Customer Reviews for

Disclosure

Average Rating 4
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2005

    Crichton: Wonderful Storyteller, but not his best

    I rediscovered this book recently when I went on a Michael Crichton reading kick, I needed to get my fix. I dusted off all of my MC novels and after reading through so many of them at once I decided to write a review on this work. Reading this book after reading the other Crichton novels I felt that though the inventiveness of the plot, and the well developed characters were what I would expect from Crichton, I was dissapointed with the lack of detail spent in description of the goings on of the corporate world. I felt as though Crichton, who is usually amazing in regards to specificity, did not spend enough time on the accuracy of the world in which the novel took place and as a result it didn't strike the novel home for me. The characters were very interesting though, poor Sanders! The sexual harassment situation reminded me of a book my wife just passed on to me called Manhook, by Ken Ratcliffe. It has a very dark, but very humorous view of the corporate world and is worth a read if you liked this novel. I've also been into Harlan Coben a lot lately, The Latest, is incredible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A trilling read.

    I had to read this for my English class, and it has really turned me onto his other books. The plot line keeps you guessing until the very end. With very funny characters and awesome one liners it was very entertaining to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2004

    love the technical intrege

    This book was really good. I was so surprised with this book. It was so different than the movie. Meredeth Johnson is much more coniving in the book and is much more disturbed. The book touches very much on the glass ceiling that women have in corporate life and to what ends that some women will do to get to the top. The book puts you through both sides of the issue. I was also impressed by the technical side of the issue and showed a technical business; and how it is run. The book really shows you that sexual harassment is really about power. It also shows you just how a sexual harassment claim can ruin a person's career even if you didn't do it. Just the claim alone can ruin a career and the book shows that. I liked the movie better, but the book was real good as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2004

    Gripping and well-written suspense

    Tom Sanders never thinks about the old days in Cupertino, when he lived for a time with a woman named Meredith Johnson. He's settled happily into his company's Seattle office, has married, and is busy raising a young family. At 41, he's also anticipating the reward for his years of service when his division spins off and goes public. That will certainly secure his financial future, and it just might make him rich. But first he and the company must get through a merger. That may not be easy, because the promotion Tom anticipates goes to - complete surprise - his old girlfriend. To this Tom thinks he can adjust. When Meredith Johnson starts their new relationship with broad references to their old one, and then demands sexual favors, Tom finds out that adjusting won't be possible. What he doesn't know is Meredith's real reason for doing this. If he doesn't discover her hidden agenda in time, the life he treasures now and the future he dreams of for his family will both disappear. And that's if he's lucky. What happens if he isn't lucky? He loses it all. His wife and kids, too. Like Crichton's other books, this one is gripping and well written. However, his stated intention - to show the reader certain truths about sexual harassment by writing the tale in 'role reversal' mode - didn't work for me. Despite meticulous research and a good outward understanding of his subject matter, Crichton's inability to write female characters trips him up this time. The only woman he really 'gets right,' attorney Fernandez, he ruins in the postscript by putting views into her mouth that are at odds (wildly) with her characterization throughout the chapters in which she appears. I agree completely with his pounded in point that women and men are all, in the end, simply people. Individuals, who should no more be stereotyped and expected to behave in certain ways than should Blacks, Hispanics, etc. The trouble is, he works so hard at reversing the stereotypes that he winds up leaving me curiously convinced that in his heart of hearts he still believes in them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2004

    So far, it's intriguing

    I just started reading this book, and I'm at about chapter 6 or around there. The plot is seeming like it's going to take off any time now. So for all you people who are where I am, stay with it!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2003

    One of the best books ever

    I finished this book in under a week. Although it starts out slow, by page 100 its running rampant. The plot is so fast-paced and suspensful that you literally cannot put it down. There were more nights that I stayed up reading...1AM...2AM..3AM...I could not put this book down! The key to this story is that it forces you to choose sides and it has more plot twists than anything else. This was a superb read, possibly his best ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2003

    I loved it!

    I think it was great how he wrote this book to at 't'. The techinical writing is absolutely flawless. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2003

    I just love suspense books w/ crazy women!!!

    The book is so great!! The movie is even better!! I just love the way the movie relates to the book!! I had a great time reading it and the woman was really crazy!! How could she try to ruin the man's life?!? But anyway I loved the book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2003

    Awesome corporate thriller

    A must read for everyone in COrporate america.... potraits how the top management plays games behind employees' backs.. also about how 'Law is not to provide justice but only to settle a dispute' as is mentioned in the book. wud strongly recommend..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2001

    Amoral Office Politics Taken to a Worldly Extreme

    Let me make it clear that I am reviewing the abridged audio cassette version of Disclosure as performed by John Lithgow. This novel is seriously flawed by concocting two of the most amoral and unscrupulous corporate characters imaginable to the most paranoid author. Machiavelli would not have found these people credible either. These characters are way 'over the top' for me. They would not have lasted in any company that I have ever run into. I graded the book down two stars for this extreme weakness. If you believe that there are people willing to cut every possible corner operating at the top of major American corporations, you will probably find this to be a five star book. If you think that people who run companies are pretty much like everyone else in terms of how intrigued they are by power and money, then you will have difficulties accepting the premises of this book. The basic story line is very intriguing, building on a role reversal of the typical sexual harrassment charges. A male executive, Tom Sanders, is accused of sexually harrassing his new female boss, and former lover. He, in turn, accuses her of sexually harrassing him. The incident itself turns out to be simply one scene of a five act play involving larger corporate issues. In the process, you will learn a great deal about how sexual harrassment law has become an area where the accused and the victims both have little to gain. Also, you will see how false charges can be used as powerful leverage inside a company or other workplace. The book also contains interesting tidbits of information about the history of sexual harrassment and what the law describes it as. As a reader, I urge you to be patient with the sexual harrassment scene. It is overtly phony . . . but that has a literary purpose. I can say no more without affecting your enjoyment of the novel. John Lithgow does a tremendous job with his reading of this abridgement. One of my favorites amongst his stylings is a loud sniff that precedes every sentence uttered by the pompous corporate general counsel. I could hardly keep from laughing aloud whenever Mr. Lithgow did this. He has a very versatile voice and ability to handle many accents well, and thus moves easily among the different sexes, ages, and ethnic backgrounds of the characters. The audio cassettes are also very well produced, and are helped by the addition of some music to heighten the tension. If you find you don't like the beginning of the book, stick with it. I thought that the second half of the novel was unusually well plotted and developed. There is a virtual reality section that will amuse almost any reader. There is a mystery inside the sexual harrassment issue for Tom Sanders to solve. For mystery fans, you will find this mystery pretty simple to unravel. So don't buy the book expecting the return of Sherlock Holmes. You will probably have the mystery's conclusion figured out within the first 25 percent of the book. The unraveling of the mystery is done very well though, so it's fun just to listen to how Dr. Crichton manages it. After you finish reading this book, I suggest you be sure that everyone in your workplace knows what your polici

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2001

    Nice change from sci-fi for Crichton regulars!

    Pretty nice book. And pretty nice plot. And also found it a refreshing change from his usual sci-fi! True, it involves quite a bit of law and corporate pages (that made me cut a star from the rating) but the drama of the tug-of-war between one man and a whole company is pretty exciting. And for a change, the male is at the receiving end in a women's lib era. Read it in one sitting...sure deprived me of the whole night's sleep, but was worth it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2001

    Overall, Good Book

    I just finished this book today, and I must say that it kept me on my toes. It had many suspenseful moments that kept the pages turning. The only downside to this book would have to be the ending in which I thought there should have been more Meredith-degrading at the end. I was really looking forward to hearing the exec's reactions to Meredith's actions - oh well, I'm over it - I recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2000

    Reverse Sexual Harrassment

    A man expecting to be promoted to VP of his company, is surprised when his former subordinate and ex-mistress gets tabbed for the VP post. A power struggle takes place, and the new female VP tries to nail her former boss and current employee for sexual harrassment when he rebuffs her advances. Fast-paced with a couple of good plot twists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2000

    Must Read This

    I thought this book was a very mature read. I know that Mr. Chriton wrote this and it is a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4