Customer Reviews for

Dire Needs (Eternal Wolf Clan Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I really enjoyed this story. As with most first books in a seri

I really enjoyed this story. As with most first books in a series there is a lot of world building and introductions of characters. And boy are there characters in this book. I am already looking forward to Jinx, Vice, Rogue, Stray & Liam’s books. Oh and d...
I really enjoyed this story. As with most first books in a series there is a lot of world building and introductions of characters. And boy are there characters in this book. I am already looking forward to Jinx, Vice, Rogue, Stray & Liam’s books. Oh and don’t forget the twins.... But I am getting to far ahead of myself, back to the review. Dire Needs is Rifter and Gwen’s story.

Rifter is the reluctant leader of the last remaining Dires (an immortal werewolf). The last thing Rifter ever expected to find was Gwen. Trouble, Yes!! Danger, Yes!! But Gwen, Never. Now he can’t do anything but think about her. When Gwen is put in danger Rifter does what any wolf would do to protect his mate. He fights to the death for her. But how can this human be his mate? He and his brothers are cursed to never find mates. This has to be some cruel joke, but will Rifter fight for what he wants or fight against fate?

Gwen doesn’t have much time left. She is a walking time bomb and one of these days she will die. So Gwen decides it is time to live her life and do the one thing that she has never done before, fight a man. Gwen lives for now, not the past that tries to haunt her, not the future she will never have, but now, because that is all she has left. When Gwen sees Rifter for the very first time, she know he is just what she has been looking for. What Gwen doesn’t know is how the beautiful stranger will completely change her life in a very, very short time.

So back to what I was saying about the characters. The cast of characters in this book are great. Each has such strong personalities. Vice, is cocky (wink, wink) to a fault, Jinx is so caring, Rogue is lost, Stray is quite, Liam is angry, and the twins, well the twins are just naughty.

I loved Rifter. He is strong, stubborn, loyal and willing to protect everyone even if it means to sacrifice himself. Everything a born leader should be. Now that he has found his Queen he is finally ready to step into the role of leader.

I look forward to seeing where Stephanie takes us next in this series. Thank you Stephanie for the opportunity to review your book.

posted by BooksnKisses on April 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Promising

Kind of clunky and a disproportionate amount of time spent on secondary characters, back story, and non essential plot points.
However the premise of the story was interesting and the characters were entertaining.
I won't rush out and get the second in the series, but ...
Kind of clunky and a disproportionate amount of time spent on secondary characters, back story, and non essential plot points.
However the premise of the story was interesting and the characters were entertaining.
I won't rush out and get the second in the series, but I'll keep it on my pile of maybes because the potential for awesomeness is certainly there.

posted by sksweet14 on March 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Promising

    Kind of clunky and a disproportionate amount of time spent on secondary characters, back story, and non essential plot points.
    However the premise of the story was interesting and the characters were entertaining.
    I won't rush out and get the second in the series, but I'll keep it on my pile of maybes because the potential for awesomeness is certainly there.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    I really enjoyed this story. As with most first books in a seri

    I really enjoyed this story. As with most first books in a series there is a lot of world building and introductions of characters. And boy are there characters in this book. I am already looking forward to Jinx, Vice, Rogue, Stray & Liam’s books. Oh and don’t forget the twins.... But I am getting to far ahead of myself, back to the review. Dire Needs is Rifter and Gwen’s story.

    Rifter is the reluctant leader of the last remaining Dires (an immortal werewolf). The last thing Rifter ever expected to find was Gwen. Trouble, Yes!! Danger, Yes!! But Gwen, Never. Now he can’t do anything but think about her. When Gwen is put in danger Rifter does what any wolf would do to protect his mate. He fights to the death for her. But how can this human be his mate? He and his brothers are cursed to never find mates. This has to be some cruel joke, but will Rifter fight for what he wants or fight against fate?

    Gwen doesn’t have much time left. She is a walking time bomb and one of these days she will die. So Gwen decides it is time to live her life and do the one thing that she has never done before, fight a man. Gwen lives for now, not the past that tries to haunt her, not the future she will never have, but now, because that is all she has left. When Gwen sees Rifter for the very first time, she know he is just what she has been looking for. What Gwen doesn’t know is how the beautiful stranger will completely change her life in a very, very short time.

    So back to what I was saying about the characters. The cast of characters in this book are great. Each has such strong personalities. Vice, is cocky (wink, wink) to a fault, Jinx is so caring, Rogue is lost, Stray is quite, Liam is angry, and the twins, well the twins are just naughty.

    I loved Rifter. He is strong, stubborn, loyal and willing to protect everyone even if it means to sacrifice himself. Everything a born leader should be. Now that he has found his Queen he is finally ready to step into the role of leader.

    I look forward to seeing where Stephanie takes us next in this series. Thank you Stephanie for the opportunity to review your book.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    I think the series has potential but I found myself very confuse

    I think the series has potential but I found myself very confused while reading this first book. Besides Gwen and Rifter's story, there was a lot of build up of backstories of other characters who will . I also found it a little confusing that each of the men refer to his wolf as "Brother Wolf" and I was reminded every other paragraph the difference between a Dire wolf and a Were wolf. I won't disregard this series, I'll stick with it and hope it gets better. I just feel there was a lot of information in the first book when this is going to be series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I found this book disappointing. The plot line was reminiscent t

    I found this book disappointing. The plot line was reminiscent to JR Ward's The Black Dagger Brotherhood but not as well written. JR Ward was vampires but the names of characters and other plot lines were very similar. Character building was all over the place. I had to continuously go back and reread to understand who was being described. I will not be continuing with the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Couldn't hold my interest

    Usually I will finish a good book in one or two sittings. Not this one. I have been trying to finish it for days. I actually put it down and read another book instead. I decided to try again since I am already halfway through. But I just can't do it. There are too many characters the author wants the reader to know that the main characters are left behind. I am bored by this book and calling it quits. Arcive here I come.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It was okay. I enjoyed the book but it really had nothing new in

    It was okay. I enjoyed the book but it really had nothing new in the way
    of a plot. Has potential.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    confusing

    I tried reading this and just got confused. There seemed to be background that was missing. Because of this I checked out the authors home page and found that there is a pre qual in e format. While that did help some it still left questions. I am now going tostart this book again and hope it makes more sense. I think the story line will be good if I can get the players inthe story sorted out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    Nice story line and character build-up for the series... I enjoy

    Nice story line and character build-up for the series... I enjoyed the book. I recommend the book as a read. Am waiting on the next book to come out...actually kind of excited to see what happens next and how Rifter and Gwen play out :-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2014

    Good book!

    This was a good story. I really enjoyed reading the story. It looks to be a very interesting series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Lilykit

    Gets taken there

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    ~&starf-DarkStar-&starf~

    "Peace out!!" Leaves

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Jack

    Ill be back in a little bt to let you know

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Elise

    She stepped in. "He left me here. I've been waiting but.." she sighed.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    OMEN TELLERS DEN

    Den

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Too confusing

    Found myself skimming over paragraphs with too many details

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    Promising start to a new series

    these aren't werewolves, they are Direwolves, the alphas of the alphas. Their numbers are few, most of their kind having been destroyed centuries ago as punishment by the Elders of their kind. It is their duty to protect and police not only the werewolf population, but the human population. Dark magic threatens to destroy us all, and now is not really a convenient time for their leader, Rifter, to find his One-the only mate meant for him. She is a dying human, and he should just leave her to live out her few remaining days, but he can't. There's something mysterious about her that screams keep me! And its not accidental, its fated to be if the Dire are meant to survive and protect us from evil.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    What a waste

    This book had the potential for a great story but Tlyer completely drops the ball. Scene jumping that leaves the reader struggling to keep up, so much back stories, rules, legends, other characters history's that you need to take notes to make sense of it all. Tlyer seems to have borrowed some things from BDB and not well. For most of the book I was lost, confused, and angry that someone could screw up so badly. I want my money back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Goodread

    A great paranormal romance. Hot sceens, good action/ plot. Ive already purchased the second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    OK

    One of the least annoying PNR I've read. Like to read these in between heavier books. Looking forward to the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Waitiiiiiing!

    I keep lookin. Im still waitin. Awesome beginning to a series with loads of potential. I hate waiting. All they need to do is find a hidden enclave of ladies and they are set. Only similar to BDB because of the characters raw method of thinking and communication. Nothing wrong with that. It works great! Keep it going Tyler.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3