Customer Reviews for

Dinosaurs (Encyclopedia Prehistorica Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    Magnificent! We LOVE this book!

    Our 3 year old son reads this book constantly. We read it to him every night and he spends lots of time looking at the pop up pictures on his own. It is beautifully crafted and sturdy enough to withhold a 3 year old turning the pages. I highly recommend. We plan to get the Shark book next.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2005

    Very creative

    I¿m amazed by the pop-ups in this book. These are truly architectural marvels of paper. If you have a child who is fascinated by dinosaurs, they will love this book. As a work of art it is beautiful.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2008

    A Work of Art About Dinosaurs

    This pop up book is so beautiful, it deserves framing. It has not only been a delight for our 3 year old grandson but also for us. We never get tired of reading this book to him.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    Make this a new Coffee table book trend! LOVE IT

    These two illustrators, Robert Sabuda and Matthew Reinhart are the BEST.
    To give you an idea of the complexity of this book as far as the pop ups, when you open the book you will see a giant reptile that looks like a Tyranosaurus Rex and THREE FLAPS that can be opened to view yet more popups with wonderful text all around describing dinosaur related matter. Wonderful book. It has 6 large sized popups, and like 19 (or so) flaps that open to reveal more pop ups (sometimes multiples per flap). Truly incredible, and enjoyable. I decided to put this one 'out' on my coffee table as my one year old grandson is still not at the age to enjoy this but he will in a few years. Until then, I plan to enjoy it myself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2007

    Kid'll keep learning as long as there are books like this!

    'Dinosaurs' is a fantastic book that all children will cherish for knowledge of their favorite giant reptiles and pre-historic creatures. After a long while, my kid still refers to this book when a question arises.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2006

    Brilliant Book

    My 4 year old loves dinosaurs and can name them all with facts and descriptions that continually amaze me. This book has become his prized possession. Although he has many dinosaur dictionaries and fact books, the intricate pop-ups in Sabuda's book capture his attention in a manner the the 2D books cannot compete with. The pages within pages were a wonderful surprise for all of us. I had never seen that before. Although I would not recommend this book for any hands that are rough with books, a child that can appreciate the precision of the cut-outs can really find joy in this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2005

    Continuing tradition of excellence...

    I have all of Robert Sabuda's pop-up books, and this one is just as fabulous as the others. The text is certainly written for a more mature child (probably 8-12), but my two-year old son begs me to read the 'dinosaur book' to him every night. But be warned--there is a certain T-rex that literally comes out of the book at you! It totally freaked my 4-year old nephew out! It took me reading the book to him about 3-4 times before he became accustomed to that page. It's also notable that this book will teach you, as a parent or caregiver, about paleontology. I love it when my son and I can both learn from a book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2006

    Great Gift

    I purchased this book as a Christmas gift (2005) for my nephew Cameron. He was so impressed by the book that he insists that it remain safely on his book shelf, when not being used, so it does not get damaged. He has enjoyed every aspect of the book & referred to it after seeing the movie King Kong to show me the dinasaurs that were in the movie. He received other toys for Christmas & has yet to actually take them out of the box, but he has enjoyed this book. His older sister Kyla has also enjoyed the book. My nephew likes to read & is creative, therefore this book made an excellent gift for him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2005

    A Book to Display

    This book is going on the shelf for a few years or otherwise it's going to be torn to shreds by my daughter. I can't believe the details and how many pop-ups there are. It's not just the one large pop-up per page, but several smaller ones as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    awesome book ! a must for dino lovers

    My 7 year old dinosaur loving nephew loves this book ! I bought it for him for his birthday present, and he pronounced it 'awesome' and 'the best birthday present ever'. The pop ups are amazing, and there are also tabs on each page to open. My nephew loved making the jaws of one of the dinosaurs open and close. I highly recommend this book for all dinosaur loving kids and adults !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    Spectacular

    Beautifully done. Fold outs are terrific. My grandson loved it! The adults loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1