Customer Reviews for

Dinner with a Perfect Stranger: An Invitation Worth Considering

Average Rating 4
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Very Satisyfying Spiritual Meal

David Gregory does an excellent job of getting you to sit down across the table from Jesus along with the Nick, the main character. Sure it's a crazy idea, but its implausibility is trumped by its allure. What an opportunity ... dining with Jesus. I didn't mean to read ...
David Gregory does an excellent job of getting you to sit down across the table from Jesus along with the Nick, the main character. Sure it's a crazy idea, but its implausibility is trumped by its allure. What an opportunity ... dining with Jesus. I didn't mean to read it all at once, but I did. And I have picked it many times since, and recommended it to family and friends.

posted by Anonymous on February 3, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Book review

Rediculously expensive read for just 68 pages!!!

posted by natalka68 on April 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2008

    A Very Satisyfying Spiritual Meal

    David Gregory does an excellent job of getting you to sit down across the table from Jesus along with the Nick, the main character. Sure it's a crazy idea, but its implausibility is trumped by its allure. What an opportunity ... dining with Jesus. I didn't mean to read it all at once, but I did. And I have picked it many times since, and recommended it to family and friends.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2007

    a reason to believe...

    This is a 'must read' for anyone interested in deepening their relationship with God, especially skeptics and those who are sure they already know 'the way.' Many surprises and 'ahh' moments that seem so simple, one would think humanity is still trying to invent fire! Share this book with those you love, but especially those missing out on the love of God...I plan on buying this book for birthday presents.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2007

    A Great Conversation

    It's one man's interpretation of how a conversation of Jesus might go, but I think the author may have come pretty close to hitting it. His chracterizations of other religions do not sound very politically correct, but according to what I've read and heard, they are accurate.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2005

    worth reading more than once

    In this time of many uncertainties, this is a truly inspirational book, that brings us back to the basics of faith. I would recommend and have to several friends.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2007

    Thought Invoking

    I found this little book to contain a lot for it's size. It is a very intimate,thought invoking book about what happens during an evening spent in the presence of Jesus

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2006

    Wow! Very thought provoking.

    As a Christian I loved this book....however I think non-christians would be really offended by the book. But, as a Christian I loved it. It gave me new ways to think about different things. I would highly recommend....infact, I have already given it to the kids bus driver.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2006

    R.S.V.P. this Invitation Immediately!!

    This by far is one of the best books I've read, thought provoking and emotionally high-spirited! Information about the various religions around the world was very interesting to learn. I couldn't put it down, I felt as if I was listening in on their dinner conversation from the next table. Very inspiring.....I would love to receive such an invitation and be the honored guest of Jesus of Nazareth. Don' t miss this one, I've already ordered several more of these books to give as gifts to friends and family, my copy is being worn out by co-workers! Jan Makowski, Virginia, Minnesota

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Enjoyed

    Quick, thought-provoking read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Amazing

    Great book! It was a great quick read!! I highly recomend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Book review

    Rediculously expensive read for just 68 pages!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Terrible.

    "An Invitation Worth Considering"

    The tagline for Stranger is about as assertive as I feel in recommending this book. I have never been a fan of fiction that puts words in Christ's mouth, and here is a book that is filled with it. The story is based off Revelation 3:20 and Christ's words: "Here I am! I stand at the door and knock; if anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and dine with him, and he with me."

    Why I have issues with this sort of fiction, I hope, is obvious. When a man seeks to drive a point home with "what if scenarios" and includes a comment like "What if Christ said..." that's one thing. But to base an entire book on a theoretical conversation is to suggest that Christ Himself is a character pliable in the author's hand, and that the author knows exactly what Christ would say and how Christ would respond to one's questions. See Wm. Paul Young's The Shack for the epitome of how far "Christian fiction" has gone in this vein. Apparently we have become discontent with blasphemies living across town and with heresies slipping in through the back door. Now we invite them both into our homes as guests named "fiction."

    What floored me more than the "words of Christ" in Stranger was the response of the main character, Nick, "in retrospect" to meeting Christ on page 10. Honestly? Are we to allow the sheer blasphemy of of cursing Christ's name in our pleasure reading now? The Name that is above every name (Philippians 2:9)? The Name by which all men must be saved (Acts 4:12)? The name on which people call to be saved (Romans 10:13)? The name at which every knee will one day bow (Philippians 2:10)?

    I am all for fiction, leisure time, and pleasure reading. But I am disappointed that I used that time to read these 100 pages. This is one book I definitely will not recommend.

    [I received this book free for review from Waterbrook Press]

    ©2011 E.T.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Loved this Book

    "Dinner with a Perfect Stranger, An Invitation worth considering" by David Gregory is a great little book, with a great story. What would you do if Jesus had invited you to dinner? I really enjoyed how this story is told and the message is conveyed. The story is about a man, Nick, being invited to a dinner, to whom he doesn't know who invited him. At the restaurant he find out that he is having dinner with Jesus, although skeptical at first, he acknowledges whom Jesus is and has dinner. He asks Jesus all kinds of questions from religions, how the earth was made, to the passing of his father. I really enjoyed this book as it is a short read and the author keeps the story flowing to the point that I didn't want to put the book down. Revelation 3:20 20 Listen! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and have dinner with him, and he with Me. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 [...]: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    An invitation to dine with Jesus Christ. A one of a kind experience.

    Nick receives an dinner invitation on his desk. It is inviting him to dine with Jesus of Nazareth. He isn't sure he should go as it probably is a prank being pulled by his buddies.
    Nick is very unsure about this man he meets in the restaurant. Is he a nut or just some one pretending? As theyt eat their dinner Nick's questions are being answered.Will it change his life?
    I enjoyed this book very much.I would love to read other books by this author. I was sent this book by Waterbrook Mulnomah free to read and review.The opinions are all my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Everyone Needs to Read This Book!

    When faced with an invitation to have dinner with Jesus, a doubting and struggling man gives in assuming it to be a big joke. What he finds is nothing short of a miracle, forcing him to face questions, thoughts and challenging ideas that had followed him his whole life.


    What a refreshing and intriguing book! I was hooked immediately and curious, engaged up until the end and left wishing for more. Short yet packed with thought provoking ideas and concepts, this book is an instant favorite for me. Chapters are quick and easy reads, yet enough food for thought to keep ones mind going for hours and days after reading.


    An excellent book to share with an un-believing or on the fence friend or family member, the book presents many of the argued points in regards to Jesus, Christianity and religion in general in a non-confrontational or preachy manner that still gets across the main points while painting Jesus Christ in an accepting, loving and down to earth manner. Easy to understand even for those un-exposed to the Christian faith, the book opens the door for more conversation as well as explains the foundations of the Christian faith and salvation. A book I would highly recommend everyone read, believer or not, as it introduces a new way to look at presenting Christ as well as plenty of opportunity for self searching and growth.


    I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated for writing this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    If Jesus invited you to dinner, what would YOU ask?

    This little book isn't your typical small, quick, superficial read. It's actually more of the opposite! It may be small but the contents are thought provoking and reflective. For me, it's a book that I'm going to have to read more than once to digest it all! Skepticism abounds in the beginning of the book. From thinking the invitation is a joke from his friends to doubting Jesus at the beginning of dinner---"Tell me (Yesh), can you turn this wine back into water?". Who can blame Nick? It's not every day you get invited to dinner by Jesus! But by dessert, Nick is trying to decide if this guy is a nut-case, a great actor, or is it possible he's the real thing? Obviously Nick has a lot of questions and much doubt about this whole thing but he's not afraid to ask the hard questions. As expected, the answers are not always specific or clear cut. They are meant for the reader to ponder and reflect about their own beliefs and values. On the flip side, sometimes the answers touched upon by Jesus are "lessons" that we need to learn. Dinner with a Perfect Stranger is a splendid read for a book club or bible group. There are several different sets of study guides for group discussions (located here)-discussions for one meeting, 4 meetings, or 8 meetings. For a 100=page book, 8 weeks of discussion shows the inspiration of the book. I would give this a 5 out of 5 star rating. The story is very well written, easy to read and understand, as well as a way to discover your own beliefs and views. I'm going to give this to a family member who has quite a bit of "alone time" due to his job. I'm not trying to convert someone with the book but just allowing them explore their own principles and convictions. I'm sure we all could use a little of that. I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah's Blogging for Books and have given my honest opinion of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    Dinner with a Perfect Stranger

    Dinner with a Perfect Stranger is about a man named Nick who receives an anonymous invitation to dinner with Jesus. Nick is skeptical about this dinner invite. He has no relationship with God, his marriage is shaky, and his job no longer gives him satisfaction. Nevertheless, he accepts the invitation and shows up at the restaurant were Jesus of Nazareth awaits him. The conversation that ensues is extremely interesting and, at times, entertaining. The reader takes the place as an observer in this conversation; however, at many places in the conversation it is as though Jesus is speaking to the reader. David Gregory, the author, uses a 100 page book to help explain the fundamentals of Christianity. He also looks at other religions and points out how and where they have fallen short of the truth. In response to the question about why Jesus doesn't make everyone go to heaven, he responds "Love doesn't force relationship... God created people to be able to choose freely. He honors their choices" (79-80). Dinner with a Perfect Stranger is a light/heavy read. Light in the fact that it is only 100 pages. Heavy in the fact that it deals with questions and issues that many people spend months, even years, pondering on. While some questions may be answered, others are left unanswered as if to challenge the reader to seek a closer relationship with God so that the answer may be found. I received this book from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Will you accept the invitation?

    Dinner with a Perfect Stranger By David Gregory Nick Cominsky has received an invitation to dinner with Jesus of Nazareth. Thinking that he is the target of a practical joke Nick shows up. What follows is nothing like what Nick expected. Who is this man claiming to be Jesus? As Jesus asks and answers questions, Nick is forced to admit that much of what the world offers is empty and meaningless. Then Jesus tells him that God restores relationships - God's with humanity. To restore this relationship a person must accept a free gift from God - the gift of forgiveness and eternal life. At the end of this Dinner with a Perfect Stranger, Nick is left with a decision. Will he let Jesus into his life or leave Him on the outside knocking on the door his heart. What would you do? Join Nick for a night contemplation and heart-to-heart self examination. I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    Awesome!

    This book was so good. I recommend it to everyone. You will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    What a marvelous insight

    The entire time I wished it was me. I've always accepted not seeing Jesus until he steps out on a cloud and we all see him face to face. This story gave me a marvelous insight on talking to JC now, today, about living life and storing my treasures in heaven. I didnt expect to read something new. GOD doesn't change, he is the same today as he was yesterday and as he will be tomorrow. I did expect to be encouraged and that I received in abundance. By Wyvongela

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    Good, but not great.

    Interesting idea, but I really didn't gain any new insights.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3