catholic Church when pictures were revealed in the press with Albert and Ruhama kissing each other on the beach. Father Albert was stripped of his salary, pension, and health benefits. Father Albert was disgusted with this condemnation and stated that priests who molested children were dealt less severely than he. I liked Father Cutie's description of the Catholic Church as being "antiseptic" and wanting to rid itself of germs (priests whom they view to go against their dictates). Father Cutie had plenty of support from his own family for marrying Ruhama and later becoming an ordained Episcopal priest. To be adversarial, there were some enemies who hurt Father Cutie with vicious words. For example, he and his wife attended his niece's first Holy Communion at a Catholic Church in Florida where he grew up. The priest during his homily talked about the evils of this world and explicitly looked at Albert and Ruhama when he scolded those who dropped out of the Catholic Church. Father Cutie revealed in his book that he was really hurt by those words. Father Cutie has written a powerful book that should not fall on deaf ears in the Vatican. "Dilemma" is a book that will ignite sparks in the Catholic Church and rightfully so. "Dilemma" will inspire Catholics who want change in the Catholic Church because the Vatican is certainly not listening.

posted by CasperAZ on January 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Misleading-remember who wrote it.

This book is like a little teen who got caught going against their parents wishes and uses every excuse to justify their case. Do you blame him? In truth, a priest can legitimately leave the priesthood and be secularized back to what the church calls a "lay" person. ...
This book is like a little teen who got caught going against their parents wishes and uses every excuse to justify their case. Do you blame him? In truth, a priest can legitimately leave the priesthood and be secularized back to what the church calls a "lay" person. There is a process. Then he could have been married legitimately in the church and him and his wife would have been welcome members of the church. Actually, he still could go thru the process and come back into the church with his wife and child. That is why I read this as a man who got caught with his pants down and then wanted the cake and eat it too. He is a cry baby and holding the Church up as his sacrificial escape goat. If you read the book understand who is the child writing it and pointing fingers. Then go search the truth yourself. Try reading The Big Fisherman by Lloyd Douglas? (same author as The Robe) now that might instill some prespective.

posted by catwalk on January 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    More Powerful Than the 95 Theses!

    I read "Dilemma" in a single day. I can present the following excerpt from "Dilemma" to prove the hypocrisy that exists among the Catholic clergy: A lesbian goes to Confession where Father Cutie is presiding. She is extremely upset and crying. She tells Father Cutie that she had gone to Confession to another priest and was scolded that she and her partner risk eternal salvation if their relationship continues. Father Cutie asked who told her such a thing. When she tells him the name of the priest, Father Cutie reveals that the priest is a closeted Gay man who is currently partnered and he is mean to any Gay person who confesses to him. Father Cutie has always welcomed Gay people to the Catholic Church and never believed that they are "intrinsically disordered." Regarding the issue of celibacy, Father Cutie discusses celibacy with the force of a tsunami. He historically tracks down the issue of celibacy dating back to the 12th century when it became compulsory. He states that celibacy is a main ingredient for the current sex abuse scandal in the Catholic Church. Albert Cutie made it an aspiration to take up the cause for Immigration Reform in the United States because his ancestors came from Cuba and he had heard of the executions and suffering under the Castro regime. The Archbishop of Miami immediately issued a proclamation condemning Father Cutie for his "scandal" against the Catholic Church when pictures were revealed in the press with Albert and Ruhama kissing each other on the beach. Father Albert was stripped of his salary, pension, and health benefits. Father Albert was disgusted with this condemnation and stated that priests who molested children were dealt less severely than he. I liked Father Cutie's description of the Catholic Church as being "antiseptic" and wanting to rid itself of germs (priests whom they view to go against their dictates). Father Cutie had plenty of support from his own family for marrying Ruhama and later becoming an ordained Episcopal priest. To be adversarial, there were some enemies who hurt Father Cutie with vicious words. For example, he and his wife attended his niece's first Holy Communion at a Catholic Church in Florida where he grew up. The priest during his homily talked about the evils of this world and explicitly looked at Albert and Ruhama when he scolded those who dropped out of the Catholic Church. Father Cutie revealed in his book that he was really hurt by those words. Father Cutie has written a powerful book that should not fall on deaf ears in the Vatican. "Dilemma" is a book that will ignite sparks in the Catholic Church and rightfully so. "Dilemma" will inspire Catholics who want change in the Catholic Church because the Vatican is certainly not listening.

    14 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    This is the first book that sheds light on many of the things that we were taught not to question because of our faith.

    This book is a must read for anyone of any faiths, who's struggled with the role of religion in their lives. I would also recommend that you buy "When God Stopped Keeping Score" which tackles the power of God in forgiveness. I saw it recommended in another post and brought it, and loved it, so I am returning the favor. That book changed my life for the best. ;)

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    A MUST READ!!!

    I ENCOURAGE EVERYONE TO READ THIS BOOK PARTICULARLY ALL ROMAN CATHOLICS. AS A FORMER ROMAN CATHOLIC ALL MY LIFE I CAN TELL YOU THAT I AM GLAD THAT I AM NO LONGER PART OF A CHURCH THAT LIVES A DOUBLE STANDARD. A FAKE IMAGE IS NOT GOD INTENTION FOR ANYONE TO LIVE AND ESPECIALLY THOSE WHO ARE SUPPOSE TO TEACH US HIS WORD AND HOW TO LIVE A CRISTIAN LIFE. IN OTHER WORDS PRATICE WHAT YOU PREACH. THE TIME HAS COME TO STOP THE DICTATORSHIP THAT ROME HAS WITH THE CHURCH AND ITS MEMBERS. THEY HAVE GOTTEN USE TO DICTATING IT'S MY WAY OR THE HIGHWAY FOR TOO LONG. IT WAS A GREAT EXPIRIENCE READING FATHER CUTIÉ BOOK "DILEMMA" IT PUT ME THROUGH MANY EMOTIONS. YOU CAN FEEL HIS JOY OF BECOMING A PRIEST. YOU FEEL THE PASSION OF HIS LOVE FOR CHRIST AND HIS HUMANITY WITH HELPING OTHERS. THE PAIN HE FELT AND DISILLUSION THAT HE EXPIRIENCE AS THINGS OCCURRED FOR MANY YEARS. I PRAISE YOU FOR HAVING THE COURAGE TO WRITE THIS BOOK AND LETTING US KNOW THESE THINGS BUT, ALSO CONFIRMING WHAT MOST OF US ALREADY HAVE HEARD OR SEEN ABOUT THE ROMAN CHURCH. FOR SOME REASON THE UNTOUCHABLES. ON A DIFFERENT NOTE I BELIEVE THAT ALL PRIESTS SHOULD HAVE BEEN GIVEN THE RIGHT TO MARRY MANY MOONS AGO. THEY SHOULD HAVE THE RIGHT TO LOVE AND BE LOVED BY THEIR OWN FAMILY. THIS WAS OUR GIVEN RIGHT BY GOD AND NO PERSON OR INSTITUTE SHOULD HAVE THE RIGHT TO TAKE IT AWAY. MAY GOD BLESS YOU ALWAYS FATHER CUTIÉ YOU DEFENTLY HAVE GOD CALLING TO BE A PRIEST. TO GO THROUGH ALL YOU HAVE EXPERIENCE AND STILL HAVE THE LOVE TO CONTINUE BEING A PRIEST CAN ONLY MEAN A TRUE CALLING. YOU HAVE WRITTEN AND EXCELLENT BOOK THAT HAS MADE ME CRY IN MANY OCCASIONS THROUGHOUT THE BOOK. MANY BLESSING TO YOU AND YOUR FAMILY IN YOUR NEW LIFE.

    8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    Highly Recommend it!

    This is a book that makes you think about the struggles many people have not with faith but with religious institutions. Wonderfully written. I read it in 2 days-could not put it down.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    Absolutely adored this book!!!!

    I loved that father cutie gave his honest opinion while also providing facts about the roman catholic churches that many question but no one would speak about!!! It was definitely an inspirational book that answered a lot of my own questions and even opened my mind about other branches of Christianity.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    Great Look Behind Closed Doors

    This book is a very insightful look at a very corrupt church. The story of Albert Cutie shows that God's love is more powerful than man-made rules and beliefs. This took a lot of courage for Albert to write but I believe it helped him heal from such betrayal of a church he once loved dearly that did not love him. Powerful story of one man's life in the clergy.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Excellent book from the beginning to the end! A few men can handle the truth and Reverend Albert Cutie is definetely one of them! Congratulations!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    Excellent Read - Couldn't put it down

    As a practicing Catholic, I was eager to judge Fr. Cutie when I saw his pictures in the tabloids and news with his then girlfriend, now wife. But I believe in a married priesthood, so I decided to read his story. I got so much more than I thought I would with this book. It is a love story, but much, much more. The book just reiterates what and how I feel the Church needs to change. His true heart came through. I disagree with the reviewers that this was a guy just crying because he was caught. I believe his faith in God, his love of the Church and his wife, come through very clearly. Plus, he tells about the secrecy the Church thrives upon. A great read. Don't hesitate to by it - Catholic or non-Catholic alike.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    Awesome, Enlightning Book

    I thoroughly enjoyed this interesting book. Father Albert is a very caring priest and it was a pleasure getting to know him in this book. It was also enlightning to learn that the Catholic church is the way it is. Maybe change will come. I have gone to wonderful Catholic church for 10 years. I would be interested in going to an Episcopal church after reading Father's book. I highly suggest reading it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    Giving Voice to What We've Always Known

    As I closed the back cover of "Dilemma", I raised my arm and said "Yes!" It was so amazing to read, from an insider, all the problems that I myself had been having with the Catholic church for so long. Rev. Cutie's many dilemmas with the Church were fully realized through the crisis he experienced when his love for a woman was made public. In a church that expects its priests to be emotional enough to care for their flock and to work hard at it, how can they also expect their priests to just turn off that same emotion with regard to their own personal lives? Cutie also points out that priests are routinely moved from one parish to another, and again, they are just supposed to close off their feelings for the members of the old parish as if they were robots. The Catholic policing of communion is raised, where the Church feels it can deny the Eucharist to anyone they deem unworthy (or un-Catholic) despite Christ's example of the Last Supper where it was open to all believers. There are more examples of the type of controlling behavior I can only describe as a kind of Narcissistic Personality Disorder, where the Catholic church's image of themselves is always perfect and ultimately arrogant. Any problems are always the fault of others, never themselves. Many Catholics grow up with the supposed fact of 'One True Faith' so that it becomes a kind of ethnicity, and one that is hard to break free from. Ultimately one must leave behind childish things, grow up, think for yourself and decide what level of honesty you will support. In today's world where the Catholic church has petitions outside worship services wanting their parishioners to deny gays the right to marry as they enter the worship space, Rev. Cutie's humanity comes through loud and clear and continues to reverberate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Pope John Paul II: “We need heralds of the Gospel who are experts in humanity, who know the depths of the human heart, who can share the joys, the hopes, the agonies, the distress of people today, but who are at the same time, contemplatives who have fallen in love with God.” Dilemma is the story of how Father Alberto Cutié came to be such a herald. For twenty years as a Roman Catholic priest he witnessed how clerical politics & the doctrine of celibacy for priests hindered living out the life of service to God’s people he wanted for himself. Finally a personal crisis forced him to act on his changed convictions by renouncing his vow of celibacy so that he could be the married witness of faith that God wants him to be. As one who loves God deeply he felt better able share the joys, hopes, agonies & distress the rest of us feel!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Admired his determination and his faith...in what he believed and the love he was meant to experience

    This was the very first book I purchased on my Nook Color and I can say that this was an excellent personification of where good clean true love can take you. It reveals what goes on behind closed doors of the Roman Catholic church which shouldn't be kept hidden. The prevalences today around the world are results of the actions of a lot of priests within this faith. To know that he found someone that loves him and his faith is remarkable! A definite must read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    Highly recommended- it opened my eyes.

    I attended a Catholic school and saw first hand how the nuns were nothing more then slaves. It's about time a priest stood up to a church that is very sexist,male oriented and very hypocritical. The book is very enlightening to what is actually going on in the church. I love the Mass and all the sacraments but it's time for reform.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! I LOVE THIS BOOK

    I ADMIRE FATHER ALBERT FOR HIS COURAGE AND HONESTY IN WRITNG THIS BOOK! HE WENT THOUGH SO MUCH AND SAE SO MUCH AND STILL ANSWERED HIS CALLING!!THERE IS NO SIN TO FALL IN LOVE THAT IS WHY GOD CREATED ADAM AND EVE! FATHER ALBERT WAS CRITIZED BY ALOT AND DONT UNDERSTAND WHY HE FELL IN LOVE WITH A WOMEN HE DID NOT HARM NO LITTLE BOY LIKE A LOT OF PRIEST DO!! THIS IS A MUST READ BOOK EVERYONE SHOULD OWN ONE!! FATHER ALBERT NO ONE CAN JUDGE YOU ONLY GOD REMEMBER THAT!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    Highly Recommended - you must read it

    This is a great book and I could not put it down. I read it in one hour. As a christened catholic who attended catholic school (including graduate school) I agree with everything that Father Cutie reports in his book. I agree with him completely in that priests should have a choice of celibacy or marriage. The catholic church is in need of reform. There is too much patriarchy, sexism and fundamentalism. I enjoy the sacraments and rituals, but do not agree with the hierarchy and policies of the church. There needs to be change and I am glad that Father Cutie had the courage to write this book and live his life according to the principals of Love and Truth.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2