Customer Reviews for

Diners, Dives & Dead Ends: A Rose Strickland Mystery

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    A Real Winner!

    Terri Austin's creative play on Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives is a clue to her ability to write a fast, exhilarating, and kick-ass first novel! Rose Strickland was cast out of her family home when she asked to transfer from her exclusive college to another and cut off from any support, financial and emotional, at 19. Now 24, she struggles to pay the rent on her tiny apartment by waitressing at Ma's Diner while attending the local community college at night. Her close and only friend from her previous life asks her to keep his backpack for a couple of days and then disappears. Rose seems to be the only person concerned that easy going Ax is missing. Neither his brother or the police are concerned, at least on the surface. As she searches for Ax, she uncovers the hidden world of gambling and corruption in her town. Refusing to back off or back down, Rose meets new and old friends and makes dangerous frenemies. While the fast pace of the plot is a strong feature, the characters, especially Rose, are well drawn and believable. Rose and Ax are definitely likeable, and Rose's mother is definitely chilling. If you like mysteries and thrillers, you won't be disappointed in Diners, Dives, and Dead-ends.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    I loved this mystery! The fast-paced story keeps you turning the

    I loved this mystery! The fast-paced story keeps you turning the pages. Rose Strickland is an spunky, instantly likeable heroine, and her gang of quirky friends definitely make this book stand out from the pack. Terri L. Austin has a winning debut. I can't wait to read Rose's next adventure.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    I loved this book the very first time I read it, and consider it

    I loved this book the very first time I read it, and consider it a favorite. Terri Austin writes with confidence, blending humor and suspense with a practiced hand rarely seen in a debut. She serves us the gutsy Rose Strickland and her blue-haired sidekick, Roxie -- toss in her snobby family and a sexy bad guy, and the results are delicious. An excellent read if you're looking to dive into a new humorous mystery series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is the first book in the Rose Strickland Series by Terri L.

    This is the first book in the Rose Strickland Series by Terri L. Austin. This is another of the Henery Press Mysteries. So far everything I have read from them, I have enjoyed. If you are a cozy mystery fan, you really need to check out all their authors, I am sure there will be someone for you to enjoy.

    This book introduces us to Rose Strickland, full time waitress and part time student. Rose has a stubborn streak a mile wide. When her parents told her that if she didn't stay at the college of their choosing she would be cut off, she went ahead and is working on forging her own path. That may mean that she lives in a small apartment and some weeks she has to choose gas over food, but Rose is doing it her way. 

    Rose's parent's are disappointed in and highly critical of Rose's life choices and even her sister, Jacqueline prefers to go along with their parents wishes and not make waves.  Rose has formed a group of friends and co-workers that are know and like her for herself. There is Axton - fellow high society disappointment, Roxy - her best friend and coworker, Ma - owner of the diner where she works and Janelle - fellow student. This circle of friends is Rose's support network and surrogate family. When Axton drops off his 'never-goes-anywhere-without-him' backpack to Rose with instructions to keep it safe and then disappears, Rose fears the worst and fights everyone, including Ax's own brother to believe that Ax is in danger. 

    This was a very enjoyable first in a series book. Rose is a spunky protagonist who will go to the wall for her friends.  We all want a friend like Rose. I really liked that while she tries to get along with her family, she refuses to bow to the pressure to become something she is not. Rose doesn't take the easy path, but fights for what she believes in, even and especially when it is hard. That is a lesson we can all learn from. I was a bit surprised throughout the story and the plot twists and turns kept me on my toes. This was a very enjoyable read and I gave it 4 stars on Goodreads. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Tesla to mike

    How about we share a dorm. This is our dorm.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Mike

    I smile

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Hush

    I Killed The Prom Queen: To The Wolves ~~ Beloved(2014)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Summer

    Lay on the bd

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Mike

    Smies

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Great Read!!

    I love Teri's style and wit! This series of books is a winner for sure...please write more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Outstanding!!

    This book kept me going through the whole book! I had to get the other 2 to complete the series!! It held your interest with every turn. I can hardly wait to read the next one!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Great book! Give it a read.

    I got this cause it sounded like a good book. I was not wrong. I couldn't put it down. I enjoyed it so much I got the next two in the series. A quick read but laugh out loud funny in some places.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    Pretty good story

    The main gist of the story is very good. The language is a little rank, but her sense of humor is in the right place. If Austin could clean up the language, she would have a winner here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2013

    I had a hard time reading this book. The characters were flat an

    I had a hard time reading this book. The characters were flat and uninteresting and the story line was tedious.  I finally gave up and skipped to the end, I should have just stopped.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Fantastic Read

    The characters in this book are so funny. If you like the antics of the Janet Evanovich series Stephanie Plum you will love this series. Read the first one and then had to buy the rest. Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2013

    Based on this first book, Terri Austin┬┐s Rose Strickland Mystery

    Based on this first book, Terri Austin’s Rose Strickland Mystery series will be a wonderfully quirky and fun series. Rose was born into a wealthy family; a doctor and his wife who played in the higher levels of society. When Rose refused to follow her mother’s carefully designed path, she found herself in a new environment. A waitress at Ma’s Diner, Rose was a part-time college student, and living on a very tight budget. When good friend Ax (Axton) disappears after leaving his backpack with Rose, she and blue-haired best friend Roxy set out to find him. The path leads to illegal gambling parlors, unsavory politicians, and a couple of Ax’s computer geek friends.
    This is an entertaining story, well-written, and populated with great characters. I have already purchased the second book in the series, and look forward to the third, due out in mid-November.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2013

    This series is a BLAST!! I LOVE this author and can NOT wait for

    This series is a BLAST!! I LOVE this author and can NOT wait for the next installment in this series. There is humor and adventure and some romance...totally a fun read! Do yourself a favor and start with this first book. Book #3 in this series is coming in November. You will be glad you met Rose and the gang!!! These are people you would want as real life friends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    A GREAT NEW MYSTERY- YOU MUST CHECK IT OUT!

    I loved the zany cast of characters that made me laugh out loud and I can't wait to read the next Rose Strickland Mystery!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    So thoroughly enjoyed!

    OK the cute cover and title had me first. like any new read i always wonder if i can get into this and enjoy. Well i got into it and loved it and then downed book 2 and now i sit and sadly wait for the next book which can't come soon enough. Good humorous, mystery read that was a moment of calgon for me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    loved it

    These are silly, fun to read books and I love them for times that I just want to get away from life and stress! Want more books from her!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2