Customer Reviews for

Dirt on My Shirt

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Foxworthy Fun

If you might be a redneck if you like this book. Then again, you might just be anyone and like this book by Jeff Foxworthy. Poems to make you laugh by one of the best writers our time and human condition. A joy for young and old alike.

posted by Readingmom33 on October 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I thougth this book was cute but what matters most is what children think of it & though I was sure my nephew would love it, he didnt. He loves to read and adding this to his collection was a waste. He just throws it to the side and reads all of the other books. It ju...
I thougth this book was cute but what matters most is what children think of it & though I was sure my nephew would love it, he didnt. He loves to read and adding this to his collection was a waste. He just throws it to the side and reads all of the other books. It just didnt catch him like other books. He seemed to have gotten bored with it really fast. Maybe due to its different little stories and not just one.

posted by Anonymous on June 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 21, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Foxworthy Fun

    If you might be a redneck if you like this book. Then again, you might just be anyone and like this book by Jeff Foxworthy. Poems to make you laugh by one of the best writers our time and human condition. A joy for young and old alike.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Foxworthy's Contemporary Children's Poetry a Worthy Read!

    I always viewed the characters in my own childhood poems a little suspiciously. Why on earth would the town crier run up and down the stairs in his nightgown? A little scandalous if you asked me! And why would anyone want to eat "curds and whey," especially on a tuffet?<BR/><BR/>Finally, none other than Jeff Foxworthy, who has long tickled our collective fancy, has applied his talents and produced cute, clever and contemporary children's verse such as "Uninvited Guests" about squirrels on the bird feeder. The ups and downs of cousin slumber parties, the chagrin over a near-sighted grandma applying lipstick, and the eccentricities of cousins, aunts and uncles are examined with affection in others. Many revel in the wonders of nature, as does "Missing," about the tadpole who is mysteriously replaced by a frog! Others, like "Bumblebee Breakfast," (Bumblebees like doughnut trees...) simply delight the imagination. <BR/><BR/>My favorite, however, remains the title verse announcing with abandon, "There's dirt on my shirt and leaves in my hair. There's mud on my boots but I don't care!"<BR/><BR/>What fun to read this to any child, even the child in yourself!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2008

    My whole family loves this book

    My husband loves Jeff Foxworthy, so I bought this book mainly because he's like it. Both of my sons (1 1/2, 4 1/2) LOVE this book. My older son now has a number of the poems memorized. Girls might not care for the book, but most boys will love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2008

    Disappointed

    I thougth this book was cute but what matters most is what children think of it & though I was sure my nephew would love it, he didnt. He loves to read and adding this to his collection was a waste. He just throws it to the side and reads all of the other books. It just didnt catch him like other books. He seemed to have gotten bored with it really fast. Maybe due to its different little stories and not just one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    Funny! Great Pictures too!!

    My sons (3 and 8) love to play outside so, the title caught my attention. Once I read the poem Dirt On My Shirt I knew I had to have it because it described my 3 year old. All the poems are good and most made me laugh out loud. The poem about the cat is very funny. I could go on but, just get the book and you,ll see.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2008

    I would disagree with Sarah - It IS poetry!

    This is EXACTLY the type of silly book that kids LOVE. If you would like them to know the poetry that Emily Dickens wrote, by all means, buy it for them. But if you would like to fun, silly, book for children, this is it. For those of you who are much too serious, remember, poetry does have many forms.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2008

    A reviewer

    the poems are perfect for kids!! this book allows them to enjoy and be kids for a little while. i think Jeff did a great job.we love this book because it allows us(rider too) time out from all the grown-up drama!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2008

    Foxworthy Does It Again

    This book is a great collection of rhyming poems with Jeff Foxworthy's unique perspective on growing up. It's a great way to re-live experiences from your younger days and I'm sure your children will enjoy it. I recommend it for it's wit and humor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2008

    Great for Kids!

    Kids have to deal with so many grown-up issues that it is sometimes hard for a parent or teacher to be able to deal with them all in the little time afforded. So this book should be very helpful for all--including the kid!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    Review on Dirt on My Shirt by Jeff Foxworthy

    This book is delightfully charming. From one funny poem to the next, children will love hearing this book over and over. I read it to my four year old son. He laughs until his sides hurt! The poems mostly rhyme, so of course he liked that. The use of rhyming words and the pictures are enough to send your whole family into laughter. Jeff Foxworthy uses words that kids can understand. They are more simple words, a good book for a beginning reader. The whole family will enjoy the comical adventure this story offers. It was something I could read that was, well, different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great For Kids

    My twin 7 yrs olds just love this book. It is a group of poems but not your average poems. They have read this collection of poems again and again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    dirt on my shirt

    this was an excellent book. My daughter's first grade class loved it. It was also fun from the adult readers standpoint. The poems brought smiles and memories from not only my childhood but from when my older kids were smaller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2008

    It's not poetry

    I'm looking for a book for my little granddaughter and thought this might be it. Having read the first few pages online, I just feel let down. Here's a writer who doesn't know how to scan, for heaven's sake. The verses aren't the least bit imaginative, I would call them trite. Nothing here for the imaginative child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2008

    not happy

    I expected more from Jeff Foxworthy's reputation when I chose this book. The poems just aren't up to par and it's nothing close to 'There's Your Sign' type laughs. It's entertaining enough but nothing to rave over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1