Customer Reviews for

Dirty God: Jesus in the Trenches

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Great Read!

    In "Dirty God" Johnnie Moore brings to life the idea that Jesus didn't sit high on a throne away from those He loves but that He came down to earth to get dirty. It's a great book to remind Christians the grace and love that has been shown to us which we ought to share to others as well. To those who don't call themselves Christians it is a wonderful evaluation of what Christ is all about and who He is. Johnnie lays out with an easy to read yet incredibly impactful book and I can't wait for more from him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    When I first started to read this book, I was sceptical of anoth

    When I first started to read this book, I was sceptical of another ‘cheap grace’ kind of author expounding overarching encompassing grace of God to envelop humanity. Everyone would have a sweet aroma of life on earth and “and they will live happily ever after” stuff at the end of the book. But I was wrong. The author knew his stuff as a well-traveled man who has seen, read and experienced what was truly grace. I was particularly excited when he mentioned the grace that Dietrich Bonhoeffer’s in his book, The Cost of Discipleship, wrote about. Grace is not cheap! Moore’s comprehensive and thorough takes on the grace of God thrilled  and inspired me. It made God to be more wonderful that I ever thought before. It also made me to be much smaller, more stinkier that I ever thought before. I was not worth the effort Jesus put in for me, yet He did it anyway. All in all, it was a very well-written, a book that will perhaps transform perception of many readers of the Saviour, Jesus Christ, the Grace personified! And I love the catchy title too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    In this call to action, Moore focuses on the idea of Grace. Grac

    In this call to action, Moore focuses on the idea of Grace. Grace that is overwhelming, grace that goes above and beyond our humanness, grace that is modeled on the grace that Christ showed to us. 
    There is so much hurt in this world. So much disease. So much injustice. Are we adding to it or helping to take it away?

    I think that Moore has some really timely reminders about what our lives as Christians are supposed to look like. While it is easy to look at someone's life and pick apart what they are doing wrong, there is something about a log and a speck that comes to mind. Is our job to be God's rule enforcers, or is our job to be God's hands and feet to bring His love to our broken world?

    While that's a hard idea for my little rule-loving soul to take in fully, I want to err on the side of love. To the least of these is what we do to Christ. Since I myself am a least, I will try to be love incarnate to those I encounter. 

    Moore has some pet projects that he mentions in the book, and that is great. Instead of just giving a vague prescriptive, he gets down and dirty and tells us 'look, this is something you can actually DO'. Maybe those things aren't your thing. Cool. Go do that thing that is your thing. Just go. Do. Be His Hands and Feet, because that is ultimately what He wants from us. 

    Grace. Mercy. Love. Mighty mighty love. And grace in the dirty parts of life. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    How do you interpret grace? What does it mean to you? How does i

    How do you interpret grace? What does it mean to you? How does it effect you?

    In this book, Mr. Moore takes us through his thoughts on grace and how God means for us to use it to make the world a better place.


    Mr. Moore breaks the book into two sections. One: getting grace and Two: giving grace. In each section there is plenty of ideas to think about.


    This book was enjoyable for me to read. There were things that I have never stopped to think about but after Mr. Moore brought the subjects up, it really made me think about things.


    The grace that God has given us, is the grace he expects us to give to others.


    I found myself reading this book slower than normal and taking notes and time to ponder the ideas that were presented.


    If you are looking for a book that will help you study and think about God and grace, this is the book for you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Hey yall. SO! It¿s really late right now, but I JUST finished th

    Hey yall. SO! It’s really late right now, but I JUST finished this AWESOME book from the lovely people over at Booksneeze. Before I get too far, I gotta tell you that I received this book for free from the Thomas Nelson Booksneeze blogger programme in exchange for an honest review. This review is 100% my own opinion and how I legitimately feel. Alright, now that that’s over, I gotta tell ya about this awesome book. 
    It’s “Dirty God: Jesus In The Trenches” by Johnnie Moore. 
    The main thing I loved about this was the accessible writing style. Mr. Moore didn’t use pretentious speech or over analyze things. He spoke plainly and with an awesome applicability. 
    “Dirty God” is basically the unveiling of God’s love story. God loves us silly humans so much that He got down and dirty with us. Got to the nitty gritty. He refused to let us flounder about alone. He come down and showered us with grace and continues to do so today. That’s the essential summary of this book. 
    So many parts of this book struck a nerve with me. It had me giggling one minute and then crying the next. It’s a rare book that can make me do that. Five out of five stars.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    In 1997,  I read Phillip Yancey¿s "What¿s so Amazing About

    In 1997,  I read Phillip Yancey’s "What’s so Amazing About Grace?" and it changed the trajectory of
    my life.  I have never looked at God the same.  The truth and treasure that Yancey unfolded for his
    readers was a powerful pivot point, opening our souls and spirits to a deeper level of understanding,
    relating to, and experiencing God.  "Dirty God" could have been a book like that for a new generation
     of the church.  It is not.

    My hopes for this book were so high that I was planning on writing a companion article around
    grace on my blog and using the book as a spring board for a week’s worth of discussion.  I wish
    that I could do that, but there is not enough in "Dirty God" to do so.  The book is weak on a topic
    that deserves better than the run-of-the mill Christian publishing grind.

    Clearly, "Dirty God"’s author, Johnnie Moore is passionate about grace and he starts out strong, but
    he seems to be constrained by the structure of the book, its gimmicky title, and his decision to
    purposefully target millennials and somehow assume that communicating to this population requires
    a dumbing down his writing. 
     
    Book Structure:

    Grace is a concept that needs to flow.  It is not necessarily linear.  It is not something one learns,
     rather it is something you experience, see, feel, know. It is like art in that way.  The best way to
    reveal grace to readers is to let them experience it.  You tell the stories, describe the wonder, be
    at peace with the mystery.  You paint a picture and allow your readers to each experience the
    beauty and the art of grace in their own unique manner.  They sit in front of your words speechless
    at God’s goodness, not knowing quite what they are experiencing but knowing it is monumental,
    and that they will never be the same.

    Moore, at first, seems to get this.  However, again, it seems as if something is holding him back
    from diving head first.  I found myself wondering repeatedly if an editor or the publisher were
    pushing him into the candy cutter mold of current Christian publishing.  “Just fill in the boxes
    Johnnie and tell your readers what to do.”  But grace does not fit a mold and by its sheer nature
    bucks against formula.  

    Make no mistake, Moore understands, loves and does a decent job of laying out the doctrine and
    concept of grace.  He does incorporate personal stories into the book as illustrations.  However, I
    was left wondering at times if he knew the notes of grace’s music but was unable to hear the beauty
    of it when played; if he knew the steps but missed the dance.

    Also, the second half just lost me.  Again, grace, when experienced, flows.  It cannot be restrained.  
    Therefore, you do not need to instruct people to move out and be grace givers, they simply will be.  
    The spirit of God cannot be contained.  The need to give a to do list, even under the guess of being
     “grace givers” seems to undermine the whole concept and leave one wondering if the author
    actually gets it.  I think he does.  It appears he forced himself into a structure that did not work with
     this subject matter.

    Gimmicky Title:

    The title, "Dirty God", just does not work here.  Well, it half works.  It works from the understanding
    that God got dirty here on earth in order that we might receive and experience the richness of His
     grace.  However, it does not work in how it is applied to the second half of the book.  There is the
    underlining insinuation, “God got dirty, now you need to do the same”.  Do, work, go, act, perform,
    do, move.  In a book supposedly about grace, this misses the mark. 

    There is also the fact that the shock book title is becoming a trend in Christian publishing and it’s
    getting stale. Give me a book that's solid and good and it will sell itself, you don't need to manipulate
     your buyers into buying it.  Again, I feel I am possibly speaking more to the publisher than Moore.

    Millennial Language:

    If you want your book to transcend time you choose to write in a manner that speaks across
    boundaries, generations, cultures.  You write in a manner that is so powerful in its beauty and
    creativity that hearts and souls are drawn to its message rather than it simply appealing to a
    temporary niche group.  Often the language in Dirty God  reminded me of a middle aged guy
    showing up at a 20 something bar in skinny jeans.  It just did not translate.  It constrained rather
    than expanded the subject matter.  It may sell well with a targeted niche subgroup; however, it will
    not be remembered 15 years later in a manner Yancey’s book on grace is.

    A  missed opportunity.  The wait continues.  Until then if you want to experience and be transformed
    by grace you will need to get a copy of What’s So Amazing About Grace?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    Dirty God by Johnnie Moore ¿Jesus¿ love and Jesus¿ grace are so

    Dirty God by Johnnie Moore
    “Jesus’ love and Jesus’ grace are so great it’s scandalous—too much to bear, and too easy to get, and that’s why it’s always been so controversial.” Johnnie Moore’s book addresses a centuries’ old concept in a fresh and balanced approach. He says that grace is not freedom to live life the way we want. It is not cheap grace, but rather costly grace that persuades us to flesh out Jesus’ love to others.
    This book is well-written and thought -provoking. It changed the way I viewed my relationship to God. It caused me to savor the grace offered to me and to want to give it away to others. The author also deals with the abuse of grace, which he calls one of the most dangerous illnesses within the body of Christ today. This review is a poor reflection of the impact this book has. Read the book! I thank the publisher for the free copy that I received and this is my honest opinion.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    After reading Dirty God, by Johnnie Moore I felt quite refreshed

    After reading Dirty God, by Johnnie Moore I felt quite refreshed! Which at this point in my life has been a good thing. Following is a short blurb about the intention of this book:
    In Dirty God: Jesus in the Trenches, Johnnie Moore draws on both Scripture and his extensive experience with other cultures and religions to show how the God of the Bible is unique in his willingness to be near us in all of our messiness. Moore outlines the central importance of the doctrine of grace while introducing readers to a humble and human Jesus who reaches out to us at our worst and pulls us up to our best.
    Johnnie Moore focused on Grace, how it is given by God and therefore needs to be given by us. When a book focuses on Grace, I am more or less hooked, because I know that I, a sinner, am in need of great grace; not only from God but from those around me.
    It was difficult for me to get started with this book. The opening chapter did not do much to hook me in, however, after reading several more chapters I saw its’ significance. This book had many references to scripture and other authors.  I have found in the last few months that this is critical for someone who is writing a book about God. I want to know where the facts are coming from; I want to know which credible authors they are quoting and so on. I found this to be very good in that respect.
    I liked the way Johnnie Moore wrote this book. Each chapter was broken into sections that flowed very well. It was also written in a way that you could understand and also think about what was being said. This was the first book I have read that was written by Johnnie Moore and I look forward to more. Thank you Booksneeze for the opportunity to review this book. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

     I read Johnnie Moore¿s Dirty God in one sitting, which is incre

     I read Johnnie Moore’s Dirty God in one sitting, which is incredible since I am in school, working part time, and juggling many responsibilities. While this book is packed with captivating stories, it stands out by clearly explaining one of the most often heard phrases in Christianity: grace. Johnnie is just the sort of guide to lead readers in the cause and need for grace by using humor, powerful writing, and experience. Profoundly important, Dirty God is perfect for the person who has forgotten, or never knew, the amplitude of grace.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    This book was a great reminder of what the foundation of our fai

    This book was a great reminder of what the foundation of our faith is about. The inability to earn the favor of the God of the Bible is one of the most significant differences between Christianity and every other world religion. The ability to receive and give grace is a life-long journey that cannot be understated, and this book gives many historical, experiential/personal, and account from literature of grace and its tremendous importance in the daily life of a Christian.


    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2012

    If I could only have one book on my shelf, it would be ¿Dirty Go

    If I could only have one book on my shelf, it would be “Dirty God.” Grasping God’s grace is the most important aspect to Christianity. It is the thing that separates us from all other religions, from having to live in guilt and shame, and from living a legalistic life. Grace produces freedom, joy, and delight! Johnnie Moore is an excellent writer with a unique perspective due to his many travels around the world. His stories draw you in, and the truth of God’s word permeates every page. I would highly recommend this book to everyone I know!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2012

    Dirty God by Johnnie Moore is absolutely amazing!  I highly reco

    Dirty God by Johnnie Moore is absolutely amazing!  I highly recommend it to anyone interested in understanding more about who Jesus is and what He means for us.  Moore shows us how God wasn’t afraid to “get His hands ‘dirty’” as He came down to earth to be like us in Jesus.  He gives such a beautiful description of God and the grace He displayed through Jesus in this book, and it is truly life changing.  After reading this book, I will never look at Jesus, Who He is, and the sacrifice He made for us in the same way again.  Moore really challenges our view of grace – what it means to first get it, and then to give it – and how this world is in desperate need of people who give grace like Jesus does.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    In Dirty God: Jesus in the Trenches, Johnnie Moore beautifully r

    In Dirty God: Jesus in the Trenches, Johnnie Moore beautifully reminds us that the Christ we trust and serve as King was not exempt from knowing, feeling, and experiencing the suffering of the human condition. While maintaining His perfect human existence on this earth, Jesus went where others were not willing to go; He touched the untouchable, reached the unreachable, and loved the unlovable. Jesus was willing to get His hands dirty, and by doing so, gave us the chance to be cleansed from the fatal condition we know as sin. Through Moore’s compelling compilation of personal stories and travel experiences, he points us back to the concept that characterizes Jesus’ entire being: that of grace. By grace Christ took on flesh, healed the broken, and ministered to the poor and weary. And by grace He allows us to know Him intimately, rejoice in His goodness, and continue the work that He began in the trenches.


    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

     I really enjoyed reading Johnnie Moore's book Dirty God.  The t

     I really enjoyed reading Johnnie Moore's book Dirty God.  The title itself was captivating to me and wanted me to continue on to know what he meant by this title.  I am a visual person and Johnnie really captured me in the stories of his own life experiences, making me feel I am there experiencing it too. It is a raw book and I just loved it. I would recommend it to anyone!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2012

    The grace this book talks about is a grace that can only be desc

    The grace this book talks about is a grace that can only be described through the Gospel. Johnnie Moore describes how grace is both given and gotten. Grace has been given to all humans everywhere and this book shows how God has shown grace throughout the world by getting involved and showing His Sovereign Hand. Moore uses real situations, real people, and his own life experiences to show how he has seen the Lord's grace given to people all around the world. A book makes me think of grace in a real, tangible way as something that can be obtained by anyone willing to receive it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    If you loved Johnnie Moore's first book, "Honestly", y

    If you loved Johnnie Moore's first book, "Honestly", you will not be able to put "Dirty God" down. This book cuts to the deepest parts of your heart and challenges you to show the same kind of grace that Jesus showed. Moore clearly explains the radical acts of Jesus and relates them to his funny and intense life experiences. By reading this book, you will understand the amazing grace of God to the people on earth. My copy of "Dirty God" is completely covered in underlines, notes, and highlights because of its wise and deep words from Johnnie. I can honestly say that my life has been changed because of the meaning of grace that Johnnie defines in this book. If you have a heart for the broken, the poor, and the needy, or if you desire to have a greater compassion for them, "Dirty God" will not disappoint!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

     ¿Dirty God¿ was a book I actually enjoyed reading. I never had

     “Dirty God” was a book I actually enjoyed reading. I never had to re-read something because it did not make sense the first time. Johnnie Moore cut straight to the issue at hand, and made a relevant case about why Christ is different than all other gods in all of the many religions that are in the world.  It was simple to read and the author provided real life illustrations as well as biblical insight to help support what he was writing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Dirty God is a cry for this generation to understand and revel i

    Dirty God is a cry for this generation to understand and revel in God’s beautiful grace.  Moore does not simply pull on Christians emotional heart strings, but calls for a rally around the gospel to proclaim the good news to the ends of the earth.  This book will challenge those at any stage in their relationship with God to take a step closer into his mission.  Christians will never view God’s radical grace through Christ the same again; causing the reader to jump into the trenches.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1