Customer Reviews for

Dime quien soy (Tell Me Who I Am)

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    La historia es muy interesante aunque parezca algo irreal el per

    La historia es muy interesante aunque parezca algo irreal el personaje principal. Es tambien muy buen libro porque enseña como vivia la gente con temor en esa epoca de Hitler, Stalin, Franco, Mussolini.......que horrores pasaron. Yo acostumbro leer en ingles y lo bueno de este libro es que no tenia que estar buscando las palabras cada rato en el diccionario, muy pocas. Es facil de leer aunque algo largo, pero facil y fascinante!! Lo recomiendo !!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    Queda debiendo

    Desafortunadamente dos temas quedan a deber:

    - El estilo de la narrativa no está al nivel de los grandes escritores, incluso por debajo de la Hermandad de la Sábana Santa.

    - Yo sé que estamos hablando de novel histórica, y por lo tanto habrá elementos de ficción. Sin embargo la clave está en crear personajes creíbles y la protagonista es un personaje irreal.

    En resumen, no me arrepiento de haber leído este libro, pero no está entre mis favoritos.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    No puedes parar de leerlo, estás deseando tener un tiempo, para

    No puedes parar de leerlo, estás deseando tener un tiempo, para poder seguir leyéndolo,  la mujer 007 de España

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Loved it. Couldn't put it down.

    It sures gives you a history lesson about Spain,London,Germany and the
    Iron Curtain & the Jews. Wonderful book. It felt as if you were doing all the traveling with her the way it was described.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Great book !!!! 

    Great book !!!! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Queda debiendo

    Una historia interesante, desde el punto de vista histórico. Abarca desde la guerra civil española hasta la segunda guerra mundial. Desafortunadamente dos temas quedan a deber:

    - El estilo de la narrativa no está al nivel de los grandes escritores, incluso por debajo de la Hermandad de la Sábana Santa.

    - Yo sé que estamos hablando de novel histórica, y por lo tanto habrá elementos de ficción. Sin embargo la clave está en crear personajes creíbles y la protagonista es un personaje irreal.

    En resumen, no me arrepiento de haber leído este libro, pero no está entre mis favoritos.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Rosa

    I love this book, more then 700 pages, but i finish reeting in 2 weecks.
    Thats how much i loved.

    Thanks a millions to the writter!

    Rosa a...bookaholic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    No oude No Me interes? tanto

    Es el primer libro tan grande que le? en espa?ol en mi vida pero me encant?. Es una historia de una mujer que vivia por la guerra civil de espa?a y despues por la guerra mundial II y por la epoca del Cold War en europa. La historia me interesaba mucho porque describi? como era vivir entonces. Qu? aprecio mi propia vida!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Navarro is very easy to read. Once you start she captivates you. It was a fun novel since historical fiction is one of my favorite genres.

    Dime Quien Soy by Julia Navarro Vintage Español, 2011

    Imagine you are Amelia Garayoa Cuní, daughter of Don Luis and Teresa Garayoa in pre-Franco Spain. Your family is losing business because your father has a partner in Germany who is Jewish and his business is confiscated by Hitler. Your family is about to go from aristocrats and wealthy to being poor. Solution, marry into a wealthy family; that's how Amelia's first man enters her life--Santiago Carranza Velarde, son of Manuel and Blanca Carranza. After a proper courtship, they get married a have a son, Javier.

    However, things are not going well in Spain and the Republic is about to fall. Amelia is a modern woman, independent and sophisticated and likes to think. She gets involved with Lola García and Josep Soler--pure blooded communists--and soon Amelia decides that she wants to fight for communism and abandon all her bourgeoisie rights. After meeting Pierre Compte--the second man in her life--a Soviet agent for Moscow in France--she falls in love with him and decides to run and abandon her husband and son.

    Now Amelia is very old and has Alzheimer--nobody, not even her, knows what happened to her after she left Santiago, her husband. At the same time, Guillermo Albí Carranza is hired by his aunt Marta to find about whatever happened to their Great grandmother Amelia Garayoa. By chance he finds Laura and Melita Carranza, Amelia's cousins and best friends, and they decide to help him reconstruct Amelia's story.

    To make Amelia remember, Guillermo will have to reconstruct her story from the beginning, trying to piece one by one an intricate puzzle. Guided by Doña Laura, And Pablo Soler (Son of Lola García and Josep Soler--Guiyermo is forced to travel all over World capitals--Madrid, Rome, Buenos Aires, Moscow, Paris, Mexico City, London, Cairo, Warsaw, and Jerusalem--so that he can start to put together the tragedy of Amelia's life.

    Using the four men who made her who she was: the merchant Santiago Carranza, the revolutionary Pierre Compte, the American journalist Albert James, and the Baron Max Von Schumann, a military doctor in the Nazi army--it becomes clear to Guillermo that Amelia's story is one of the anti heroine trapped by her contradictions who made a terrible mistake (abandon her husband and child) and never ended paying for it. She will suffer torture and stigma, both from the Nazi's and her Communist friends.

    She will live in luxury, she will suffer hunger, she will be a revolutionary,and be tortured for it, she will be a wife, mother, and a mistress, she will be a spy and murderer. She will be the protagonist amongst many unforgettable friends and foes and will live intensely almost a century--from the Spanish Revolution, to the fall of the Berlin wall--and will be a spy in World War II and the Cold War for both the British and the Americans.

    Pure intrigue, adventure, and the history of a terrible century that destroyed her. This is a novel that captivates the reader both for its tension and its drama.

    The book is 1097 pages and I think it could have used a bit of editing. The author spent too much time in Spain after Amelia left, trying to reconcile with her husband and son--who no matter how many times Amelia tried, would never forgive her. I would have cut some of that. Another fact that I thought curious was the author takes pains to follow WWII events and Albert and Amelia are working to get the

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2