Customer Reviews for

Discipline

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    The Cure For Excusitis

    I was really looking forward to this new book from Harris having read and benefited greatly from his other discipline books. Let me tell you that Discipline: Take Control of Your Life was well worth the wait. Each of his other books contained a wealth of knowledge on how to take control of your personal and professional life using self discipline. This book is another gem, filled with lots of new information, techniques and tips on goal setting, leadership, exercise, proper eating habits and much, much more, all accomplished through the discipline of your mind and body. If your looking to achieve more success in your life whether personal or professional, this book will guide you to that destination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    A very good read.

    Should be useful for many people to organize their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A great inspiration!

    This book was a great wake up call for me. Reading about how Harris took control at such a young age made me even more hungry and made me determined. I know that goals are not impossible and that anything can truly be done. But the question is, do you really want it ? Because nothing good really comes easy. You have to work for it and success does not come cheap. But if Harris can do it, why can't I do it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The mind is a terrible thing to waste

    After reading this book. Certain things kept getting thrown into my head. For example, time management. I've realized myself now when I am getting lazy and doing nothing, I will realize this quickly and nip it out. Its not ok to waste anymore time. This book gives me good insight also on how to organize my daily tasks in life to be more productive. By me having my days written out and planned, theres no time to bs, I just follow my instructions and things get completed much faster now then they did when I would try to follow through with my plans all cluttered in my head.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2008

    Hero next door

    Harris Kern is an amazing writer, but an even amazing person. he gave me a copy out of the generosity of his heart simply cause he wanted me to succeed. the book really steps into the center of discipline and teaches you how to unleash your true self. Harris talks about his mentor who was his neighbor I believe that Harris is my mentor, my neighbor, my HERO. thanks Harris.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2007

    DISCIPLINE - What a great feeling !!

    I was lent this book by a close friend...WOW !!! I re-read the first 30 pages 3 times because, although maybe extreme to some, this guy was down right inspiring!! Every time I read it I felt absolutely fantastic - as if I knew what the answer to all my problems was - I was lacking discipline !! I'm sure that some people might find it a little strange at first (the fact that he only sleeps 4 hours a day or that he'll go to the gym in extreme pain from injury) as a matter of fact even I thought it was a little too extreme...but as I read on realized that discipline brought with it other qualities that are so rare in many people that I felt compelled to apply the lessons learnt. Qualities such as honesty, integrity, responsibility, reliability...etc..along with discipline are everything that you'll need to achieve and conquer the dreams and challenges in your life. These are the type of qualities that make an ideal human being and are all by-products of becoming disciplined. Discplined to be be the person you want to be and acheive the goals you want in life - this is what I believe Harris Kern is sharing with us throughout the book with his insiring stories about himself and others. The content is simple!! If you're seeking to become a better person in addition to achieving what you want then look no further. I've just ordered his other two books on discipline and can't wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2006

    For your children, for you too!

    Something most of us could improve on is our own discipline, I know I stumble too often. Parenting puts it in your face daily, and you know you want your children to acquire discipline and other positive characteristics. But they learn by watching you, make no mistake. This book has some excellent guidance, and should cause you to look internally too. Hopefully we can all mentor AND model discipline with our own actions. Pick this book up, you will not be sorry. If you are a new parent, or about to be, you need to read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2006

    Children and mentoring

    I found this book to really get to the point of the matter. We have to spend time with our children if we what them to succeed in the new global environment. Friedman in his book the Flat World states that in China, Bill Gates is Britney Spears, but in the United States Britney Spears is Britney Spears, and that is our problem. Our children are a reflection of us and the world around them. If we place emphasis on learning and development of ones self, the chances are pretty good that they will succeed. Kern¿s is right on the money with this book. Mentor your children and the rewards will be their future successes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2006

    Gr8 Book For Inspiration

    If you are looking to get inspired. If you are ready to take the next step. If you want to know how discipline can change and positively impact your life, like it did for Harris Kern (the author) then read this book. If you are looking for some miracle cure for your laziness¿.then this book is not for you. You have to not only read this book but take action!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2006

    Intelligently written for parents

    Mentoring Children for Success defines what every parent should be aspiring to do once they decide to bear and rear kids. It is a life lesson-eternal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2006

    Help Children Succeed

    ¿ We as parents, make the decision to bring children into this world. However, we don¿t always do a fantastic job, let alone a good job teaching our kids the value of life-for the sake of their future. These authors who are also parents themselves remind us that simple mentoring/disciplining techniques can improve a child¿s life dramatically. Allowing a child to fend for himself is irresponsible on out part.¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2004

    Just Do It !!!

    Harris has given us the tools to succeed; in whatever course we take. Self-discipline is hard but it beats having someone else do it for us. In this book, Harris uses his own experiences as well as others to show us the way and the benefits of self-motivation, setting goals. Being disciplined may mean different things to different people. This book simplifies how anybody can improve his or her life by improving how they schedule their time and daily routine. Set goals and just do whatever it takes to achieve them. He also lists his favorite sayings, I have one that I think he would like, ¿Lead, Follow or get the ____ out of the way¿. Harris is the leader on this subject & I am happy to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2003

    Harris Kern Adds a Key Element for Success in Today's Fast Paced World !

    Where Stephen Covey left off in his '7 Habits of Highly Effective People' book in terms of the what, why, how and want (desire), Harris Kern adds a critical component of 'discipline' to ensure successful results. Harris' book 'Discipline: Training the Mind to Manage Your Life' adds the discipline dimension with a roadmap for success that can be applied to all facets of our lives. If you are looking for some keys to achieve more balance, productivity, success and quality in your life, then Harris' book will provide a terrific insight on where to look and what to do.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2003

    Discipline = Productivity

    Having read Mr. Kern's previous book I was eager to see what other useful methods I could learn to improve my life. For example, I was amazed to learn how much time is wasted in one's life. One may or may not be able to adhere completely to the daily time schedule outlined in the book, but it gives you an idea of how one can improve on time management and become more productive. As they say: 'Time is Gold', and having the discipline to manage time properly can only lead to success.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2003

    I read and then re-read...

    Discipline, is one of the very few books that I have read and then go back and re read and use as a reference. PRIME is a great systematic approach to introspectively analyze your personal current state, develop execution level activities geared to accomplishing a more productive future state and guidelines of how to get to that future state. The personal anecdotes add a dose of reality and the highlighted quotes add an inspirational boost. A very thought provoking book that can lead to life changing actions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2003

    Discipline is not a four-letter word!!!

    There are two groups of people that would love reading this book. The first, are those of us who seem to have been 'haunted' by drive toward achievement and discipline most of our lives. After being taunted and labeled obsessive/compulsive, over-achievers and many other negative connotations most of our lives, it is terrific to read that there are others like us. As suspected the alternative, as Kern and Willi explain is complacency, laziness and excuses. The other group is those people who experience a life altering event and want to know how to completely change their attitude and approach to what meaning their lives can have. For these people this will be a tough challenge, but certainly the recipe for wonderfully, previously unimaginable success and happiness is spelled out in this book. In my opinion everyone else should read this book, and will most likely have a ton of 'but's', and even more cynicism as they get exhausted turning page after page of the formula for a rewarding life. This really should be what the doctor orders!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2003

    Help for recovering procrastinators everywhere :)

    The book is a good reminder of how seemingly simple the concept of discipline is. The book seems to have documented some of my personal best procrastination lines ... as well as some obvious reasons why I should do it now. The book outlines a process which will help get you organized and keep your priorities in line. I think that Harris sets the standard to give us an example of someone who religiously follows Discipline. Karen really adds a nice bit of perspective that makes the message so simple and well layed out that it's going to be a lot harder for me to put things off. From now on, I think I'm going to need to schedule in some time to refine my art of procrastination. I think I'll schedule this right before my workout. Thank you Harris & Karen! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2003

    Open your mind to the possibilities!

    What a great read!. Not being renound as one to get through books quickly - having started 'Discipline - Training The Mind to Manage Your Life' I couldn't put it down. Harris and Karen have a wealth of motivational suggestions within this gem of a book that are there for the taking - its just a matter of committing yourself to take action. As someone who thought they had a fairly high degree of discipline I now realise I have a long way to go. But taking it step by step as outlined in the book, the task is not nearly as daunting and already I am noticing changes in my attitudes and activity levels. Even if you only pick up two or three of the many pertinent points within this book - READ IT - it has the power to change your life if you only open your mind to the possibilities. Harris - Thank You.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2003

    No excuses

    As with Harris' first book, this one is full of sage advice, a great deal of quotes and wisdom, delivered with a "no-BS" approach. What people need to do is quit wasting time making excuses as to why they cannot do things (boundaries set by others and perceptions of others), and make their own goals and milestones. A theme of Harris' book is, you only measure success against yourself. The idea of charting wasted time is a great eye-opener! Try it, you will be shocked (and perhaps, temporarily depressed, but YOU can change that!). Harris puts a good focus on the down-to-earth things too, like kids, charities, growing old, retirement. The book itself doesn't inspire you, but it is written in a way that makes you look inside yourself, where inspiration truly resides. My favorite quote from the book is Will Rogers, "Even if you are on the right track, you'll get run over if you just sit there." That is what Harris writes about, you know the problems, admit them, create a plan to address your weaknesses, set milestones, and get after it! This book (like his last one) really caused me to think how the topics applied to me; I didn't feel like I was just reading about him and his ideas, and that to me makes it one I can recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2003

    Discipline is Tough to Execute, but Provides Rich Rewards

    This book builds on the foundations of Kern's first book on the topic (Discipline: Six Steps to Unleashing Your Hidden Potential), and presents a much more organized and wholistic view of how Discipline can permeate and direct every aspect of life. From analyzing the way we spend our time; to getting rid of the destructive mental messages (the authors call this 'psyching yourself out') that we subconsciously give ourselves; to keeping ourselves fit; and further to keeping our minds sharp... this book covers it all. The ideas presented in the book are so practical and down-to-earth that anyone can literally implement these ideas the very same day s/he reads the book. However, these same ideas also illustrate just how tough it is to acquire Discipline, because altering one's lifestyle and thinking are much easier said than done. Despite the challenges, the authors make clear through their own lives and achievements that Discipline offers rich rewards to those that diligently seek it. Many readers will certainly find this book inspiring and life-changing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2