Customer Reviews for

Discipline

Average Rating 5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely riveting!

    I loved this book! Quantum physics, economics, romance, philosophy, all meld into an excellently crafted plot. I was fascinated by the multiverses, bursting, and was captivated from the first page to the last one. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2009

    "The world is full of magical things, patiently waiting for our wits to grow sharper."

    You are here reading these reviews because you heard about Discipline and wanted to learn more. Something drew you here, whether it was a recommendation from a friend, a review read somewhere out there, or even better, you stumbled across it seemingly at random. Well this is your lucky day. This is the book, THAT book. It's the one you've been waiting for, the one you didn't even know that you had to read. Except you did know, because you're here now. Be intrigued.

    Flawlessly crafted, wildly engaging, endlessly fascinating, Discipline transcends fiction and, when read with an open mind, is the story of everyone's life if only we could all let go of our preconceived notions about the state of being. The underlying message may be subtle, but it's there if you allow it to be, bringing truth and clarity and ultimate freedom along with it. Paco Ahlgren weaves a high stakes tale of amazing adventure, electrifying philosophy and gut-wrenching human experience, connecting the previously unconnected with such skill that you are left with chills and a feeling that there not only may be, but MUST be, more than meets the eye after all.

    Discipline will stay with you long after you finish reading it. Let it. Sit with it, take a deep breath, let go and see where it takes you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    This book changed my life forever

    It took me a little while to collect my thoughts before writing this review.

    I am 34 years old and one of the most skeptical people you will ever meet. Despite a great deal of professional and personal success, I have never found anything approaching spirituality. None of it ever touched me in the slightest and I sought long and hard for *anything* that did. I am a sane, staid individual and I dare say by any measure most would call me intelligent.

    I am an investor by trade and stumbled upon the author's blog a few months ago. At first, his claims seemed outrageous to me. I won't touch on their specifics here so as to avoid revealing any of the book's plot. Despite Ahlgren's seemingly radical predictions, I found myself unable to dismiss them. They made too much basic sense. Intrigued if still quite skeptical, I ordered this book.

    It languished on my desk for about a month. Then one day for reasons I can not explain, I awoke positively compelled to read it. What followed was nothing less than a personally transformational experience.

    I know and understand that what Ahlgren has written has a firm basis in reality. I know this to a degree I have never known anything in my life. The synergy of philosophy and science combined with the staggering accuracy of the author's predictions galvanized my mind in an electrifying way. I felt the warmth and light of pure truth and unblinking belief, something I had long ago given up hope of ever experiencing. I *get* it now. I understand how little I understand. My defeated arrogance has been replaced with an illuminating humility.

    If I read this review I would probably dismiss it as the ramblings of a lunatic. I can only ask you to read the book. If you have ever been bereft of hope, if you have felt like you were doomed to live a life without any meaning, if you have investigated and been disappointed in the tenets underlying traditional religious faith, please read 'Discipline.' It has changed my life forever, and who knows? It might just change yours too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Brilliant!

    This is one of those reads that you will absolutely devour! An original masterpiece! Not for the faint- of-heart. This book will not be easily forgotten. Paco...Please write another book very soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2007

    Discipline is absolutely captivating!!!

    Discipline is the most captivating book I¿ve read in a long time. Although many of the central subjects in Discipline are of particular interest to me, what really hooked me the most were the main characters Douglas, Jack, and Jefferson. I absolutely fell in love with them. They were ordinary people with no hard and fast lines drawn between their darkness and their light. They were so accessible and oftentimes hilarious. The choices these ordinary men made in the face of extraordinary truths and forces were what made the story totally exciting for me. The theme of science meeting spirituality is really popular these days, but I feel like Ahlgren is the only one who has really allowed actual human beings in this world full of tragedy, miracles, and everything in between to experience the complexity and mystery of our universe(s) without some divine external intervention but with their own minds, hearts and emotions. The spirituality that emerged in these characters was from them simply and courageously opening themselves (sometimes with so much struggle) to what is truly before them: a reality that is exceedingly complex, graceful, impersonal in its lightness and darkness, and alive with infinite potential. Their humanity is never lost or transcended, but expanded. And to engage life with heart never stops being a choice for them. I think what Ahlgren has done with these characters is so important right now. My only criticism of Discipline is that I really wished the female characters were more developed. I¿m really curious to know how Ahlgren would portray a woman being met with such extraordinary forces and choices. Perhaps he¿ll develop some female characters for his sequel. I can¿t wait for the sequel regardless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2007

    Just Treat Yourself (or someone else) to this Book!

    Certain works are written, I believe, to begin to prepare society for change. They are written to continue to expand the state of the integrated web of human consciousness. In my opinion, Paco Ahlgren¿s book, `Discipline¿ is one of those books. As a society, I feel, we find ourselves in a very unique space and time. Scientific discoveries and technology are moving so quickly values and beliefs being reexamined information overload and I will only mention the condition of the political landscape. I have noticed so many people are living with a nagging level of generalized fear. Others, able to sense something beyond the fear, can see possibilities and continue to explore. Mr. Ahlgren has that passion and vision. I inhaled this book. It is at times gritty and dark, but then it takes the reader far beyond that base level to vast possibilities. Thankfully, passion drives vision and accomplishment. I know after reading Mr. Ahlgren¿s `Discipline¿ he has the ability to take a variety of subjects and weave them expertly into a story you just can¿t put down. I¿m ready for his next adventure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2008

    Chess Anyone?

    Paco Ahlgrens DISCIPLINE is a success! Just look at the reviews! Chess players, fictional readers, financial professionals,and just about anyone! So how about it people?' If you caught a glimpse of your own death, would the knowledge change the way you live the rest of your life? Get the Discpline today, read it, then really think about your answer! You might be glad you did! No chess game will ever be the same! Look out 2012!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2008

    A 'Must Read' for all!

    A very impressive debut from a first time novelist. Don't let the description of 'religion, philosophy, psychological theories, or quantum physics' scare you away. This suspensful thriller will leave you wanting more. And from what I read on Mr. Ahlgren's blog, we'll be getting that soon too! I am always in favor of supporting new authors, and this is one everyone can get behind!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2007

    outstanding!

    Discipline is, without a doubt, the best book I have ever read. I finished it in two evenings then turned back and read it again. Page-turner is an understatement. However the complex nature of the book will force you to slow down or just read it again. This book will change the way you see the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2007

    Discipline. . .

    To call it a work of science fiction barely scratches the surface because it is oh so much more. A psychological and visionary thriller? Indeed! Yet in all actuality, something altogether different. Discipline is an incredible epic of political, psychological, and metaphysical proportions and significance. It is an exploration into the incomprehensible and limitless realms of the human mind, as well as the universe and the frontiers of science with all of their untapped potential, possibility and power. Prolifically written in an eloquent yet effortlessly uncomplicated style. A story about the tragedy and madness that surrounds the life of Douglas Cole as he is hunted. The delicate balance of the mind and its alarming potential to shatter altogether, contaminate and destructively take hold of one¿s life at the expense of all that one sees and experiences in a lifetime. And the ability of the human spirit to rise up out of the ashes, tap into one¿s divine potential and become something greater. Ultimately the story about the struggle of Douglas Cole to control the power of his own mind in all of its psychoses, as well as all of its brilliant glory and capability. Out of the depths of hell and darkness Douglas chooses to prevail, and his resurrection catapults his life into another direction entirely, literally another sphere, filled with the shocking upheavals of pure evil, revolt, and political and socio-economic revolution in a world that touches the existential and mystic yet seems so possibly real that it powerfully and defiantly grabs hold of you and shakes you! I am a believer. An amazing and truly significant piece of literature written by quite the curiosity of a mind. . . Paco Ahlgren a true and rare talent. A revolutionary mind of this time. Discipline. In a league all of its own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2007

    Experience is Everything

    Let me make this short and sweet: If you haven't already added this to your wishlist or your shopping cart- DO IT NOW. When I first heard about this book, I tried buying it at a couple different stores but everywhere I went, it was sold out...which of course only drove my curiosity even more. When I finally got a copy in my hands, I couldn't put it down.... Overall, I found it to be a well-written fantastic read from the get go. I never would have thought I would find chess or quantum physics remotely fascinating, but Mr. Ahlgren has certainly peaked my interest. His sense of humor and writing style are refreshing as is his capability to explain concepts which I had clearly never understood before. I hear he is currently working on his next book and I can't wait to read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2007

    One of the best books I have ever read!!

    The book was amazing. It posed so many mind expanding questions and perspectives and at the same time it was so purely entertaining. The characters were incredibly embraceable and lovable and I am missing them already! Paco Alghren has written something special...something with such incredible insight that you just might find your perceptions of reality forever changed! Even more amazing, is that he accomplished this in plain English, taking abstract, complex and intellectual topics and making them reachable...attainable. Kudos to the author for never getting snobby about his obvious intellectual prowess. This book demonstrates a desire to enlighten, not to impress (though he does that anyway)!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2008

    A Timely Coincidence

    From the opening chapter until its ending, this novel not only inverts human-defined concepts of time and space, but also condemns society's self-inflicted parameters on human imagination. This is to say that this novel juxtaposes human identity in a supposed limitless universe with the undeniably salient forces of good and evil. More than a psychological thriller, beyond the scope of science-fiction, and outside the boundaries of traditional Realism, this novel cannot be classified into one particular literary genre. In fact, it might very well be the birth of something entirely new. If you like suspense, if you like the thrill of being intellectually challenged, if you appreciate explorations of supernatural potential in human beings, or even if you simply enjoy back-breaking Realism (that's easy to relate to), then this book is for you. All the elements are here. Pay careful attention to dates throughout the novel, as well as Chapter headings. This book is not without subtlety, but is, without question, a workhorse for redefining the linear concepts of past and future. There is great hope embedded in the statement, 'There are no coincidences.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    Experience is Everything

    I picked up this book with great expectations and wasn't disappointed in the least. This is a fabulous novel that intertwines economics, time travel, quantum physics, just to name a few. This is also a great read to learn more about each of us as human beings and the perception of reality in the world around us. This is a must read for anyone that wants to experience what is important to each and every one of us in today's world - or in the past or future for that matter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    Fast, dark, REAL...

    Wow¿reading this book was like being struck by lightning! Similar to those who suddenly have enhanced psychic abilities, 'Discipline' served as a conduit to a heightened new awareness¿it provoked me to question my whole perception of reality, not an easy feat! As one who tends to gravitate towards non-fiction, I was pleasantly surprised to get completely sucked in and swept up in Douglas Cole¿s world. And what an extreme world it is¿yikes! It makes you wonder if any of this tale is semi-autobiographical. If so, it makes the story all the more frightening on so many levels. Before reading this book, I must say I was a little wary of the heady topics described on the jacket. I thought, how on earth is this guy going to weave all these random themes into a plausible correlation, but he does just that. Ahlgren masterfully and subtly threads these ¿disciplines¿ together and presents them in a very accessible and palatable manner. Like many other readers have said, the trip from the first chapter to the last was most definitely NOT the end, as I LOOPED right back to the beginning again. I¿m now re-reading the entire book to be certain I don¿t miss anything! Bravo for a completely engrossing first novel¿I look forward to the sequel and hopefully, an audio version as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2007

    A work of art that you will want to read over and over

    'Discipline' is truly a worthwhile read, one of those rare works that will stay with you long after you've put it down. Good writing is an art form, and too many authors get caught up in writing to please the masses and end up failing to get their point across. Ahlgren writes for himself, and it shows. 'Discipline' is a great work of art that deserves to be read over and over. The author has successfully taken on topics that we've all been fascinated with at one point or another. More importantly, he has shown that there is colossal connection between science, politics, economics and spirituality and that they are not mutually exclusive of one another. It's STIMULATING! It is one of those very rare works that begs for a second and third reading. My first reading was an adrenaline rush. I couldn't put it down. My second reading proved to be much more revealing than my first. . .you'll understand what I mean when you read it for yourself. 'Discipline' is the perfect book for discussion groups, it is sure to spark some passionate and interesting dialog. I look forward to reading Mr. Ahlgren's next work of art!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2008

    HARD TO PUT DOWN!

    This killer plot unleashes powerful characters who draw on ancient strengths and practices to ready themselves for their undeniable task. Ahlgren's skill in storytelling propelled me through several days of reading: A book I could not put down! Discipline is a real masterpiece!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2008

    A reviewer

    Paco Ahlgren¿s new novel Discipline is a fast-paced, intellectual thriller that keeps you on the edge of you seat until the very end. Beginning with the first page, Mr. Ahlgren creates characters and a plot line which make putting down the book nearly impossible. This compelling and sometimes downright terrifying novel asks the question: if you found out how you die, would you change the way you live? Through mind-altering drugs, dedicated friendship, quantum physics, and the great game of chess, Douglas Cole, the protagonist of Discipline, finds his place in the universe. I highly recommend this book, and I eagerly await the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2008

    Hard to believe this is a debut novel.

    Most first-time novels can be seen as obviously that, a first novel - and it is difficult for the author to hide that fact. Not so in the case of Paco Ahlgren¿s debut book, 'Discipline' ¿ Ahlgren writes with the confidence of an author who has been published for many years. He is unafraid to introduce to the reader many topics that are not part of most people¿s everyday discussion¿to say the least. It is not often that somebody can combine high finance, metaphysics, personal demons, chess, politics and psychology and make it digestible, but Ahlgren does that (and more), and does it with seemingly remarkable ease. The characters are well-constructed, but without the glut of back-story found so often in debut novels, as the author is struggling to make sure you get the minutiae. The reader does get a good look back at the life story of the protagonist, Douglas Cole, but that is integral to the story line. Ahlgren trusts you to engage in the story, learning about the characters as you go, thereby freeing up the pages for more action and intrigue, of which there is plenty. Told primarily in the first person from Douglas Cole¿s point of view, 'Discipline' takes the reader on a wild ride across the metaphysical map, between continents and through cities as Cole struggles to cope with his own personal demons while, at the same time, making decisions that could impact everyone¿s economic future. The book gives its readers the opportunity to ask themselves some insightful questions, as well as to ponder some interesting ¿what-if¿s in regards to the way our world is run.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2007

    Loved it!

    Discipline was recommended to me by a friend, and as she promised, I looked forward to reading this book every single day. When I wasn't reading the book, I was thinking about the next chapter. I'd recommend it to anyone who is looking for a book that is unlike any other they've read. Can't wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3