Customer Reviews for

Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Something You Should Know

As soon as I started reading the book the character that stood out the most to me was Pearl, the mother of the three children. Throughout her life she went through many difficulties, including her husband leaving her, being short on money, and having to raise three kids...
As soon as I started reading the book the character that stood out the most to me was Pearl, the mother of the three children. Throughout her life she went through many difficulties, including her husband leaving her, being short on money, and having to raise three kids by herself. Throughout these experiences she stays strong and is never afraid to speak her mind. Another thing that I enjoyed in this particular book was the way it was written. The way it was narrated along with how the chapters were set up was nice to hear about one characters view points to a situation, then the other characters express their own point of views on the same situation. By having the chapters set up this way I feel that it grasps the reader¿s attention by giving more descriptive details. Along with keeping those speculating on what the other characters view point will be. The experience I had with this book was it really grabbed my attention and I never had to force myself to read it, it was actually a book that I enjoyed reading.

posted by Anonymous on August 20, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

If you want to read about drab, dull, stifling lives

Ok. Times were tough - her husband left her with 3 kids. Sometimes the mom was joyful and tender, other times, she went into a fitful rage and was very mean. The kids, typical: sometimes good, sometimes not good, and they did the best they could do in the conditions ...
Ok. Times were tough - her husband left her with 3 kids. Sometimes the mom was joyful and tender, other times, she went into a fitful rage and was very mean. The kids, typical: sometimes good, sometimes not good, and they did the best they could do in the conditions in which they lived and were being raised. Then, they became adults, they made their own lives, and no matter what they did as adults, you somehow relate it to what happened to them as kids. If you want to read about depression, frustration, rigidness, and read it over and over again, then this is the book for you.

posted by Anonymous on April 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2007

    Something You Should Know

    As soon as I started reading the book the character that stood out the most to me was Pearl, the mother of the three children. Throughout her life she went through many difficulties, including her husband leaving her, being short on money, and having to raise three kids by herself. Throughout these experiences she stays strong and is never afraid to speak her mind. Another thing that I enjoyed in this particular book was the way it was written. The way it was narrated along with how the chapters were set up was nice to hear about one characters view points to a situation, then the other characters express their own point of views on the same situation. By having the chapters set up this way I feel that it grasps the reader¿s attention by giving more descriptive details. Along with keeping those speculating on what the other characters view point will be. The experience I had with this book was it really grabbed my attention and I never had to force myself to read it, it was actually a book that I enjoyed reading.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    This is a good, easy read.

    This is a book that is good to read and a quick, fun, fast read too. You will enjoy finding out what happens to the characters in this story! This is the story of Pearl as she looks back on her life. Her husband left her to raise their three children who are all very different. The children are Cody, Jenny and Ezra and is all about their grown lives. Cody is very mean. This book is a bit depressing. You will like the characters. This is an easy book to read, you won't want to put it down.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2012

    Good book but quite depressing. It is hard to imagine the life t

    Good book but quite depressing. It is hard to imagine the life the kids
    must have had. It made me reevaluate my life and try and do better by
    my kids. All in all, a good read but be prepared to examine your life
    and hope to God you raise your kids with love no matter what crap life
    throws you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2008

    If you want to read about drab, dull, stifling lives

    Ok. Times were tough - her husband left her with 3 kids. Sometimes the mom was joyful and tender, other times, she went into a fitful rage and was very mean. The kids, typical: sometimes good, sometimes not good, and they did the best they could do in the conditions in which they lived and were being raised. Then, they became adults, they made their own lives, and no matter what they did as adults, you somehow relate it to what happened to them as kids. If you want to read about depression, frustration, rigidness, and read it over and over again, then this is the book for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    Highly recommended if you like Anne Tyler

    I enjoy Anne Tyler's writings. This one shows a lot of insight (as do all her books) into the personalities of the characters and why they are the way they are. Some of it is sad, but its real life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Excellent

    Insightful portrayal of complex family relationships

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book!

    Anne Tyler brings her characters to life in this story. it's a blend of many emotions. She puts the "fun" in dysfunction. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Homesick Restaurant speciality of the day is Jealousy

    The feelings that exist between two brothers can be a lifetime bond of closeness and companionship. But the "heartsick" feeling of wishing for such a brotherly relationship become the earnest theme of this very engrossing book. My book club, the Gourmet Readers, chose it to read as we thought the title fit with our name. Sitting down to a cozy lunch to discuss this book, we all agreed that it was indigestable. The author has created a family that should have never been; and gave us the reasons why, when, and how miserably it did exist. The jealousy of the older brother never cools; but still the younger brother tries to fit all the odd family members together for a real family meal. Dispite the angst, all of the Gourmet Readers were compelled to read each word as Anne Tyler drew us compelety into their complex lives. Read it, you won't forget it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderfully insightful and engaging

    With its interesting structure, focusing on one member of a family in each chapter, this book uncovers motivation and responses below the surface of events. This way, Anne Tyler thoroughly involves the reader in each life as she creates its interaction with others. A sense of sad inevitability along with compassion occurs in the reader as her lucid language moves easily in this family saga.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2007

    Novel Critique!

    Anne Tyler¿s objective, when writing not only Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant but in all writing, is to make the reader feel ¿that they are living the lives [she¿s] describing¿. Tyler opens us with Pearl Tull, an 81-year-old woman as she lies on her deathbed recalling and questioning family¿s past. As we are pulled into the past we experience this dysfunctional family through the perspectives of different characters, Pearl¿s children and herself. Often the same stories are told however from altering view points this is an interesting, but effective, way of letting the reader come to understand the nature of each character. Tyler shows us both sides of 20the story, lets us experience the physical and verbal abuse through child¿s eyes, lets us feel what is being conveyed and from this writing method an insight into the nature of humans is uncovered. When reading the altering viewpoints we come to understand the characters better than they do themselves. This story has been receiving awards from it first day '1982' and is still being commended for its insight and making the reader feel the ¿lives [she¿s] describing¿. I plan on rereading and seeing others read Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant for years to come.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2002

    Anne Tyler's Best

    I read "Dinner" eleven years ago. It was the first Anne Tyler book I'd read. Since then I have read, and re-read, all of her books. With only one exception ("A Slipping Down Life"), Tyler achieves the miraculous: Making us deeply care about people as mundane and messed up as everyone around us, including ourselves. I recently re-read "Dinner" and was powerfully moved by the complexity in the apparently simple story of family members who have decided to survive and love each other despite their failings. The first time I read the novel I was drawn to Ezra; I saw him as a sort of saint in the midst of the turbulence. This time, however, while still feeling an affection for Ezra, I saw his imperfections, something I chose not to see the first time through. This time I came away with an understanding of Cody, a character I had mislabeled in my mind as a "bad one." I always hesitate to call Tyler's families "dysfunctional," a word too often used to describe her families. Her families are not dysfunctional, they are real. While the characters may be quirky (another word used too often to describe Tyler's characters), the interactions are dead on-target. Reading her work the audience is exposed to truth about the human condition and human families. I often say that, aside from the scriptures, Tyler is the writer who has taught me the most meaningful lessons in life. I don't say that lightly or disrespectfully. And, of all her works, "Dinner" is arguably the most meaningful, the most insightful, and the most valuable of her profound body of work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2014

    Interesting read. I chose this book after reading what the book

    Interesting read.
    I chose this book after reading what the book was about. It seemed very interesting and i wanted to know what would happen.  Also, it shows the perspective of what it would be like to be a mom raising three kids while going blind.  I wanted to see what she would remember the most. I would recommend it to students / people who like sad and dramatic books. At the beginning it was kind of slow and nothing was happening, but as the book went on things were piecing together and it became a lot quicker. It turned out to be a good book. It sort of met my expectations. I do wish they explained more about the dinners and the homesick restaurant. In all it was a very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2014

    I chose this book after reading what the book was about. It seam

    I chose this book after reading what the book was about. It seamed very interesting and i wanted to know what would happen.  Also, it shows the perspective of what it would be like to be a mom raising three kids while going blind.  I wanted to see what she would remember the most. I would recommend it to students / people who like sad and dramatic books. At the beginning it was kind of slow and nothing was happening, but as the book went on things were piecing together and it became a lot quicker. It turned out to be a good book. It sort of met my expectations. I do wish they explained more about the dinners and the homesick restaurant. In all it was a very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    E.H.M.S. Group

    The Edward Harris Middle School group walks in. Donyea and Danielle, twin sisters, walk in. Donte and Damarea walk in. Rondelle, Julian, and Levell walk in. Dameshlo and Marqel walk in. Danielle and Donyea want Shrimp Scampi with Chicken Parmisan, and 2 galsses of red w<_>ine. Donte and Damarea want Shrimp Scampi and cheese burgers, with black cherry b<_>eer. Rondell, Julian, and Levell want Chicken Parmisian with some root beer. Dameshlo and Marqel want Hot dogs with coke.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Lydia (waitress) to middle school group

    "res 8 is your table, please wait a moment while I get your drinks... umm, I don't think that minors can order wine or beer... l'm sorry."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Molly

    Thank you Lydia. I will be sure to check them out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Sam(Samantha)

    Name: Samantha Burke
    Age: 19 1/2
    Job: Cook
    Description: A kindof short girl with dark blonde hair with the tips dyed red. She has on AEO jeggings, an apron, a dark blue AEO tee, and silver Sperries.
    Personality: Giggly, friendly, hard working, a little flirtatious, and other than that meet her.
    Other: Not much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant

    I think most people will relate to the disfunctional family dynamic sadly! I did like the book. Up front you should be prepared for this topic. If not, find something else to read. It is not cheery, but it is not a downer either and it was well written. I would read other work by this author..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    Disappointed in this one

    Anne Tyler is an excellent writer, and I have previously enjoyed her books. While the plots are not always rosy, her characters experience trials and transitions with a sense of resolution and hope for the future. Not so with this book. I've never met such a group of whiney, miserable people who refused to learn from their mistakes. I had hoped for a sense of resolve at the end, but I was left empty and disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    JUST FINISHED RE-READING THIS PULITZER PRISE WINNER - IT STILL HAD ME SHRIEKING WITH LAUGHTER AND WEEPING WITH JOY !!

    I highly recommend it, but you will need a dictionary for Tyler's beauutil prose.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3