Customer Reviews for

Dining with Joy

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good end to the series

Good end to the low country series not my favorite in the series but good end still love her books. can't wait to read more by her

posted by bellaelena on January 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

An enjoyable and funny read

Joy and Luke's story was a warm and funny read. They both have contrasting sides to their personalities, an interesting mix of strength, kindness and vulnerability which makes them very real and likable. All of which made me want to root for them while at the same time ...
Joy and Luke's story was a warm and funny read. They both have contrasting sides to their personalities, an interesting mix of strength, kindness and vulnerability which makes them very real and likable. All of which made me want to root for them while at the same time wanting to roll my eyes at some of the rather unnecessary angst they put themselves through. The pacing as well as twists and turns of the story was also a rather enjoyable ride. It had me holding my breath waiting for the moment when Joy would be outed and guessing how she would overcome her difficulties. Couple that with the sexual tension between Joy and Luke, and Dining with Joy makes for highly entertaining and light read. I'd say romance fans looking for a light read would enjoy this one.

posted by kw50197 on December 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good end to the series

    Good end to the low country series not my favorite in the series but good end still love her books. can't wait to read more by her

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Part of a great Christian romance series

    I really enjoy this author and this series of books. Each can stand on their own, but it's great to read them all and see how each character grows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2010

    Dining With JOY

    I loved this book. No, really. Dining With Joy by Rachel Hauck is an amazing novel about a young woman named Joy Ballard who hosts a cooking show. Since I like Food Network, I thought this would be an interesting read. You see, Joy and I have a few things in common. Such as...we both have a Daddy that cooks really good food. And...that we can't really cook all that great (Case in point, I was decorating some sugar cookie people for the holidays and those "little red dresses"? Totally make them look like murder victims. Um, oops.). And for Joy, the drama in her life flairs up...oh, right about the time she gets the big primetime TV spot (that she hasn't been wanting) and she falls in love with the ever-handsome, creative, I-really-need-to-meet-this-guy-in-real-life, Luke Redmond. Oh yeah, and did I mention...the cooking thing (or lack thereof) is a total secret to the rest of the world (aside from her family, producer, and sous chef). So, things are only going to get more interesting when Wanda, Joy's arch enemy that wants that primetime TV spot, finds out the secret and sets her mind on destroying Joy's career. So, is Joy able to find joy in the mess? How does she deal with the imminent disaster? Oh- and Luke. Do they fall in love and live happily ever after?

    Well, you'll have to read the book to find that out.
    I'm not telling. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A fun read for everyone!

    I love to cook and I look cooking show too so a book about cooking show is just too hard to resist. Joy Ballard is a host of her cooking show 'Dining with Joy' but she can't cook. It's a secret that only few know about and when her show is picked up by a major network and given prime time slot, it was just a matter of time before her secret is out especially since her television rival is stopping at nothing to bring her down. When Luke Redmond, a handsome, creative but jobless chef was asked to co-host with Joy on her show, Joy sees him as her way out of the secret that's consuming her. This is my first time reading Rachel Hauck and I quite like this book. However, I think the writing wasn't that captivating but it was quite light and fun. I was annoyed with Joy but sympathise with her at the same time. I was annoyed with Luke too for he fell so quickly in love Joy but at the same time rooting for him as he is a nice guy. I like the message and the originality of the story. So, will I read Rachel Hauck again? Yes, I think she has great potential to produce good books although she needs to develope her writing to be less descriptive at times.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    You'll feel like you are a fly on the wall...learning secrets!

    This has been a delightful read! I enjoyed every minute of it. The entire time I was reading, the author made me feel like I was a fly on the wall learning secrets about the characters. I will tell you not to read this book when you are hungry. The references made my stomach growl with jealous pains. The author was even gracious to put a few recipes in the back of the book that were mentioned in the book. YUM! I can't wait to try the banana bread. Overall, this book was entertaining and it was a blessing to see how the story unfolded. I appreciated the purity that was presented in the book, as well. Blessings to you! You are loved! Note: I was sent complimentary copy for review purposes only. This review has not been monetarily compensated. The review was my honest opinion and views and not influenced by the sponsor in any way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    Lovely read

    The book is about a young lady called Joy.


    When her father passes away, Joy Ballard takes over his cooking show and she renamed it from Dining with Charles to "Dining With Joy."


    But then again, there is just one small, minor problem. Joy can't cook. Oh, uh! Trouble brewing! How can you host a cooking show without knowing how to cook?


    She is able to hide the fact that she doesn't know how to cook until her producer sells her show. When her show is picked up by a major network and given a prime time slot, trouble begins. People began to suspect that she doesn't know how to cook, and Joy's enemies really wants to see her failed!

    And then enter Luke Redmond, a handsome , creative chef who has just lost his own restaurant due to financial failure. He is asked to co-host the show with Joy. Joy and Luke are thrown together on the show and he uncovers her lack of culinary skills.


    After Luke rescues her from certain cooking doom, she thanks him and life gets a little sizzly after that.

    I like this book.

    I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Dining with Joy

    Joy Ballard is an author and host of a syndicated cooking show, Dining with Joy. She is excited with her show is picked up by a major network. Dining with Joy will now be in a prime time slot. However, Joy has one problem, she cannot cook. The producers of the show hire a creative cook, Luke Redmond, to co-host the show. Joy thinks this is the perfect idea. Now she has time to write her books and spend time with her friends. Soon she starts having feelings for Redmond. Joy and her rival Wenda Devine have a cooking competition on live television and Joy's secret comes out. Dining with Joy was a fun delight to read. After reading the book, I wondered how many other cooking show hosts cannot cook. LoL! The characters are believably written. Any romance fan will enjoy reading this book. *I would like to thank Thomas Nelson for sending me a copy to review!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    Dining With Joy

    Dining with Joy is a very cute and easy-read story. It's about a young lady called Joy. When Joy's father, a cooking show host passed away, joy took over her father's show and made it her own. She called it 'Dining with Joy', and her show was a hit.

    However, Joy a a dark, nasty secret. And if the secret is let out, she'd be in big trouble, because in truth, Joy doesn't know how to cook.

    In came Luke, a chef who later become a co-host. He discovered that Joy is absolutely helpless in cooking, and helped her.

    A lot of misadventures happened and romance brewed for both Joy and Luke.

    This is a very easy read. The storyline is easy to follow. One thing I love about this book that there's also recipe at the end of the book for the readers to tried.

    Dining with Joy by Rachel Hauck is definitely a yummy read. I give this book 4 stars out of 5 stars, recommended for people who wants some relaxing and a happily ever after read.

    I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers for an advance reading as part of their Booksneeze bloggers program . I was not required to write a positive review and therefore, the book review is 100% my own opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another Romantic Sigh

    I am in complete love with Rachel's Low Country Romance series. These novels are calm yet romantically tense. The characters are real and quirky and the heroes are heart beating hunks on the page. I thoroughly enjoyed Sweet Caroline, and Love Starts with Elle remains one of my favorite contemporary Christian romances to this day and ending with Dining with Joy I'm a content reader. (Oh! and I love the new covers too!!)

    Beaufort, South Carolina is the place to be. Joy Ballard leads an interesting life as a faux cooking host for a show becoming more and more popular. Watching the relationship start from the first jingle of the diner door to on camera and cross country with Chef Luke Davis is beautiful and fun. Wondering how it will end and which way they will go when big decisions need to be made was tense. Side characters of Lyric, Rosie, and Anne-Rae bring life elements to the page. Plenty of space for discussion and conversation starters this is a great book for many people to enjoy.

    I love Rachel's narrative voice in this series and I cannot wait for more romantic journeys from her imagination in the future. Life decisions and following God's will are not always easy, but watching these characters learn to listen is an inspiration for any reader's own life. Reading about Joy Ballard, was truly a joy. ;)

    *Thanks to Jeane Wynn of Wynn Wynn Media for providing an ARC for review.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1