Customer Reviews for

Disappearing Nightly (Esther Diamond Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

An enchanting novel

Actress Esther Diamond knows she should have had the lead of Venus in the play Sorcerers instead of Golly Gee but while she is the current understudy, she hopes that Golly will get sick and she will have the chance to play the part. During the latest performance, Golly...
Actress Esther Diamond knows she should have had the lead of Venus in the play Sorcerers instead of Golly Gee but while she is the current understudy, she hopes that Golly will get sick and she will have the chance to play the part. During the latest performance, Golly steps into an ordinary crystal cage and when the illusion is supposed to be finished she is nowhere to be found. Esther anticipates going on stage as Venus the next day but she gets a letter warning her not to go in the crystal cage because ¿Evil is on the Loose.¿.............. She reports the note to Connor a detective who thinks it is just a prank. In Esther¿s dressing room Maximilian Zadok materializes and tells her than another female disappeared while performing the same magic that and tells her he sent the note to save her because he is a mage who belongs to the Magnum Collegium, an organization that fight evil. Other women in the same situation also disappear and once Esther believes him, she decides to help him find what happened to the missing women, who is behind it and why.................. The sparks fly between the detective and the actress but he refused to give in to his feelings because he believes she is a fruitcake and a suspect. Combining elements from the romance, fantasy and mystery genres, DISAPPEARING NIGHTLY is an enchanting novel that will appeal to readers of all three genres. The mystery is well constructed leaving readers trying to figure out who is behind the disappearances. The heroine is at times funny and determined but always charming and believable................ Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Too Much

I bought Dopplegangster and wanted to start with number 1, it was very hard to find and not worth the time or money. Too much going on...just go straight to number 2 its MUCH better.

posted by kendraSC on March 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    An enchanting novel

    Actress Esther Diamond knows she should have had the lead of Venus in the play Sorcerers instead of Golly Gee but while she is the current understudy, she hopes that Golly will get sick and she will have the chance to play the part. During the latest performance, Golly steps into an ordinary crystal cage and when the illusion is supposed to be finished she is nowhere to be found. Esther anticipates going on stage as Venus the next day but she gets a letter warning her not to go in the crystal cage because ¿Evil is on the Loose.¿.............. She reports the note to Connor a detective who thinks it is just a prank. In Esther¿s dressing room Maximilian Zadok materializes and tells her than another female disappeared while performing the same magic that and tells her he sent the note to save her because he is a mage who belongs to the Magnum Collegium, an organization that fight evil. Other women in the same situation also disappear and once Esther believes him, she decides to help him find what happened to the missing women, who is behind it and why.................. The sparks fly between the detective and the actress but he refused to give in to his feelings because he believes she is a fruitcake and a suspect. Combining elements from the romance, fantasy and mystery genres, DISAPPEARING NIGHTLY is an enchanting novel that will appeal to readers of all three genres. The mystery is well constructed leaving readers trying to figure out who is behind the disappearances. The heroine is at times funny and determined but always charming and believable................ Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    Too Much

    I bought Dopplegangster and wanted to start with number 1, it was very hard to find and not worth the time or money. Too much going on...just go straight to number 2 its MUCH better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Kept Me Gussing

    In a world where too many books are transparent from the beginning, I absolutely loved that I didn't know the end of this book until the end! It was thrilling and captivating, a can't-put-it-down read that I would definitely recommend.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    I absolutely *loved* this book! <BR/><BR/>It's a quick, fun paranormal read about Esther Diamond, who has a role playing a green nymph in the Off-Off-Off Broadway show "Sorceror!" When the show's star, Golly Gee, truly disappears during a magic-show type disappearing act, it doesn't take Esther long to figure out that something strange is going on -- especially when she finds out that other people have also gone missing during the same type of acts.<BR/><BR/>This book is full of quirky characters who are truly fun and well-developed -- from the three-hundred-plus-year-old Max to the creepy Hieronymus, from Dolly the Dancing Cowgirl and Delilah the beautiful transvestite, to Satsy (aka Saturated Fat) the obese cross-dresser to the tight-lipped Herlihy.<BR/><BR/>Read it! It's too good to pass up. My only complaint is that the second book in the series, DOPPELGANGSTERS, didn't come out from Luna Books in December 2006 as planned. Fortunately, DAW is publishing it in 2008. I can't wait!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2006

    this was a good read

    It took a while for me to get into this book. It was a bit confusing, a little frustrating at times, but well worth the read. Once I got into it, I finished in hours.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2006

    Recommended

    This is an amusing tale with an engaging heroine and a cast of terrific secondary characters. I figured out the bad guy pretty early on, but the story was well developed and the promise of romance interesting. Obviously the beginning of a series, I look forward to the next installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2014

    A story+

    Story: Blood Fallen at "dsa" results one through three. Author: ~L&beta<p>Clan: Pandemonium. Information and application at "panda fall" all results.<p>Clans: Pact Clans. Information disperced at "pocket rough guide" all results. Gathering tomorrow!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2014

    Story at wild side res3!!!!

    -lala.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2014

    A bunch (or maybe only a few) ads!

    MLP: FIM RP: St res five! <br> MLP Rainbow Factory RP: hgu res three! (To find out what this is, you need to not be scared of killing blood and gore, and also probs at least 10 years old and over! But to find out what it is go to you tube and search Rainbow Factory and watch that. Yeah...) <br> MLP Shadow Factory RP: bleak house res one! (Find out more about it when you ask anypony at st hgu or bleak house! Also its also the same age and requirements as the rainbow factory) <br> Half-Monster RP: monster res three! (For info on what this is just find the bio res!) <br> MLP Alicorn/shunned pony character/oc safe haven RP: tree of harmony res one! (This is a place where your pony ocs can go if they have been outcasted or shunned! Talk to Firework for more info!) <br> Camp Half Blood RP: ethics res one! (Alana is currently leader there so if you need anything just ask her) <br> Thats all! Thanks! - Awesome Face 8D

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2014

    MoonLight To NewsPaper

    I am writing a book; it's called "Physon". The Prologue is posted at "reca" result 1, Chapter 1 at result 2. Thanks for possibly putting this in your newspaper!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2014

    Advertisements and News

    Should be posted here!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2013

    Fun, light reading.

    I read a lot, and like to balance out heavy/serious/intense books by reading something light and fun. Disappearing Nightly fit the bill perfectly. The characters are quirky and have some depth. The story is total fantasy, with a little romance and intrigue thrown in. If you like Evanovich's Stephanie Plum books, you will probably like this.
    I have already read the 2nd in the series, and plan to continue reading them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2013

    I like the books I read to have humor in them and even comedy wh

    I like the books I read to have humor in them and even comedy when it is appropriate.  This story is full of comedy, well more like slapstick.  But, the characters remain flat without any emotion invested in them, which is why I can’t say this is a really good book.  You may enjoy it more than I did.  I have to say I won’t be reading any more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Disappointed

    I had already read all of the other Ester Diamond books before this. I had no idea until after I bought this that it was the FIRST book of the series. It is very confusing because it states that it was published in June 2012 when it is really a re-release from 2006. This should have been made clear!! I didn't care for this book as it dragged on and on. I ended up skipping the middle of the book and read only the first 80 or so pages and the last 40 pages and didn't miss a thing. The other books of the series I really enjoyed and I will get the next of this series. If you haven't read any of the series or if you have read the others makes no difference because this book can (and should) be skipped. I'm upset because I feel like I was mislead about this book and it wasn't worth my time or money to read it. Sorry!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2