Customer Reviews for

The Dirty Girls Social Club: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 146 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2005

    great book

    this was a great book. i recommend reading it. you get confronted with the lives of different women and how they all come together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2005

    Great Book

    This book was great. Each girl had her own unique style. I love how their lives develop. I recommend this book to every women out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2005

    Absolutely Fabulous!!!!!

    OMG, every girlie girl MUST read this book!!! Bring it on vacation, to the doctor's office, WHEREVER!!! You won't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2005

    for people who don't usually read

    I really can't believe this book got such great reviews. It was so off the mark. So far fetched, so unrealistic. As a lesbian and as a latina...sooo wrong. I have never been called a spic in my professional career and as far as I know, Radio personalities would get fired if they did that, People don't freak out anymore if they find out you're gay and not all of my friends make over $100K at 28, and guess what? The steering wheels in cars in Italy are on the LEFT hand side, just like they are here. I honestly can't believe that mistake made it past the editors. And if all my friends drove BMWs and made over $100K a year (which they do now), do you really think we would go to the ghetto for our dinner out? Pick 'Good in Bed' or 'The Devil Wears Prada' if you want a book about young women and the issues we face.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2005

    a great summer read

    this book had all the main points necessary. Intriguing life style, drama, and touched the subject that not many do. i liked it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2005

    I started to feel like one of the Sucias!

    I absolutely loved it. Alisa did a wonderful job. I felt like the Lauren, Rebecca, Sara, Amber & Elizabeth were my friends. You have to read it, and recommended to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2005

    I couldn't put the book down

    I don't really like to read, but when my friend told me about this book i purchased it, and since the first day i started reading it i could not put it down. I read all 308 pages in one week and a half

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2005

    Not good

    This book furthers the stereotypes of Hispanic people--especially Hispanic women--and more broadly, of Hispanic culture. As a young Puerto Rican student attending college in New York, I was appalled reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2005

    MI LIBRO MAS FAVORITO!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I am an Hispanic female from New Mexico.The way that Alisa details the experiences and reactions from the characters in this book is absolutely true and hilarious. It is nice to know that I am not the only one that views things the way Alisa portrays them. This book was the absolute best book I have read in a very long time. I read it spring of 2004, in Boston visiting my sister and couldn't put it down. It was sad at times, but more humorous and enlightening. I am going out to buy her next book now...AVENTASTE Alysa!! I hope you keep on writing...we need more humor in our lives!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2005

    Amazing

    Rodriguez hits home and hits hard. It seemed as if I was reading about my own girlfriends and overall world. As a latina writer she is a godsend. Also, read Images by J. Albert Rogue (it's offbeat Cuban noir).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2005

    For all your girlfriends

    Loved this book and can't wait to finish reading her sophomore book. Peep into the lives of a group of amigas... things don't always look as they appear as you'll see. Reads like a Sex and the City a'la Season 5/6, but with a Latin flavor. Buy it for yourself and several of your amigas... you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2005

    I love the Sucias!

    This book was the most refreshing, the most interesting and most true to life book I have read in some time. I love this book!!! I want to share it with the world, the author is a true inspiration to me. Please read this! You will not be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2005

    Terrific Book Great Read

    This a terrific fun book about a group of friends that are there for each other through lifes goods and bads. Great read, And as a fellow Latina Woman I truly loved these women and related.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2005

    wonderful

    this book was excellent.I could not put it down.The friendship that they had. How they were there for each other regardless of what had happened, that reminded me and my high school friends. I cried, laughed, and fell in love with Amaury...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2005

    Adjusting the Lens on Hispanic- Americans

    Perhaps the other reviewers, mostly women, will write about how this book will boost the feminist spirit. Indeed it may. The all-female cast knows how to stick together. But in describing the lives and friendships of several young, Hispanic women in contemporary America, Valdes-Rodriguez does much more. As a Cuban-American, I am endlessly appalled at how superficially non-Hispanics understand us. This author, whom I've read is the daughter of a sociologist, has adopted a sociologoical stance in her literary approach. I thank her for this. Her women have in common that they hail from cultures where Spanish is spoken. That they are upwardly mobile, strong and independent is perhaps what truly binds them. Otherwise, they could not be more different from each other and the author, in using the rotating point of view technique, works with these differences well. Hispanics are NOT a race as often portrayed by the benighted American establishment. Valdes-Rodriguez's characters are white-Hispanic, Asian-Hispanic, Black-Hispanic, Indigenous-Hispanic and even Askenazi. She does an excellent job at underscoring the great and profound diversity that exists in the Spanish speaking world. And why should this surprise anyone? Spain was multicultural well before this country attempted its experiment. The United States is also far from being the only country in the Americas that has thrived on the dint and talent of immigrants. Yes, this book is fun. It can be very silly at times. It's a swift and entertaining read. Pages turn. The dialogue is good and sounds right on target. And the characters are complex and well developed. But by no means is this an intellectually challenging book. There are no metaphors, allegories or riddles in the middle of the sentence to keep you thinking and no New Yorker magazine vocabulary to keep you close to your dictionary. It goes down like frozen margheritas with chips and salsa with a bunch of friends to a backdrop of grooving rock/rap/sentimental wang. But it's greatest contribution is in the writer's showing who the Hispanics are. Some of us are white, Asian, Afro-centric, avatars from Olmec times, Sephardic and Eastern European Jews; Catholics and protestants or any other combination of any pedigree can be from any country including the Arab world. And we are all Hispanics. Our foods and cultures are as vastly different as are our socio-political agendas and this book does an excellent job at demonstrating this fact as it entertains. The intertwined stories are unpredictable and, yes, filtered through a politically correct lens. This is writing with an edge. There is good tension and conflict. As I read this book, I wish I could meet the author. I highly recommend The Dirty Girls Social Club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2005

    Pleasantly Surprised!

    When I picked up this book, I thought it would be a 'subway' read. A book I could read on the train for 15-20 minutes every now and then. Once I started reading the bookI couldn't stop. Each of the individual stories pulled me further in wanting to know more. I LOVED it. I read this book in a couple of days and would definitely reccommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2004

    Entertaining

    This was pretty good. The characters were interesting and the writing was humorous. I did not really gain anything meaningful from it but it was definitely entertaining. If you like books like 'The Jane Austen Club' or the 'Shopaholic' books will you enjoy this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2004

    Love IT!!!

    It made me laugh and cry. I love the way she gave each character a voice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2005

    BOOK NUT

    I LOVED THIS BOOK, I READ IT IN TWO DAYS..CHARMING TALE OF A GROUP OF GIRLFRIENDS AND THEIR INFLUENCES ON EACH OTHERS LIVES AND HOW THEY RELATE/HELP EACH OTHER THROUGH LIFES PROBLEMS. A VERY GOOD READ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2004

    okay

    This book was okay, I enjoyed the second half.. It was slow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8