BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Disappearing Acts

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Real Love Story

This book was purchased when it first hit the book stores. Terry McMillan's books has been a great source of enjoyment to read. I was able to become certain characters in her books. To me, all here books were great reads!

Disappearing Acts had a wonderful life les...
This book was purchased when it first hit the book stores. Terry McMillan's books has been a great source of enjoyment to read. I was able to become certain characters in her books. To me, all here books were great reads!

Disappearing Acts had a wonderful life lesson for me that has just been applied to my life. It is not about the outward, it is all about what is "within."

Both characters were able to grow spiritually during the romance and even more when separated. At certain times in life, being alone is the best teacher there is. I call it the "Great Divine."

Thank you Terry!

posted by Wonderful on January 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappearing Acts

Don't get me wrong, this book was very well written and unable to put down, but the reason I gave it three stars is how the author made females look very bad. Like they were nothing but sex objects for men and low lives who used them for money. Plus I hated Franklin. He...
Don't get me wrong, this book was very well written and unable to put down, but the reason I gave it three stars is how the author made females look very bad. Like they were nothing but sex objects for men and low lives who used them for money. Plus I hated Franklin. He was a terrible person. I'm sorry, but abusing and then raping your girlfriend and then blaming her for the way your life has turned in a booze fill road to nowhere, isn't exactly someone I'd like as a main male character. Even when he told his side of the story, I didn't feel one of bit of sorrow for him. I hated him even more. I think the author should start making her female characters strong minded and strong willed and her male characters less of players who blame women and get their way no matter what.

posted by Anonymous on June 27, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Real Love Story

    This book was purchased when it first hit the book stores. Terry McMillan's books has been a great source of enjoyment to read. I was able to become certain characters in her books. To me, all here books were great reads!

    Disappearing Acts had a wonderful life lesson for me that has just been applied to my life. It is not about the outward, it is all about what is "within."

    Both characters were able to grow spiritually during the romance and even more when separated. At certain times in life, being alone is the best teacher there is. I call it the "Great Divine."

    Thank you Terry!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Disappearing Acts

    I read this book when it first came out. Recently my daughter selected this book to do her report for English so I re-read this book. It was excellent for her report and her. Great teaching tool for young girls.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2005

    Disappearing Acts

    Don't get me wrong, this book was very well written and unable to put down, but the reason I gave it three stars is how the author made females look very bad. Like they were nothing but sex objects for men and low lives who used them for money. Plus I hated Franklin. He was a terrible person. I'm sorry, but abusing and then raping your girlfriend and then blaming her for the way your life has turned in a booze fill road to nowhere, isn't exactly someone I'd like as a main male character. Even when he told his side of the story, I didn't feel one of bit of sorrow for him. I hated him even more. I think the author should start making her female characters strong minded and strong willed and her male characters less of players who blame women and get their way no matter what.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2005

    norma

    the best book ,money can buy............love it love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2005

    I think the previous reviews say it all

    The fact that readers can develop such passionate feelings about Terry's characters indicate her outstanding ability to write. Her off-the-beaten-path style is surprisingly easy to lose yourself in. Of the majority of the African-American writers that I've read, she is definitly top-notch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2005

    Aiite

    This book wasn't the best book, but it was among them. I read it in 5 hours, and I hated Franklin for the way he treated Zora. Also, Terry made the women characters less powerful than the males.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2004

    Disappearing Acts

    This book was an eye opener. Boy I tell you I couldnt put the book down. I'm not really much of a reader but this book made me want to read more and more. I swear I was up at 4 in the morning reading this book. It is that good. Terry Mcmillan is an excellent writer. I give her her props. Speaking something so real and true. I will forever read her books. They're exciting and keep me reading steady.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2003

    The BEST love story EVER

    Its such a wonderful book. I started reading the book one evening and eneded up staying up reading all night long. Its just that good. Its so hard to put down. The ups and downs of this couple are so easy to relate to, its real life. Very enjoyable and fun, 100% you will love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2003

    Amazing....

    you just want to peal away at the pages, waiting for more. i for one, could not put it down. with every chapter i felt more and more like i knew them (personaly). if theres a book that i would recommend to anyone (really anyone) this would be it. the characters and the story line are beyond real. Terry, you must write more often. you are trully amazing.with great respect to your work, i will read on......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2003

    smart

    its one of the best love stories i've ever read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2003

    SIMPLY WONDERFUL

    Before I read this book I wasn't much of a reader. From the very beginning I was moved. This book is so real and once you start reading you will not want to stop. I truly recommend this book. There is a lesson to be learned. The question is can you figure it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2003

    The Best

    Disappearing Acts is one of the best books I have read. Terry McMillan is a really great writer. The book was really good. It shows you a lot about some relationships. I think that the book was way better then the movie but the movie was still good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2002

    Nothing but the truth

    I just watched, disappearing acts again, I wish i knew where my copy of the book is, so i could read it again. The relationship between Franklin and Zora, is nothing but the truth, I have seen it before. Hell I have lived parts of it. Terry is a great writer and wesley was great as franklin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2002

    Still the best love story I have ever read!!!

    I read Disappearing act in the year 1990 or 91. This book after all these years is still my favorite. So much life and truth to the characters. Once I finished the books I felt like I ended a friendship with these characters. I was hoping for a better ending but it has kept me looking for disappearing act 2. Wesley Snipes did NO justification to the Franklin that I had in mind. I was looking for a Morris Chestnut or even possibly a Taye Diggs. The movie version was very disappointing. Again I loved this book, This book started a hunger for reading. Terry I am still waiting for the Part II. Thank you for a love story so real. We need more books from you 1 book every 5 years is WAY TOO LONG!!!!!!!!!!!! Keep those books coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2002

    I Love This Book

    Im 16 years old and i 've never read a book so real, explicit,and graphics. this is the first book i've read of yours but i've seen the movies and the were great to. and even though imma teen i understand this book cuz i've been through alot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2002

    WHOA

    I really enjoyed this book. The characters we so very real. I was happy when Zora finally got her piano....mad about Franklin being so.....uggggggggghhhh...Anyway, if I keep on typing I am going to tell you all about this book..........I will not elaborate on it....Go and read it for yourself! If you want to talk about this book or any other books, e-mail me! I would love someone to e-mail me with some suggestions of good books to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2002

    VERY DISAPPOINTING

    I am a big fan of Terry McMillan, but I left this book disappointed, and perhaps even annoyed and insulted. I love the strength and self-reliance that Terry allows her female characters. However, I found the main character, Zora, to be unassured, too pleasing, too forgiving, and overall weak. This character was very disappointing coming from Mrs. McMillan. Not to mention that I ended up LOATHING Franklin, who was never truely justified in any of his awful actions towards Zora, his 'love'.I left this book very annoyed and disgusted with the end result. I'm hoping for more strength in the future!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2002

    Bravo!! You Go Girl!

    This book is sooo good.It was really realistic and the you fall in love with the characters.I couldnt even put the book down for a second.I like to read but this book made me love reading.Terry McMillan girl,keep up the good work.I finished this book in a day and it usually takes me forever.Everything was good.I give this book 5 stars and I reccommend it to people around the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2001

    I loved this book!

    I finished this in a day and a half- it was great! To tell the truth, I've since picked up another book to begin, but I can't get over Zora and Franklin's relationship. I laughed out loud so many times, I definately recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2001

    Excellent..must read!!!!!

    This book is a work of art. I could not but this book down. Each chapter makes you want to read on. Ms. McMillan present outstanding ethos with Zora and Franklin. They have their down falls but you end up loving both of them & wish to end they stay together. These two characters make you feel every emotion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3