Customer Reviews for

Dirty Blonde

Average Rating 4
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A GREAT INTRIGUE

Lisa Scottoline is by now a well known commodity. Her women have, hitherto, been bright, attractive and starkly consumerist. Good people but obsessed with the things that are the tokens of success. This novel marks a move in a more human and humane direction. Her judge ...
Lisa Scottoline is by now a well known commodity. Her women have, hitherto, been bright, attractive and starkly consumerist. Good people but obsessed with the things that are the tokens of success. This novel marks a move in a more human and humane direction. Her judge finds herself in a situation requiring a ruling according to law not justice which becomes tangled with the judges private life. Friends and associates also become involved (pay close attention to cell phones)and attitudes clash and shift. While deep motivations -childhood, friendship, family- make sense, there are also some unrealistic bits. The conclusion is somewhat scurried after the lingering development, but this is a real improvement over ealier works. One little thing, I really could do without the expression :aargh" regularly appearing throughout...

posted by 166983 on October 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

not bad, not great

the story moves quickly and is fairly engaging. however, the characters are not developed with a lot of depth and the storyline gets a little hard to believe.

some interesting real life touches on a mysterious town in Pennsylavania and a parent raising a child...
the story moves quickly and is fairly engaging. however, the characters are not developed with a lot of depth and the storyline gets a little hard to believe.

some interesting real life touches on a mysterious town in Pennsylavania and a parent raising a child with autism.

posted by hound48 on October 31, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A GREAT INTRIGUE

    Lisa Scottoline is by now a well known commodity. Her women have, hitherto, been bright, attractive and starkly consumerist. Good people but obsessed with the things that are the tokens of success. This novel marks a move in a more human and humane direction. Her judge finds herself in a situation requiring a ruling according to law not justice which becomes tangled with the judges private life. Friends and associates also become involved (pay close attention to cell phones)and attitudes clash and shift. While deep motivations -childhood, friendship, family- make sense, there are also some unrealistic bits. The conclusion is somewhat scurried after the lingering development, but this is a real improvement over ealier works. One little thing, I really could do without the expression :aargh" regularly appearing throughout...

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    dirty little secrets

    i don't usually like abridged books because i think you lose character development. i like lisa scottaline and couldn't find this audio unabridged.i was not disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    We all have a secret life.

    Sometimes we can hide it other times not. When you are in a visible position you need to watch yourself and who your "friends" are. As I read this book, I kept thinking if it were me I would be in deep dodo. It was a great read and could not put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Another Lisa Scottoline thriller.

    More for us Scottoline addicts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    worth reading

    I liked this book. I thought it was very good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Message Mystery

    Not the best Scottoline, but still worth a read. Sometimes the pace becomes tedious, bound with TMI.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    Not the best

    I had a hard time staying focused on the story. Just couldn't get into the read. It never really held my interest. It wasn't as good as Devil's Corner which was a great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    My first Scottoline boo

    I never seem to find the book that is hard to put down, until I began reading this. I look forward to reading more books by Lisa Scottoline.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Decent

    This book was good but not one of my favorites by this author, whom I love. Still a decent read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    Recommend this book and author

    Always looking for an author to enjoy.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    Delicious!

    This is what I always hope for in a thriller/mystery. Being hooked in the first two pages & having a plot unfold in an unexpected way that is more daring/horrifying/mortifying or scandalous than I could imagine! I found this to be a read that hit all the right notes.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2008

    Junk Mystery

    I became curious about Ms. Scottoline's novel when I saw her interviewed on Court TV - what she has in presentation - verbally telling a story to an audience like any great attorney - she lacks as a writer.<BR/><BR/>None of the characters were developed enough to make you believe any of the actions they took; she gives you a bio of who the main character is, but expects you to believe that the undertow characters are moved to greatness without giving you any context for their actions.<BR/>The plot summary was interesting - it's what made my buy the book when I read the jacket, but the jacket is as good as it got - it fell flat after that.<BR/><BR/>This is a good gift for the office blond you don't like, but don't have the courage to call her a name to her face.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    not bad, not great

    the story moves quickly and is fairly engaging. however, the characters are not developed with a lot of depth and the storyline gets a little hard to believe. <BR/><BR/>some interesting real life touches on a mysterious town in Pennsylavania and a parent raising a child with autism.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    Fantastic

    Cate Fante is young, beautiful and has lots of money, one would think she has it all. But wait! She gets appointed as a federal judge, a very good and rewarding job. Now she really does have it all. Or does she? There is just something a bit off in Cate's head, because she apparently can't believe she deserves her success, because this blonde has a dirty little habit. She sneaks off to sleazy bars, meets sleazy men and has sleazy sex. Then one of her first cases results in a murder and a suicide and this causes the dirty blonde's secrets to come to light. She's suspended from the bench and all of a sudden she is a woman on the run, because the man she ruled against in that fateful case seems bent on revenge in this very fast paced stand alone thriller by Lisa Scottoline. I think it was very brave of Ms. Scottoline to venture away from her tried and true formula for success and abandon the women of the all-female Philadelphia law firm Rosato and Associates and try something new, but boy did she hit paydirt when she did. This book will reach right out, grab you, tie you down and keep your eyes glued to the pages as your fingers keep 'em turning. Wow, that's what I have to say about this book. Keep them coming, Lisa Scottoline.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A STERLING READING BY KATE BURTON

    Thirteen may be an unlucky number for some, but certainly not for Lisa Scottoline. Already entrenched as one of the most popular authors of legal thrillers, this Edgar winning author scores again with her thirteenth release following on the heels of Devil's Corner (2005). We open with a scene of celebration. Attractive thirty-something Cate Fante has just been appointed a Federal Judge. Clad in a Chanel suit 'donned like overpriced armor,' she accepts accolades from her peers at Philadelphia's Four Seasons. Coming from a very modest background, a small ming town, she seems to be on top of the world - until we read the last page of the Prologue. Hailing a cab she starts home only to spy a dingy looking tavern. She tells the driver to let her out there. Once perched on a bar stool sipping a glass of Miller, she wonders how long it will take - not long at all. Soon there is someone beside her with his hand on her knee. '.....he had bloodshot blue eyes, heavy stubble, and hair that shone in greasy strands.' Nonetheless, Cate moves that hand onto her thigh and tells him her name is Karen. Obviously, our heroine has a really serious problem, one that she cannot keep hidden for long after a famous TV producer, Art Simone, is brought before her. Prosecutor Richard Marz accuses him of stealing his idea for what has become a popular television show. Cate rules in favor of Simone who is soon murdered. Naturally, Marz becomes the prime suspect until he, too, is found dead. Enter the prosecutor's partner, a reprehensible police officer who digs deeply enough into Cate's life to discover her seamy secrets. Once they become headline news everything important to her is in jeopardy, as well as her life. Scottoline is a master of fast paced dialogue and plot twists that keep the pages turning, and Kate Burton's sterling reading keeps us listening. - Gail Cooke

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2007

    Very Good Read

    Like all of Lisa Scottoline's novels, this is a fast-paced, enjoyable novel. The new character of Cate Fante is a strong female main character with a great sense of humor. I love that all of Lisa's lead characters are down-to-earth females, and Cate is no exception. The ending of the novel was unexpected, and the novel wrapped up nicely.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2007

    Entertaining

    Lisa Scottoline's razor sharp wit was the best part of this story. I found the mystery less suspenseful than it could have been but the main character was very, very witty. I also enjoyed some of the behind-the-scenes legal acitivity. This was my first by Scottoline, and I will definetly read more of her work. Very entertaining. I did have a problem with the story's central premise, however, and didn't really see the problem with a single, adult woman having a consensual one night stand with a single adult male, even if she is a judge. She's still a human being. Would a man be judged as harshly?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    Don't be misled by the bad reviews below!

    I cannot for the life of me understand the bad reviews posted here about this book. This book was excellent. Cate, the judge, is a perfect example of how a judge is human, too. Also, I loved the true historical data that Lisa Scottoline includes in this book, and in her other books. I had no idea about the mine fires in PA, that still burn today. This book was truly fabulous.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    a good read

    I really enjoyed Cate's character, and I found the book to be very entertaining (you just had to appreciate Cate's sense of humor)and couldn't put it down - the suspense kept the pages turning. This is the first book I've read by Scottoline and plan to read the rest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2006

    Not the Lisa Scottoline characters I'm used to,

    I have been an avid fan of Lisa Scottoline, have read each and every one of her books and never failed to be satisfied. However, in Dirty Blond, I was disappointed enough to miss Bennie, Mary and Judy and their usual antics to stop reading the book halfway through. I find this book difficult to retain my attention and found my mind trying to relate to Lisa's new Cate Fante. Bring back the old pals......please!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4