Customer Reviews for

Dirty Girls Social Club

Average Rating 4
( 146 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Why? So young and dirty.

    Why are so many people so dirty these days??? You who enjoyed it are SICK. TOTALLY SICK!!!!!! UR SO DIRTY!!!!! I would give it minus 1,000,000,000 stars. HORRIBLE!!! DO NOT READ!!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2005

    The Worst Book I've Read This Year

    I enjoy some chick lit, but this wasn't for me. The characters were too condescending--toward the reader--and off-putting to draw me in. The author might have been trying to avoid stereotyping her characters, but clearly she failed. She created caricatures, not characters. The lifeless plot was also lacking originality. I had to start skimming halfway through in order to finish it at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2005

    for people who don't usually read

    I really can't believe this book got such great reviews. It was so off the mark. So far fetched, so unrealistic. As a lesbian and as a latina...sooo wrong. I have never been called a spic in my professional career and as far as I know, Radio personalities would get fired if they did that, People don't freak out anymore if they find out you're gay and not all of my friends make over $100K at 28, and guess what? The steering wheels in cars in Italy are on the LEFT hand side, just like they are here. I honestly can't believe that mistake made it past the editors. And if all my friends drove BMWs and made over $100K a year (which they do now), do you really think we would go to the ghetto for our dinner out? Pick 'Good in Bed' or 'The Devil Wears Prada' if you want a book about young women and the issues we face.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2005

    Not good

    This book furthers the stereotypes of Hispanic people--especially Hispanic women--and more broadly, of Hispanic culture. As a young Puerto Rican student attending college in New York, I was appalled reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2003

    Typical

    Okay, first off, if Barnes and Noble truly believes in freedom of speech, they will not edit my comment or take anything out. I typed a review once on a different web site of another book store (who will remain nameless) and they edited essential parts of my review. Anyway, the author of this book complains about stereotypes, but then reinforces them herself about just about every ethnic group, including Latinas. But she is obviously oblivious to the fact that she does this throughout her book. I actually adore Latinas, but this book was so predictable that I actually skimmed through the book to find what I expected it would be like and sure enough, one of them is married to a white guy who she does not like. And of course, she cheats on him. And of course the guy she cheats on him with is a black man, who is of course perfect, as all black men are...(rolling my eyes) Of course, I knew there had to be a part where she has sex with him. And of course, there was. Fully detailed, as I expected. And, she performs oral sex on him. And then he performs oral sex on her and she talks about how Brad, her husband was never good at pleasing her that way. Because, of course all black men are good lovers and white men just don't know what they're doing. The fact that she felt the need to write a fictional book that portrays white males as rich, money-hungry upper-management types and as bad companions and bad lovers that keep everybody who isn't a white male down is really insulting. I am only 23, but I have (unfortunatley) been used to these stereotypes my whole adult life so far and this book is exactly what I expected - just that. If you love the typical Latinas-bashing- those-boring-prejudiced-no flavor-white-males type things, like the movies 'Rum & Coke' and 'Luminarias', you'll love this book. And I see that this book is also published in Spanish, so Latinas who don't even know English can be taught about how white men make bad companions and bad lovers and that black men are perfect in those aspects. Typical. The author seems as though she has the mentality of a teenager. If there was an option for 0 stars, I would have selected that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2003

    Dirty Girls Social Club

    I checked out this book because I thought it would be another wonderful addition to the already memorable works of Esmeralda Santiago, Laura Esquivel and Julia Alvarez. Man was I wrong!!! Rather than being the fresh new Latina voice for the Latino experience her writing proves to be yet another embarrassing portrayal of what Hollywood has begun to perpetuate - that Latinos are uncultured, loud, obnoxious, and ill-mannered -- in one word GHETTO! That is exactly what these women are! For successful women who have made it to the top of their corporate ladders, these women express themselves with the vocabulary of high schoolers. They seem not only ignorant in their mannerisms but their speech as well. I was very excited to begin reading this book - that soon dissipated as the disappointment started setting in. I couldn't even get through the book! The first chapter was written in the voice of Lauren who seems to be the most ghetto 'sucia' of them all! It was trying just to finish that chapter at all! It left such a bad taste in my mouth that I immediately had to put the book away. I personally have had enough of the hypocritical, ignorant, drunken 'typical' Latina that society finds worthy enough to accentuate about our culture. It spoke volumes to me that these women seemed content with calling themselves 'sucias' - seemed more like chusmas would've been a more appropriate description!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2003

    Dirty Girls Social Club

    I started reading this book in hopes that I'd find yet another literary gem such as those by Julia Alvarez and Esmeralda Santiago. I was very soon sadly disappointed. I was so excited that a young and vibrant Latina writer had entered the literary scene and was hoping that through her writing she would be the fresh new voice for Latinas everywhere - sharing with the world our unique experiences. I now wish she'd been kept behind closed doors. I couldn't get past the first chapter - LITERALLY!!! The main character can only be described as one thing - GHETTO!!! We have enough problems with Puerto Ricans, Dominicans, and all other member of our Latin race being depicted as the low lives of modern society without having one of our own add insult to injury! Fine, these women are 'supposed' to be successful, but they are neither refined nor cultured. Why was it that the author felt the need to write about women that rose to the top but yet couldn't get them to shed the ever-present shroud of 'ghetto-ism'? These women are loud, embarassing and ill-mannered! Forget sucias (which I personally take offense that these seemingly bright women had to refer to themselves in such a derogatory fashion)! These women are nothing more than a bunch of chusmas!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2003

    Colorful cover, gray characters

    To sum it up, this book was awful. The entire first chapter is useless, the story takes FOREVER to get going, the main character is hardly likeable and the writing is just generally bad. Basically, this book failed every aspect of what makes a book a good read. I would imagine that it's even worse for those readers who are not or do not know any latinas. The author clearly believes everyone is familiar with the Hispanic-American culture. Two very enthusiastic thumbs down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2003

    You just want it to end

    I bought this book excited about reading about six college educated Hispanic women, something we haven't seen in books or film. Unfortunately, these characters are so over the top, they're totally unbelievable. Their dialogue, especially that of the main character, consists of non-stop petty gossip about people's hair, clothes, body type, skin color, etc. If done well, it might have been funny, but it's childish, and it just drags on and on. And in some places it reads like a rant. This writer has been compared to Terry McMillan. Not even close.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1