Customer Reviews for

Dirty Girls Social Club

Average Rating 4
( 146 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Why? So young and dirty.

    Why are so many people so dirty these days??? You who enjoyed it are SICK. TOTALLY SICK!!!!!! UR SO DIRTY!!!!! I would give it minus 1,000,000,000 stars. HORRIBLE!!! DO NOT READ!!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Love it

    Every women has a story each reaches the point or plan that they must reach. Its a story you want to read if there aren't any good chismes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Does anyone wanna talk dirty

    Dirty or not.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great

    I read it various times because it was so good!I was in my teenage years when I read it, but I never forgot about this book! I plan to read it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    Latina Sex and the City

    If you are a sex and the city fan, as most women are, you will not be able to put this book down. Let this be the first alisa valdez-rodriguez book you read, then definately follow up with Dirty Girls on top, the sequel, and the book to come in about two more weeks ahhh so so so exciting. I have read every single book by valdez and have not regretted one. They are inspiring and empowering to women everywhere. Too bad the tv show portrayed latina women as sex-crazed fiesty w/o a brain, unlike the book. but stay tuned...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    I have few female friends in real life...

    ...So this reading experience was a learning experience for me a little as well! I think this book teaches a lot about the diffent kinds of love, the good and the bad, and it was so funny and so sad and so perfect. Love it. This writer is gold :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    Loved it

    I couldn't put the book down the first time I read iy. I couldn't wait to read the others. It's reafy for a movie deal!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    Dirty Girls Social Club

    Awesome, I think everyone can associate with these characters. We know someone fitting these profiles. Connected with each one and felt deeply. page turner. Could not wait to find out what happens next....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely Amazing!

    In this book you are thrown into the lives of these six wonderful Latina women who despite being as different as people can be come together as friends. These sucias as they affectionately call themselves face hardships in their profession, in love, and just the struggle of trying to fit in to the label of a Latina in American culture. This book is written like I talk with most of my friends loud, with a sense of humor and without any kind of filter it's probably why I love it so much. You laugh with these women, your heart breaks with them, you cheer for them and sometimes like a true friend you want to shake some sense into them. This is an incredible book that every Latina needs to read. No matter how you grew up you can relate to so much in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    LOVE IT

    I loved this book. I read it last summer and recommended it to my sister and she enjoyed it too... She even tried to keep my copy. I suggest not to read the sequel it was a bit of a let down ending, I expected more from it because the first one was well written. If your looking for a quick entertaining read pick it up. It is not something to take to heart and compare it to your life as a Hispanic, its just something entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I dont recomed it!

    I finished the book, because I never leave a book unfinished. A lot of the things that are said in the book are stereotypes and the dialogues are not believable. I am Puerto Rican and I felt insulted the way we are portrayed in this story. When the Half Puerto Rican-half Dominican character was described (Usnavys) I almost stopped reading. It was stereotipical and a generalization. The name of the character it's not even a Puerto Rican name. What happened with the research on this book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2009

    Great Book

    I like reading chic lit every so often, and this book definitely was worth the read! I like that the characters have realistic personalities, lifestyles, problems, emotions and careers. I'm "pushing 30" so it was nice to read about women close to my age. The book is witty and a page turner and great to read and then pass on to all your sucia chicks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    great great book

    This is the first novel I've read by this author and it was addicting. Being Hispanic it was fun reading a book with Hispanic characters. The story was exciting and never boring plus I couldn't wait to see what drama one of the girls would get into next. Great read. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    Loved It!

    This is on of the best books I've read, The way rodriguez writes and being a hispanic woman I can relate to the characters.Could't put the book down.Can't wait to get Dirty Girls on Top!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2007

    amazing!

    i love the way rodriguez writes! the characters seem so real and modern. i highly recommend this book and her other book 'make him look good'...she's my new favorite author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2007

    POURS HER THOUGHTS ONTO THE PAGE!

    Alisa pours all of her thoughts onto the pages of this great book. I've recommended it to loads of people and I'm going to read it every year! I love the way she uses the chapters of the book as different views from the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2007

    Simply delicious!

    This is such a great book. It will make you feel proud of being a woman, and if you are Latina you will feel even more proud not only of being a woman, but a Latin woman. It teaches about frienship, love, pride, courage, and much more. This book will bring so many emotions and a good laugh. I enjoyed every word of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2006

    Just Not into It

    I just started reading this book and already dislike it. I am really trying to get into it. I am about 45% into the book and just bored. I came here to check others reviews again and see that some liked it and some didnt. I plan to finish the book but I am disappointed. Some of the books I read and loved are Bodega Dreams and Latina's Bible. Two books I truly couldn't put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2006

    Good Reading!

    I enjoyed reading this book. It brought to life what we as Latinas see everyday. I also appreciate the FACT that the author exposes the sentiment that we black/colored (dark-skinned/African-descent)Latinas are REALLY Latinas. As for one of the reviewer's comments about eating in the ghetto? TRUE Latinas will go home where the real food is!!! I make well over 100k a year and i drive a (new) BMW, and I get together with my friends and go where the real food is...the food Mami used to cook! I have been called a SPIC and yes, professionals do get fired for stupidity when they are REPORTED! Anyways, I hope any girl (or guy) who enjoy reading good books will pick this one up!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2005

    The Worst Book I've Read This Year

    I enjoy some chick lit, but this wasn't for me. The characters were too condescending--toward the reader--and off-putting to draw me in. The author might have been trying to avoid stereotyping her characters, but clearly she failed. She created caricatures, not characters. The lifeless plot was also lacking originality. I had to start skimming halfway through in order to finish it at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8