BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Dirty Job

Average Rating 4.5
( 394 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(251)

4 Star

(102)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

It's Stong Like Bear

Cover caught my eye and I just couldn't help myself. This is the first book I read of Moores and afterwards his name was forever etched in my brain, placed in the must keep and eye out for his books category. Moore has the most interesting imagination out there, when I ...
Cover caught my eye and I just couldn't help myself. This is the first book I read of Moores and afterwards his name was forever etched in my brain, placed in the must keep and eye out for his books category. Moore has the most interesting imagination out there, when I wasn't laughing myself into tears I was wondering how the heck he came up with this stuff. If you have an offbeat sense of humor and think you can handle a six-foot tall black man named Minty Fresh, Sewer Harpies, and garbage disposal Hell Dogs then I highly recommend this book. At the end of it you will find yourself yelling down manholes, try to find your own pair of Hell dogs, and calling everything strong like bear.

posted by InfantApple on December 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great idea, poor execution

When I read the description of this book and the other reviews on this site, I was so excited to read this book--I was looking for something different and exciting, and this sounded great. By the time I was twenty pages in, though, I was already disappointed. Besides ...
When I read the description of this book and the other reviews on this site, I was so excited to read this book--I was looking for something different and exciting, and this sounded great. By the time I was twenty pages in, though, I was already disappointed. Besides the fact that the 'punchline' is given away numerous times throughout the book and ignored by the main character until the end, it is also given away IN THE COVER ART, so that I knew what was coming before I even started reading. I'm also not a big fan of books whose resolutions come in neat and tidy packages in the last five pages, as happens here. The main character, Charlie, was so inconsistent that I found myself wondering if he had multiple personalities. It's one thing for a character to evolve and change throughout a book, but quite another for him to say completely uncharacteristic things on every other page. The same was true with the voice of the narration--it was maddeningly inconsistent. While some of this was obviously meant to be add humor and satire to the story, it often seemed, well, wrong, and distracted from the story itself. As I said I loved the concept of the book and the plot idea, but as I read the book it felt as though it was written as quickly as possible and with little care. All of the Beta Male detail seemed useless in the end, as if the author had a plan for it in the beginning and then just, well, forgot about it later on. Maybe Moore's other books are better, this was the first of his that I have read, but I was so disappointed by A Dirty Job that I will never find out.

posted by Anonymous on April 1, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 251 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted December 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It's Stong Like Bear

    Cover caught my eye and I just couldn't help myself. This is the first book I read of Moores and afterwards his name was forever etched in my brain, placed in the must keep and eye out for his books category. Moore has the most interesting imagination out there, when I wasn't laughing myself into tears I was wondering how the heck he came up with this stuff. If you have an offbeat sense of humor and think you can handle a six-foot tall black man named Minty Fresh, Sewer Harpies, and garbage disposal Hell Dogs then I highly recommend this book. At the end of it you will find yourself yelling down manholes, try to find your own pair of Hell dogs, and calling everything strong like bear.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2009

    GREAT READ

    This is by far one of the most entertaining books I have ever read! I laughed out loud throughout the entire book. The characters were dramatic and amusing and the plot and general scene was perfect. I couldn't ask for a better and more entertaining story. If you like comedies and want to have a laugh...BUY THIS BOOK! By far one of Moore's best works!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Hilarious

    Hilarious, like the rest of Moore's work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    way out fantasy

    In San Francisco, thrift store owner Charlie Asher is euphoric when his beloved wife Rachel gives birth to their daughter Sophie, but his happiness turns to grief when his spouse dies while still in the maternity ward recovery room. Afterward Charlie asks the hospital staff who is the incredibly tall black man in a green suit he noticed next to Rachel when she died? Everyone he asks says no one was there and no one fit his description. Even the video security camera shows no one. --- Soon after Charlie cannot explain why strangers abruptly die at his feet. That is until Minty Fresh visits him and explains that they are kindred souls known as Death Merchants, whose assignment is to collect souls before the Forces of Darkness steal them. Enlisting help with the mundane aspects of his life like minding the store and hiring babysitters from hell to watch Sophie, Charlie does A DIRTY JOB, but someone has to do it while believing that a showdown with Death is imminent. What he does not know is his adversary picks the time (the California Gold Rush) and place (San Francisco's financial district). --- This is a way out tale filled with a wacky eccentric cast and not just those from the other side. The story line is fast-paced as Charlie goes about his new profession with enthusiasm. He remains the focus that keeps the tale from losing steam as he goes through the stages of grief paralleled with the joy of a new child while doing A DIRTY JOB in which he anticipates a battle to the death against Death and the Forces of Darkness. This is insane fun Christopher Moore¿s tale grips the reader with its underlying angst laden human message that all there really are is life and death with nothing in between. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Cracked me up.

    I couldn't put this book down. It has it all, comedy, action, and a above all twisted sense of humor. This book deals with an outside idea that death is some sort of job that people get chosen for. Must read if your sense of humor is dark and twisted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome book!

    This book was so hilarious! I cracked up the entire time I was reading it. Every page was more funny than the last!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Good book.

    Good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2013

    My new favorite author!

    This is such an entertaining read...funny, smart, heartwarming, and delightfully zany.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Join team zecrom at dutel jump

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Read it twice

    Absolutely love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Grreat read

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    Loved this book!  I definitely recommend reading it

    Loved this book!  I definitely recommend reading it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    LOVE!!!

    Christopher Moore is a sick GENIUS!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Wonderful

    Story was great, however the ending seemed a bit rushed and anti-climactic. Then again I didn't want to book to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    As one review pointed out - Strong, Like Bear! Well said! I sa

    As one review pointed out - Strong, Like Bear! Well said! I say ... KITTY! LOL The book is so cockeyed but you can hardly put it down to find out what absurd thing happens next. A great amount of laughter - very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2012

    Oh Mr. Moore. You certainly make Death look fun! I have been len

    Oh Mr. Moore. You certainly make Death look fun! I have been lending this out to friends in my circle and Moore certainly made a fan out of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    I loved this book!

    This was the first christopher moore book I read. It caught my eye while perusing the shelves at my town library. I loved it from the very begining! It was hilarious and twisted. I couldn't put it down. I read it every where and people got mad at me for laughing out loud so much! If they every made a movie, Samuel L Jackson would have to play Minty Fresh! I never re-read books, but I am re-reading this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Love it

    I have read everyone of his books and loved this one as well. He has a way of fleshing out his characters which make them come alive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    This book was recommended to me by a co-worker. I read a bit of

    This book was recommended to me by a co-worker. I read a bit of the synopsis and decided to give it a go. So glad I did! I read it in three days and just could not put it down! The writing style is great and really enjoyed the character development. The sense of humor is a bit dark/different sense of humor, which was refreshing. I wasn't expecting a comedy of sorts but I think that's what really sets this book apart. It could have been dark, gloomy and typical but instead pulled a 180 and that's what sets it apart from others. Besides, the cover is is enough pull anyone into reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Great Book

    I read this book about a year or two ago and I thought it was AMAZING!!!!By the way, I'm only 13!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 251 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13