Customer Reviews for

Dirty Little Secrets: A J.J. Graves Mystery

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Loved this book

I loved this book. I can't wait for the next one to come out. It kept me on my toes and left me anticipating the next one :)

posted by millerbca on March 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Spoiler Alert! I found that the blurb had me rather excited for

Spoiler Alert!
I found that the blurb had me rather excited for this story. I was convinced I’d finally discovered a mystery novel worth throwing my time into. After reading the first few chapters, I still had that feeling bubbling within me. But, the instant Brody ente...
Spoiler Alert!
I found that the blurb had me rather excited for this story. I was convinced I’d finally discovered a mystery novel worth throwing my time into. After reading the first few chapters, I still had that feeling bubbling within me. But, the instant Brody entered the scene, all hope seemed to vanish for the story. Don’t get me wrong, I love the idea behind how the murders were picked and how they were preformed alongside the career of Jaye, but the romance was too overbearing. The instant connection between her and Brody just shook me up too much and Jack and her seemed a bit…well, their relationship seemed to obvious. It takes a lot to balance things properly, I’m aware of this, but the author didn’t impress me with the way she did it. 
Now, time for the true disappointment of the story: the killer. There was absolutely not a shred of foreshadowing beyond one mention of Mooney not being stupid that would have suggested him being capable of killing those girls. There was no hints, there was no evidence, there was nothing. Without foreshadowing or anything of that nature, the story isn’t truly giving us anything. We are left blind only to be feed something created by the “God’s Hand” effect near the end that completely throws us off and not in a “OHHH! I get it!” sort of way. For that moment to be given to us—that one where we just stare blankly and have a smirk crept to our lips as we connect the dots—there has to actually be dots for us to connect. The author provide no dots. None. Everything pointed towards Brody, and honestly, he should have been the killer based off of what was given—even if he was the obvious one. 
I did, however, enjoy the description the author gave. She described everything very well and in a manner that wasn’t to overpowering but wasn’t too little either. I enjoyed the snarky comments made by Jaye, Jack, and Brody as well. Those aspects worked very well, as did the picking of the murders. I loved Phonia’s secrets. They made it quite promising that the others killed would also have huge secret lives. But, I was disappointed by Amanda’s and Jaye’s when they didn’t measure up to Phonia’s at all. Jaye’s wasn’t even dark really or that bad nor was Amanda’s—well in respect to Phonia’s I mean. 
But, in the end, I would probably recommend this to others while warning them that I was let down by the time the ending rolled around, but if they were not as picky as me, they would most likely enjoy it. 
~Alice~

posted by Anonymous on February 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Spoiler Alert! I found that the blurb had me rather excited for

    Spoiler Alert!
    I found that the blurb had me rather excited for this story. I was convinced I’d finally discovered a mystery novel worth throwing my time into. After reading the first few chapters, I still had that feeling bubbling within me. But, the instant Brody entered the scene, all hope seemed to vanish for the story. Don’t get me wrong, I love the idea behind how the murders were picked and how they were preformed alongside the career of Jaye, but the romance was too overbearing. The instant connection between her and Brody just shook me up too much and Jack and her seemed a bit…well, their relationship seemed to obvious. It takes a lot to balance things properly, I’m aware of this, but the author didn’t impress me with the way she did it. 
    Now, time for the true disappointment of the story: the killer. There was absolutely not a shred of foreshadowing beyond one mention of Mooney not being stupid that would have suggested him being capable of killing those girls. There was no hints, there was no evidence, there was nothing. Without foreshadowing or anything of that nature, the story isn’t truly giving us anything. We are left blind only to be feed something created by the “God’s Hand” effect near the end that completely throws us off and not in a “OHHH! I get it!” sort of way. For that moment to be given to us—that one where we just stare blankly and have a smirk crept to our lips as we connect the dots—there has to actually be dots for us to connect. The author provide no dots. None. Everything pointed towards Brody, and honestly, he should have been the killer based off of what was given—even if he was the obvious one. 
    I did, however, enjoy the description the author gave. She described everything very well and in a manner that wasn’t to overpowering but wasn’t too little either. I enjoyed the snarky comments made by Jaye, Jack, and Brody as well. Those aspects worked very well, as did the picking of the murders. I loved Phonia’s secrets. They made it quite promising that the others killed would also have huge secret lives. But, I was disappointed by Amanda’s and Jaye’s when they didn’t measure up to Phonia’s at all. Jaye’s wasn’t even dark really or that bad nor was Amanda’s—well in respect to Phonia’s I mean. 
    But, in the end, I would probably recommend this to others while warning them that I was let down by the time the ending rolled around, but if they were not as picky as me, they would most likely enjoy it. 
    ~Alice~

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Dirty Little Secrets by, Liliana Hart (Outstanding)

    The charactors is this book come to life in your reading world. They become your friend. The books at it's end leaves you wanting more. I had to have book 2 . I am now waiting for book 3.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Loved this book

    I loved this book. I can't wait for the next one to come out. It kept me on my toes and left me anticipating the next one :)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    Keeps you wanting more! And you'll never expect what happens in

    Keeps you wanting more! And you'll never expect what happens in the end!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Ummmm.... really?

    First of all, our heroine has no real personality, and her backstory is a total washout, never fully developed. Plus, for a doctor, she's pretty stupid to not have found a way to deal with her "needs." Second, the hero is an undiscriminating manwhore, and our heroine is okay with that. Third, the villain isn't even properly introduced until he appears to threaten whatsherface, our heroine. Oh wait, she's fat. Anyway, I can't believe I bought this book, so those of you waiting breathlessly for the third book? GET A LIFE!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Throughly Enjoyed

    From the moment I read to the first word to the last, I was hooked. Great read & fabulous characters. You feel everything that they feel. I can't wait to read Dirty Rotten Scoundrels. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    gtgghiofgjjjtghyyytrzerrffssgfcrhh

    It sdfdfgscgddg

    2 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Great mystery

    Really liked this book. The characters were really likeable. Good read. Good mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Good book

    Loved it loves the second now waiting for the third

    Victoria Mohan

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Saphire

    Walks out*

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Saph

    He smiles and leaves to sl*

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    OMG

    I didnt like it i love it. I cant wait to read thr next book. LOVE!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    what can i say i need more of Jack and more of Bloody Mary, I be

    what can i say i need more of Jack and more of Bloody Mary, I been left hanging for the next book (I am glad Jack is always there for her)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2014

    Loved it.  Adore Jack, I want them to end up together.  The rela

    Loved it.  Adore Jack, I want them to end up together.  The relationships are great and I believe the people of the town support Jaye more than she feels they do.  Good mytery plot as well as strong characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Hello

    A very interesting well-written 195 page story of humor, murder, and mystery. Too bad the MacKenzie series was NOT as well written with an actual storyline, they could have been fantastic. This story (too short to be a book) was a surprise, a very good surprise. Did the same author actually write these?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2013

    Dirty Little Secrets has it all... suspense, humor, drama, angst

    Dirty Little Secrets has it all... suspense, humor, drama, angst and romance. Liliana Hart pulls you in and keeps you guessing till the very end. Can't wait to read the rest of the books in the J.J. Graves series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    Read this and couldn't wait to read the second one! Really enjo

    Read this and couldn't wait to read the second one! Really enjoyed the characters. Very hard to put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2013

    A "cute" little read, sometimes predictable but hats o

    A "cute" little read, sometimes predictable but hats off to the author for trying to add some twists and unexpected turns. I will read the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    enjoyable story

    Good mystery and good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Good read

    I really liked the story and characters. I found a few typos/grammatical errors... otherwise it would be solid... but I was able to overlook them and still enjoy the story. I just bought book 2... I want more of Jaye and Jack.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4