Customer Reviews for

Dirty White Boys

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this one!

    I really loved this book even though it was a little longer then most of Hunter's books. I was given this book by a friend a long time after I had read Black Light which is why it took be a long time into the book to make the parallel. Hunter kept alluding to both the hard and ruthless as well as the nurturing side of Lamar Pye and I couldn't figure out why this was so important to the storyline. Then finally it occurred to me that he has a very close connection with another character within this series. I love this aspect of this series, how everything is somehow connected.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A serious page turner...

    Good action book! My 1st Stephen Hunter novel!

    Contrary to what other reviewers have said, this book is not really part of the Earl Swagger / Bobby Lee Swagger series. Earl Lee Swagger is mentioned once throughout the entire book. There are no prequels to read before you decide to read "Dirty White Boys" or after.

    "Dirty White Boys" is a good read, alot of action and great characters!

    The Pyes (Lamarr & Odell) are dirty white boys, poor white trash in every meaning of the words! They are ruthless killers & will stop at nothing to get what they want.

    The book is very well written and I was impressed with the (come full circle) type ending! You will be cheering on Trooper Bud Pewtie to catch Lamarr and Odell.

    The shootouts in the book are very well written and keep your full attention.

    Highly recommended, good reading~

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2004

    A Brutal, Criminal with a Brilliant mind for violence.

    When Lamar and his cousin Odell escape from prison with wimpy, pathetic Richard, prepare for a path of violence the likes of which you haven't seen in a long time. Lamar is the criminal version of good guy Earl Swagger of Hunters 'Hot Springs,' which is a book not to miss if you haven't already read it. Bud Pewtie, police sergeant from Oklahoma has the misfortune of going one on one against Lamar and comes within a microsecond of losing his life. He is bent on revenge in finding this brutal killer and the chase is on. You won't want to put this one down. Stephen Hunter has also written many other great novels, and every one is a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2001

    So breath taking, it will leave you wondering what's next.

    Another great book by Stephen Hunter, will keep you on the edge of your seat. You can relate to the human flaws of everyday life, and realize the fear and emotion of those fighting and those running.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2000

    Hypnotic

    The bad guys are really bad. They are also complex and once in awhile you even feel sorry for them. This novel is intense, but has some occasional humor that allows you to breathe again. Very brutal, but fascinating as well -- you're afraid of what you might see next, but you can't stop looking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Lives up to it's name!

    This book fills in some questions about Earl Swagger's life and times and supplies a few nuggets of information that mostly fit in the series of Bob Lee Swagger's life and times (so far) from "Point of Impact" to "Dead Zero". The writing style is roughly the same (pun intended) and it is pure Stephen Hunter. If you like "Time to Hunt", or "I, Sniper", you are going to love "Dirty White Boys"! This book is a real page-turner and it's easy to read. But I like it because it supplies it's own ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This the first Hunter book I've ever read, and it won't be the l

    This the first Hunter book I've ever read, and it won't be the last - I plan to start from book one of the Swagger series very soon.   From the opening of Dirty White Boys, the reader is hooked.  I've read some reviewers complain that the book is overly violent.  It is what it is - a great tale about a hardened convicted killer, his retarded cousin and a meek psycho and their escape from a state penitentiary.   As would likely occur thereafter, they ruthlessly attempt to remain free and will hurt or kill anyone in their path.  One cop on a mission - to the point of obsession - remains on their trail throughout.    Great writing, sharp characters and plenty of action.   This isn't a book for deep thinkers - it is escapism at its best!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    It's not often a book sparks emotion

    However once you start reading and your blood starts boiling, you be hard pressed to put this one down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Great book with an imperfect hero

    Enjoyed this read, hero was capable law enforcement officer but flawed as a man... much like real life. His personal and professional struggles were equally engaging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2004

    Bone-chilling.

    Stephen Hunter sure knows how to tell a good story. He has brought into being one of the most ruthless, cruel and mercilless charactors in a story I have had the pleasure reading in a long time. The main charactor in the story is Larmar Pye and as I said he is as bad as they get. This story flows like butter, it tells a good story from beginning to end. Once in awhile a story comes along that you won't forget, and this story by Stephen Hunter is one of these.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2003

    Great Story

    This story is really good. If you like action, adventure, and prison breaks you will love this one. It really is a page turner. It is one of the few books I have actually read all the way through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2002

    Awesome!

    One of the best thrillers that I have read in a long time. Actually this book deserves more like 10 stars. Highly recommend this book. Not for the weak at heart! Don't hesitate to buy you will definitely not be disappointed. Stephen Hunter can write! Wow!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2002

    page-turner

    I loved the juicy sex tidbits Hunter threw in.. but felt he could have been a little more explicit where Ruta Beth and Lamar were concerned.. there was too much concentration on prison sex.. my favorite part of the entire book was when Richard, Odell, and Ruta-Beth made that freaky surprise cake for Lamar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2002

    wow

    this book is intense, if you like crime and violence you have to read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2001

    THE DIRTY WHITE BOYS ARE REALLY DIRTY!!!

    Please read publishers write up above to get what story is about. I was a little turned off by some of the sex stuff that is why I gave it a 4 star. The book will hold your attention. It is very violent. Bud Pewtie is human, and makes human mistakes. I think he tried to correct them. The Pye boys were just crazy, but Lamar was also very good at planning things out. If you like a fast moving, violent book this is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3