Customer Reviews for

The Diplomat's Wife

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Read

I am one of those who judges a book by its cover. As I was walking through the book store I notice the cover and I was immediately intrigued. After reading the excerpt I decided to read it and couldn't put it down. The story grabs you from the very beginning. You fe...
I am one of those who judges a book by its cover. As I was walking through the book store I notice the cover and I was immediately intrigued. After reading the excerpt I decided to read it and couldn't put it down. The story grabs you from the very beginning. You feel like you in living during that time until something out of the ordinary brings you back to reality. Some parts are too unreal, but after all...IT IS A NOVEL. Great story line. I really recommend this book. It is a great historical fiction novel.

posted by jackie2366 on June 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great concept, not so great execution.

The plot has so much potential but fails to really grab the reader. The twists are predictable and main character (Marta) weak. It was simply not believable that a woman of her hesitance would work for the resistance, survive a Nazi prison, and a well known assasin.

posted by Anonymous on June 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Read

    I am one of those who judges a book by its cover. As I was walking through the book store I notice the cover and I was immediately intrigued. After reading the excerpt I decided to read it and couldn't put it down. The story grabs you from the very beginning. You feel like you in living during that time until something out of the ordinary brings you back to reality. Some parts are too unreal, but after all...IT IS A NOVEL. Great story line. I really recommend this book. It is a great historical fiction novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    Great concept, not so great execution.

    The plot has so much potential but fails to really grab the reader. The twists are predictable and main character (Marta) weak. It was simply not believable that a woman of her hesitance would work for the resistance, survive a Nazi prison, and a well known assasin.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Bad Writing

    In general, Pam Jenoff is not that great of a writer. This is the second book I've read of hers, and I will not read any more of her writing. The only good thing I can say about this novel is that it is mildly entertaining (but only mildly).

    For one thing, her story is very stale and predictable. She spends no time building up events, but rather jumps from one scene to the next. No build of emotions, mystery, suspense...nothing.

    To make it even worse, her characters are incredibly bland. She describes their personality in the descriptions, but the dialog and their actions do not match the person she's trying to create. The biggest example of this is the main character Marta. She's supposed to be a resistant fighter. Someone who killed a man in the last book. Someone who's brave and strong. Sure, in this book she goes on a dangerous mission to help the British government, but the way she speaks, the way she feels, the way she interacts with others, she's more of a frail and weak wimp than anything else. It's almost as if Pam Jenoff wanted to create a strong female character, but can't get past the stereotypical and unoriginal damsel in distress. Her character is annoying to read about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2012

    Should be a movie

    This book read more like an unrealistic action flick than a great historical novel. Most of it was unbelievable. The lack of character development leaves the reader distant from the characters. I never found myself liking any of the characters. The Kommandant's Girl was better, but it was lacking as well. That all being said, I read through the book quickly and it kept my attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I found this book interesting from beginning to end. Very well written and one that is hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Very Unpredictable Ending

    Really enjoyed reading this after having read the Kommendants Girl. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 3 was because of the unpredictable and well written ending. Don't read this book until you have read The Kommendants Girl first. I gave that book 5 stars because it was excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    Beautiful

    I love to read this story even its companion. Its so exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Good+book.+++You+should+read+the+Kommandant%27s+Girl+first.++Good+story.+Held+my+interest.

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted May 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    This book should be a movie!! It keeps you guessing and hoping the entire time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    I was hooked in 10 min!

    loved the book and couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    love love love

    i Read it and then i read it and guess what i read it again, i was camping with my family i took it and teh next 4 day i read it over and over agian. i love Jenoff shes amzing and im a person that loves to read so i tell YOU read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Unexpected Favorite

    I just grabbed this off the shelf of my school library to have something new to read and was immediately surprised at how good it was. I couldn't stop reading--my teachers got mad because I wasn't paying attention.

    If you like romance and war stories, this one is a must. Although it takes after the war, it shows how it changed everything for everyone. It is a touching, heart-wrenching story that will make you really think about how great it is to be alive.

    I loved it! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2009

    a must read!!!

    I had no idea this was a sequel to another Pam Jenoff book (the Kammandant's Girl). However, the story-line still made incredible sense and was a great read. I would always lose track of time and crave to find out where the story takes me next. The story-line moves along smoothly and takes unexpected twists and turns until the very end. I loved Paul's character, the dialogues between him and Marta certainly tugs on my heart strings. My only pseudo-complaint is that the development of Marta (the main female character) was a bit contradicting. The author seems as if she couldn't decide on whether Marta would be a weak or strong character. For example, Marta is constantly in need to be rescued, yet could fight against a Russian assassin.

    All in all, I loved it, I didn't want the book to end. My heart would skip a beat chapter after chapter! Now I must read the Kammdant's Girl (reading in reverse order..yikes!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely Amazing Book

    First of all, you must read The Kommandant's Girl FIRST (written by the same author) which is also an absolutely amazing book. I ride the train every day to work, which is my time to read -- both The Kommandant's Girl and The Diplomat's Wife almost caused me to miss my train stop because I became so engrossed with both stories! These two books capture you from the very beginning to the very end with its characters, plots, romance, and suspense exceptionally captured, and well written by the author. I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2009

    A Touching Tale

    This story took me over a day to read. I loved everything about the love story and terror Ms. Jenoff tells in her tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    My New Favorite!

    This is one of the few books I buy on a whim and not from my list. However, I read it in 2 days and absolutely loved it! With every page there is a new twist and new challenge for the characters. This is best read after "The Kommandant's Girl".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    Historical Fiction Fan!

    This was a wonderful read. One of those books that leave you thinking about it long after you put it down. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    Another outstanding story

    Wonderful story,one recommendation,read the Kommandant's Girl,before reading this book.It is by the same author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    excellent histroical sequel to THE KOMMANDANT┬┐S GIRL

    During WWII Marta Nederman was an active member of the Polish resistance until she was caught by the Nazis. They sent her to Dachau to be tortured by the Gestapo in case she had useful information on her comrades and ultimately to die. She offered nothing that would threaten her brothers and sisters in arms.-------------- When the ally armies capture the concentration camp, they are stunned by the horrific sights that greet them. Besides the mass of dead bodies and many dying shortly, few show any resemblance of good physical health including Marta. American GI Paul Mattison gives Marta her first water since the Gestapo captured her. Marta eventually goes to an Austrian refugee camp where she meets an ailing camp survivor Rose, who soon passes away. Marta takes Rose¿s visa to go to London on her trek across the continent she meets Paul in Paris where they make love. They vow to rendezvous in London in two weeks, but Paul¿s plane crashes in the Channel. Pregnant Marta meets and marries diplomat Simon Gold. As the Communists are putting down an iron Curtain across Eastern Europe, Marta undertakes a dangerous mission in Poland with roots in her past.-------------- This excellent histroical sequel to THE KOMMANDANT¿S GIRL brings alive 1945 Poland as the Cold War is about to begin. The story line is fast-paced but driven by the cast especially the heroic Marta who realizes that she might have to sacrifice her happiness to expose a traitor. Fans of historical thrillers will appreciate Pam Jenoff¿s terrific thriller as she brings alive the tension of battered Europe carved between the victors even as a war between former allies seems imminent.------------------ Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2