Customer Reviews for

Dirty Red

Average Rating 4.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Five outta 5

    I dont do reviews and i never give 5 stars but this witty, unique, and well written book deserves it. Beware: the third books release date hasnt been revealed but if you're hungry for more google the authors name and you' ll find an excerpt. You can thank me later ;)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is the second book in the Love Me With Lies series and what

    This is the second book in the Love Me With Lies series and what great series it is!!!!!  The Opportunist was an engrossing story that left you wanting MORE! !!
    Dirty Red was a unique, funny, sad, infuriating, gripping well written story.  Leah is someone you will love to HATE!  I kept waiting for something to be likable about her but I never did find it.  When she said she would do anything to keep her husband, she wasn't kidding!  The story just kept getting more and more involved and the twists and turns kept you on the edge of your seat.
    You will not be able to put it down.  There were times when I wanted to take my NOOK and throw it across the room because I was so angry at Leah for what she was doing, Caleb for not strangling her and Olivia because she was just so Olivia!  I am anxious to read the third book Thief to have more of Caleb and Olivia.

    This is a terrific summer series and if you miss it .... your loss!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    **This review contains spoilers if you have NOT read The Opportu

    **This review contains spoilers if you have NOT read The Opportunist (Book 1)**
    I was extremely scared and apprehensive about reading this book. I hated HATED Leah in The Opportunist. Even though she made only brief appearances in book #1, she left quite the impression and a horrible taste in my mouth. Those feelings only intensified when I read Dirty Red. It's been more than a week since I read the book, and I'm still reeling and analyzing what the crap happened.

    Leah was another player in the Caleb and Olivia's lying game. I would argue she outplayed both Caleb and Olivia in this book. From the very first page, I was enraged and wanted to slap her. Why in the world did Caleb marry this monster? Her self-centeredness knows no bounds. She always thinks of herself. She is obsessed with Olivia even though Caleb and Olivia presumably don't speak.
    "What power does she have over him? I want to run at him, pound my fists against his chest for always mentally comparing me to her. Or am I the only mentally comparing myself to her? God, life is so messed up."

    "Caleb is looking at me, but he is not seeing me. I want to throw up. How fragile is my marriage, if all he has to do is look at her and I cease to exist?"

    Leah's dreadful character was somewhat redeemed (I still hate her with a passion). She grew up in a loveless household where her mother and father doted on her sister, Courtney, and treated Leah like she was a piece of trash. Courtney was popular in school, while Leah was an outcast. The tables turned after Leah took up for her sister after Courtney's best friend stabbed her in the back. Thus, manipulative, lying, self-absorbed Leah was born.
    "I liked how easily I could make boys follow me around by dangling sex in their faces. I liked the way their girlfriends came to school with puffy red eyes from crying, after they found out their boyfriends had cheated on them."

    I missed Olivia A LOT while reading Dirty Red. I missed her inner dialogue and her vodka-infused baths. I missed Olivia's Caleb. I missed them being together. Even though they were mostly absent from the present, the reader got glimpses into their story through Leah's POV. There were some pretty shocking revelations that had me gasping, awwwhing, and rooting for "Colivia."
    "I didn't choose her," his voice breaks. "Love is illogical. You fall into it like a manhole. Then you're just stuck. You die in love more than you live in love."

    I have Great Expectations for "Thief," Book #3. Finally, we'll get to hear Caleb's side of the story, and hopeful, Caleb and Olivia will have their happy ever after. If they don't get their HEA, I will 1.) die, 2.) write own ending and 3.) shun Tarryn Fisher for all of eternity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Great second intallment to the series

    I had debated skipping this book because I really didn't care for Leah and I just wanted to move right on to Caleb's story. I am so very glad that I didn't skip it. While I still loathe Leah, at least this book gave me a better understanding of her, as a character. It also gave me a more in depth look at Caleb's character. As much as I love Caleb, he really is a very flawed individual.

    In The Opportunist, Caleb comes off as the sole wounded party in everything that transpires with both Olivia & Leah. But in reality he is at fault as much as they are. Honestly, they are all a bunch of liars and really don't deserve our pity at all. And yet against everything I hold dear, I do pity them - all of them. Considering the way these people keep hurting each other all in the name of "love", I shouldn't even care what happens to them. And yet again - I do! I care too much. I ache for them as I watch them all spiraling down into an abyss that can only lead to heartache and loneliness.

    There must be something seriously wrong with me that I so desperately want them all to be healed and to find the HEA that they deserve before they completely destroy each other.

    I of course immediately started reading Thief as soon as I finished this book. Dear God how can these relationships work????

    I am completely addicted to these characters. I think I need to join a support group now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2013

    This is the second book in the Love Me With Lies Series & is

    This is the second book in the Love Me With Lies Series & is told from Leah’s POV. I absolutely adore Tarryn Fisher but I HATE LEAH with every fiber of my being. The first time I read this book, it took me a while to get into the book just because of how much I DESPISE her character….and TF’s writing only made me hate her MORE!! DR is told in the same style as the first book (The Opportunist) with past & present chapters. Leah has just given birth & true to her style she has not one iota of motherly instinct. She struggles with her feelings knowing that she already competes with Olivia’s memory & now she’ll compete with Estella, her own daughter. We find out how Caleb & Leah met & how their relationship started. We get a glimpse into Leah’s home life & her relationship with her parents. While I don’t like Leah as a person, it definitely shed light on to why she is the way she is. We also find out that she’s got secrets of her own & will use the worst one to hurt Caleb right to his core. I loved the character of Sam. I enjoyed his interactions with Leah mostly because he called her out on all her crap. I’ve said this before that this is one of my favorite series & the wait for book three (Thief) was killer but SO WORTH IT!! I cannot wait to read more of Tarryn Fisher’s work ¿
    - I am more than sorry for what I’ve done. I married you when all along I belonged to someone else.-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Fabulously well written series!! Great characters - even the on

    Fabulously well written series!! Great characters - even the ones you can't help but hate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This series is A MUST READ!!! Do not skip this book because you

    This series is A MUST READ!!! Do not skip this book because you do not like the character! It is pivotal to the storyline, and is a great read in itself!
    full review on Books Unhinged Book Blog
    ~StacyHgg 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    :)

    Loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Must read!!!

    I love this series and can NOT wait for (Thief#3) I love how he didn't take any crap from her. He also still always thinks of Olivia.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Leah

    Ugh! Hated Leah but great insight into her insane thoughts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Love this book

    Caleb waiting for third book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Amazing follow-up... Highly recommend

    Tarryn Fisher is a GENIUS!!!! I all but despised the main character but absolutely LOVED this book. Now that's writing talent. Can't wait for the third installment of this amazing series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Will not dissapoint!

    I loved this book and im so glad this sequel was made! I cant wait for book 3. I love to hate all the characters for various reason's and seeing the story unfold in the different POVs makes it all the better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Loved it!

    Can not wait until #3 comes out!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Wow

    Never has there been a whole book devoted to how evil one woman can be. At times i want to sympathize but in the end i still cry for caleb and olivia.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    AMAZING!

    Holy crap this book was good! I was not prepared for the ending. Great series! I hope book 3comes out soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Love this series!

    Excellent read, leaves you wanting more!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Great sequel

    I can not wait for the 3rd book! If you loved the first than this is a must read. The book is told with past and present as the opportunist was but is told from Leah's point of view. I dont think i could dislike anyone more than i do her. I still have hope for some type of relationship for Caleb and Olivia. Guess we wont know until the 3rd book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Great read!!!!!

    Wow!!!! This book #2 in the opportunist series doesn't disappoint. It is written from Leahs pov. I couldn't put it down. Can't wait for #3,and any other futures works by Tarryn Fisher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2