Customer Reviews for

Dirty Blood

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great start to a really good YA Paranormal series

    Tara Godfrey is just a normal girl, living in Frederick Falls, VA on the night her life changed completely. After breaking up with her boyfriend at the pool hall and sending him home, she is unsuccessful in finding a ride home, so sets out to walk to the bus stop. While going through an alley, she comes across a girl who seems to be in some distress ¿ however, before she can try to help the girl, the girl ¿ changes into a wolf, and attacks Tara. Tara, to her surprise, manages to not only survive, but to actually kill the werewolf. With the help of her new friend Wes she discovers that everything she thought she knew about herself was a lie ¿ she is a Hunter, and it is her destiny to fight werewolves. How is it she never knew about this? And what are the ¿sides¿ that Wes alludes to? Will Tara decide to embrace her destiny, or will she decide to go about her life as it was?

    While I don¿t dislike werewolves, I¿m more of a vampire person, so I was pleasantly surprised by how much I liked this book. I was a bit astonished ¿ no, taken aback is more like it ¿ when I learned that the favored weapon of the Hunters against werewolves was ¿ a wooden stake. Seriously? Why not a knife? Well, that is actually explained a bit later, but it still seems a bit strange ¿ I hope it is further explained in later books. The characters are well developed and the plot is smooth and quick-paced. Overall the editing and writing style are well-done ¿ at least in the first third of the book or so. After that, there are more editing errors, but still not too bad. This is classified as young adult, since the main character is a 17-year-old girl, and overall it¿s a book I would feel comfortable letting younger readers have ¿ there is some violence, but it¿s not bad, and while there are some romantic scenes, there is no sex. I was also happy that the romance between the characters seemed more or less realistic. Overall, a great book, one I¿d definitely recommend for fans of werewolves and paranormal/urban fantasy.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2012

    Awesome werewolf series that I can't wait to read more of!!

    Dirty Blood is about a seemingly average girl named Tara, who finds herself face-to-face with a werewolf alone in an alley one cold night. With no help in sight, suddenly instincts she never knew she had just kick in, and Tara somehow manages to kill the shewolf and come out relatively unscathed. In shock and clueless as to what it all means, Tara is happy to trust in the handsome boy named Wes who stumbles upon the scene. He seems to know what's going on, and he offers to help Tara at a time when she desperately needs it. Injured, confused, and wanting answers, she is slowly introduced to a whole new world by Wes and his allies. Turns out Wes is also a werewolf, and Tara is a hunter, someone born to hunt and kill his kind. But there's more to these two species than black and white, and Wes and his friends are all members of The Cause. A group of werewolves and hunters who, together, are trying to make peace amongst their kinds. And it may all depend on the secret behind Wes and Tara's bloodline. With enemies on both sides and a werewolf from Tara's past hell-bent on destroying her future, she's in the fight of her life and Wes is desperate to save her.

    I loved the unique twists in this story. There are so many books out where the young heroine with the normal life suddenly realizes that she's actually something more than human, but there was more to it here and it sucked me in from the very start. I loved the mystery behind Tara's true nature and how it plays such a huge part in their fate. She was so infuriated with Wes and the others for not divulging the information she wanted about their world 'for her own good', and who could blame her?! She was flying blind and everyone kept hiding things from her even though there were some things she really needed to know. Tara was really an awesome heroine, she kicked ass and didn't stood up for herself when she felt like it was time for truths to be revealed. With no training, she still managed to hold her own against Leo and his cohorts, and I'm really excited to see what she's capable of later in this series!! And Wes, oh, sweet lord this boy had me melting at every turn!!! I mean, holy smoking hot furball with a protective streak that kisses like you're his last hope of survival...whew!! I adored him for the way he was all Tarzan-like masculine one minute, then tender and loving the next; I was swooning after both sides of him! Yes, I was just as irritated as Tara was every time he decided to keep another secret from her, but I also understood that from his perspective he was protecting her. And how can you stay mad at that??!! I love how destiny is playing a part in their love story; not because they are being forced down a certain path, but that it feels like they were always meant to complete each other and be each other's other half. *sigh*

    Hildenbrand hardly gives her readers a chance to breathe once the action starts picking up in this story! Between the heartbreaking decisions that are made and the attacks around every corner, I never had a spot where I could put the book down and not be worried about what was coming up next! As Tara learns about her past and discovers who her attacker really is, a whole

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    Well now this book really surprised me and I really enjoyed read

    Well now this book really surprised me and I really enjoyed reading it. I'm not a big fan of books about werewolves and it takes an amazing story to really captivate me and I'm telling you this book just did that. There is something unique and different about this that stands out from the same old, same old. Okay, before I get carried away, I want to thank the amazing author Heather Hildenbrand for providing me with a copy of Dirty Blood in exchange for my review. And let me tell you I'm honestly blown away with how captivated I was by the story and the amazing characters. It was a simple story yet had so much going on in that it had my head spinning and my heart racing. Heather really knows how to make you live and breath the story as if you are in it yourself. I love that about a book, being carried away without a care in the world, except the one you have escaped to. Totally amazing.

    Dirty Blood really starts off with a bang and does not stop. We are introduced to both Tara and the world she is about to be plunged into within the first chapter. She finds herself in a dark alley, trying to defend herself from a wolf. Something kicked in, as if she was born to do just that, and she defeated the wolf. Utterly confused and shocked by what just happened to her, she is confronted by Wes, who turns out to be someone who knows a hell of a lot about wolves. He is someone she can trust to help her as well as fill her in and explain the Supernatural episode she was just in.
    Tara is a exactly the type of girl you want in this book. She is strong, confident, independent, stubborn and one hell of a kick ass heroine, who would stop at nothing. For someone so clueless, she really held her own and never liked anyone telling her what she could and could not do. I love how infuriated she would get whenever someone tried to always "protect" her from the big bad wolves, and she wouldn't have a bar of it. That someone was always Wes. Oh my, he is my favourite character from this book. He is dark, mysterious, pig-headed (oh how stubborn he is), sexy, hot, damn impossible to reason with and one bad ass you don't want to mess with. Oh man, what a man, what a man, what a mighty fine man, he is RAWR. He had Tara's head spinning and so was mine. He was always thinking about Tara's safety first before his own feelings and this was so frustrating. Oh the tension between them was palpable and you wanted them to go all savage with each other, and the moments they did, the heat was radiating off of the page. Oh boy, I need a cold drink to cool me down. I loved these two together. Their banter, their attraction, their love, their destiny and the unspoken words between them was beautiful to discover. At times I wanted to bang my head against a wall because forces were keeping them apart, and whether they can overcome these forces is just something you all have to figure out on your own when you read the book yourself.

    I loved every minute of this book, and I never like to give away too much in my reviews and I don't think I could say anything more. The plot is complicated, yet simple, and a story that needs to be discovered by everyone. I am super keen and excited to read the next book, and am grateful I won't have to wait too long for book 3 either. The ending was not left on a cliffhanger but has me eager and keen to read on and find out what happens next. Thank you again Heather for providing me with a copy of your book, but for also writing an amazing story about Wolves and Hunters. I'm totally blown away by how unique and different the story is, and I hope the next two are just as captivating and enthralling. Love it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2013

    I absolutely loved this story.  What a new way of telling the we

    I absolutely loved this story.  What a new way of telling the werewolf/hunter story.  I’ve always been a fan of shifter stories and this one didn’t let me down.
    This story has it all…sarcasm, love, struggles,  action, etc etc.  I couldn’t put it down.  A big thumbs up to Heather for this story.  I’m looking forward to reading more from her.
    I fully recommend this book as a to be read book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    The whole series was hard to put down alot of action, love and e

    The whole series was hard to put down alot of action, love and excitement one of the best series I have read for a while. I have also read Imitation loved that book also, hoping a second one is coming out soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    The Dirty Blood Series by Heather Hildenbrand ¿ Review By Momma-

    The Dirty Blood Series by Heather Hildenbrand – Review
    By Momma-Ellen on August 6, 2013
    TheDirtyBloodSeries

    I just finished Blood Bond by Heather Hildenbrand. This is the third book in the Dirty Blood series. I give this book 5 cookies! I know 5 cookies is a lot of cookies, but it really is that good. Werewolf books would normally be out of my preferred genre, but I thought I would give it a whirl and see if I liked it. I have managed to read the first three books in three days! I am burning the midnight oil and I am very tired!

    In Blood Bond, the story of Tara, who is known as a Hunter, continues. She is a mix of Hunter and Werewolf. Mom is a Hunter, Dad was a Wolf. Like the first 2 books, the story is full of action. At this point the story is complex enough that I don’t know where to begin explaining things. There are so many twists in the story. Every time I think I have things figured out, something changes. I like that!
    Each time I think I know who all the good guys and bad guys are, something changes. It is great! I am handing the books over to my daughter to read. I think she will like them.

    Definitely buy the books. You won’t be disappointed. You will get sucked into Tara’s world as she fights, loves, and struggles with being both Hunter and Wolf.
    What does MommaEllen Think?

    The Dirty Blood Series by Heather Hildenbrand 5 cookies!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    With all the wonderful reviews of Dirty Blood on the Internet, I

    With all the wonderful reviews of Dirty Blood on the Internet, I figured I would throw mine in there as well. This was a little late for me considering I read this back in October. I loved it just as much then as I do now and will be forever a fan and follower of Heather. This was the first book I had read by Heather and she had me hooked immediately. I love things that go bump in the night, all the paranormal, fantasy especially werewolves. Heather's story was unique in the fact that she mixed werewolves along with the hunters. In her story they fight each other and co-exist, which added many layers to her story. Although I am a Wes fan now, when I read this I want to yell for Tara to run for the hills away from him, he's infuriating! He's so hot and cold with Tara that I feel so bad for her. Heather has given you action and adventure along with romance and suspense all wrapped into one. She is so good at adding mystery to her characters that you don't know whether they are good or bad which makes the end more of a surprise. Heather is one of the many great authors that you will want to continue following for many years. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    AMAZING!!!

    I stumbled upon a free read trolling through my nook. The title Dirty Blood caught my eye. The story starts off with a young girl Tara who by chance stumbles into a life of hunters and warewolves. The story is fast paced and the characters are likeable. Not your typical girl lets boy rescue her kinda story this girl kicks ass.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    I really enjoyed the characters and the pace of the book. I read

    I really enjoyed the characters and the pace of the book. I read it in one day! I couldn't put it down. I guessed a few things before they were revealed in the book but it did come through with plenty of surprises to. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys YA paranormal. The action kept me riveted and the romance between the lead characters kept me on my toes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Loved it

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Good read!

    I could not put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Great book!!

    Thought I'd try this book since it was free...and I'm glad I did. I've already read the next 2 in the series. I really enjoyed this series. Can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Enjoyable

    Very fun to read. Kept me going to the end. Didn't want to put down. Can't wait to read part 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Really enjoyed it!

    I can't wait for the next one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    BookWhisperer Recommended Dirty Blood

    Hell Yeah!!! This was an incredible book. I would go as far as to say that this is a comparison to my beloved Cat and Bones Series. Heather Hildenbrand offers a kick ass and brutal read that will grab readers from the first page. Tara is your intense heroine that will take no crap from anyone. I was in love with her character from the start. Her sarcasm along with her no nonsense approach gives her a well round and fun personality that proves an immediate attention grabber.

    This concept of the "Dirty Blood" was inventive and fresh. I like how it gives them an advantage over the other breeds, and places hope in the hands of our characters for a brighter future if they can overcome. The stereotypes of your werewolves and hunter are twisted in this novel, but it was all very intriguing with the exception of the werewolf's ability to talk when shifted. This talent was a bit odd for a me to follow in the beginning. The concept is easily summed up as Hunter and Werewolves. The "Dirty Blood" is the very rare occasion that a child is born with both of the abilities of a Werewolf and Hunter. The result is a stronger, and kick ass mixed breed that is destined to change the world for both species.

    From the start through the last pages Dirty Blood offers a rollercoaster read, that will race you through page after page. I finished this story of 677 pages in less than 24 hours if that tells anything. With a story that you can not put down, Hildebrand promises more to come in the following installments. This is a BOOKWHISPERER RECOMMENDED read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    Love This Book!

    Great book! Loved this type of Werewolves/Hunters -
    It really had a great message to it too.

    Tara was a regular girl just out for some fun with her friends.
    When she came across the world of werewolves, her life turned around.

    She killed a girl/wolf - she didn't know they were real, but it attacked her... Next thing she knew, a guy was standing next to her.. telling her he would take care of everything - she freaked out... and he helped her home...

    Wes, a Werewolf/hunter mix breed - He felt the pull towards Tara like a magnet - but fought it with everything he could. It was too strong though.

    He brought Tara into the world of the Cause - where Hunters and Werewolves fought together to bring peace among the rest of the wolves/hunters - trying to keep everyone from killing. But it was too dangerous -

    Tara ran into a werewolf (literally) and they fought. He was too strong, and he wasn't going to back down. He was out to kill Tara.

    This book was awesome - I really loved the relationship between the werewolves and Hunters - you could tell there was tension there between a lot of them. It left you guessing until the end who was the one to turn on the group.

    I was really impressed with this story though. I loved the relationship that Tara and Wes grew to have - I wish she didn't dismiss her human friend George so harshly - it just sounded like he was trying to get his future in order, which left little room for Tara. But at least they remained friends.

    The book is left open for a possibility of another book for a series - I haven't seen anything on Heather Hildenbrand's page about a second book, but that doesn't really mean anything :)

    Hopefully there will be another one - it would be fun to go into training more with Tara, and see Wes finish off the bad guys :)
    Oh and let's not forget Mom and Grandma too :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2