Customer Reviews for

Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Something You Should Know

As soon as I started reading the book the character that stood out the most to me was Pearl, the mother of the three children. Throughout her life she went through many difficulties, including her husband leaving her, being short on money, and having to raise three kids...
As soon as I started reading the book the character that stood out the most to me was Pearl, the mother of the three children. Throughout her life she went through many difficulties, including her husband leaving her, being short on money, and having to raise three kids by herself. Throughout these experiences she stays strong and is never afraid to speak her mind. Another thing that I enjoyed in this particular book was the way it was written. The way it was narrated along with how the chapters were set up was nice to hear about one characters view points to a situation, then the other characters express their own point of views on the same situation. By having the chapters set up this way I feel that it grasps the reader¿s attention by giving more descriptive details. Along with keeping those speculating on what the other characters view point will be. The experience I had with this book was it really grabbed my attention and I never had to force myself to read it, it was actually a book that I enjoyed reading.

posted by Anonymous on August 20, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

If you want to read about drab, dull, stifling lives

Ok. Times were tough - her husband left her with 3 kids. Sometimes the mom was joyful and tender, other times, she went into a fitful rage and was very mean. The kids, typical: sometimes good, sometimes not good, and they did the best they could do in the conditions ...
Ok. Times were tough - her husband left her with 3 kids. Sometimes the mom was joyful and tender, other times, she went into a fitful rage and was very mean. The kids, typical: sometimes good, sometimes not good, and they did the best they could do in the conditions in which they lived and were being raised. Then, they became adults, they made their own lives, and no matter what they did as adults, you somehow relate it to what happened to them as kids. If you want to read about depression, frustration, rigidness, and read it over and over again, then this is the book for you.

posted by Anonymous on April 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2007

    Something You Should Know

    As soon as I started reading the book the character that stood out the most to me was Pearl, the mother of the three children. Throughout her life she went through many difficulties, including her husband leaving her, being short on money, and having to raise three kids by herself. Throughout these experiences she stays strong and is never afraid to speak her mind. Another thing that I enjoyed in this particular book was the way it was written. The way it was narrated along with how the chapters were set up was nice to hear about one characters view points to a situation, then the other characters express their own point of views on the same situation. By having the chapters set up this way I feel that it grasps the reader¿s attention by giving more descriptive details. Along with keeping those speculating on what the other characters view point will be. The experience I had with this book was it really grabbed my attention and I never had to force myself to read it, it was actually a book that I enjoyed reading.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    This is a good, easy read.

    This is a book that is good to read and a quick, fun, fast read too. You will enjoy finding out what happens to the characters in this story! This is the story of Pearl as she looks back on her life. Her husband left her to raise their three children who are all very different. The children are Cody, Jenny and Ezra and is all about their grown lives. Cody is very mean. This book is a bit depressing. You will like the characters. This is an easy book to read, you won't want to put it down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2012

    Good book but quite depressing. It is hard to imagine the life t

    Good book but quite depressing. It is hard to imagine the life the kids
    must have had. It made me reevaluate my life and try and do better by
    my kids. All in all, a good read but be prepared to examine your life
    and hope to God you raise your kids with love no matter what crap life
    throws you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2007

    Novel Critique!

    Anne Tyler¿s objective, when writing not only Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant but in all writing, is to make the reader feel ¿that they are living the lives [she¿s] describing¿. Tyler opens us with Pearl Tull, an 81-year-old woman as she lies on her deathbed recalling and questioning family¿s past. As we are pulled into the past we experience this dysfunctional family through the perspectives of different characters, Pearl¿s children and herself. Often the same stories are told however from altering view points this is an interesting, but effective, way of letting the reader come to understand the nature of each character. Tyler shows us both sides of 20the story, lets us experience the physical and verbal abuse through child¿s eyes, lets us feel what is being conveyed and from this writing method an insight into the nature of humans is uncovered. When reading the altering viewpoints we come to understand the characters better than they do themselves. This story has been receiving awards from it first day '1982' and is still being commended for its insight and making the reader feel the ¿lives [she¿s] describing¿. I plan on rereading and seeing others read Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant for years to come.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Lydia (waitress) to middle school group

    "res 8 is your table, please wait a moment while I get your drinks... umm, I don't think that minors can order wine or beer... l'm sorry."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant

    I think most people will relate to the disfunctional family dynamic sadly! I did like the book. Up front you should be prepared for this topic. If not, find something else to read. It is not cheery, but it is not a downer either and it was well written. I would read other work by this author..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Very enjoyable

    Somewhat sad story but told in a way that keeps you interested.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2007

    Familiar Reality

    Anne Tyler¿s novel Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant is comprised of authentic family ups and downs relevant in any time or place. Each fully developed character is dynamic and is not all good or bad no cliché characters here (some remind me of my family members or even surprisingly of myself). For instance it is easy to identify with the struggling single mother who carries the weight of the world on her shoulders. The novel is out of the ordinary because each event is seen repetitively and through different character¿s eyes. The novel questions the elapse of time, parenting, rejection¿s effects, and the true meaning of family. It tells the truth that although one may despise his parents for how he was brought up, ironically that individual reflects the same parenting skills when he has children of his own Tyler¿s underlying humor and natural style make the novel compelling when the plot is drab. Family never goes out of style this book can teach the fundamental lessons of a ¿dysfunctional family¿ for years past and years to come. The novel examines the difference between what is perceived and what happens behind closed doors, which might make you think twice about the lives of those alleged ¿perfect families¿. The novel reveals that no such thing exists and that we should embrace what family we have been given whether good, bad, or indifferent. Tyler discloses that a family can make it without a male figure in the household love and trials are the glue that keeps the family together, not a man, despite social convictions. It was no page-turner, but it left a meaningful impression afterwards on the way I view my own personal family and was a relevant read since it hits so close to home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2005

    An Aquired Taste

    Anne Tyler's, 'Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant,' is a plausible look into the life of a single mother. I had a love hate relationship with this novel, as the characters are extremely well developed, although at times the plot had me bored. Tyler has an extrodinary gift for exposing her characters personas. I was continually surprised, as to how she intertwines the characters lives around one central theme. Although, the plot is hard to get into at the beginning. Her languid style of writing progressively grows on you, as the book goes on.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2003

    Excellent novel

    This novel was very intertaining and fun to read. Although it had a boring plot of a families miserable lives, it surely captures you and makes you think. Read it and you'll surely enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2000

    An Excellent Novel

    This book was very well written and very well organized! Anne Tyler did an excellent job in getting her point across. The only thing is that it has a weak ending- but the rest of the book calls you back for more!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1