Customer Reviews for

Disconnection

Average Rating 3
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A powerful who-done-it

Residents of the Big Easy are not living up to the city¿s nickname as fear has gripped New Orleans. A serial killer has been mutilating young females before dumping the corpse into the nearby Mississippi River. Because the victims are tattooed with weird diagrams, New...
Residents of the Big Easy are not living up to the city¿s nickname as fear has gripped New Orleans. A serial killer has been mutilating young females before dumping the corpse into the nearby Mississippi River. Because the victims are tattooed with weird diagrams, New Orleans Homicide Detective Lewis Kline concludes that the killer is performing some form of a ritual slaying. As his hemorrhoid flared up, he knows that in a city like New Orleans there is virtually no clue as the occult shines big time here................. Following a nightmare, Sela Warren goes to the Black Kitchen on Bourbon Street with her friend Mandy who deserted her, but left her cell phone behind when it rings. Thinking it is Mandy, Sela feels compelled to answer the ringing phone, but quickly regrets that she did. The caller says she is Chloe Applegate, the serial killer¿s last victim. Sela is shocked with the impossibility of apparently either hearing from the dead or more likely a cruel trick, but will soon realize how deep the insanity can go when evil comes calling for her...................... DISCONNECTIONS is a strong thriller that moves on two levels, that of a police procedural struggling to stop a serial killer from murdering again and that of a paranormal connection between Sela and the malevolence coming for her. Readers will be hooked from the moment Sela picks up the phone and keep reading to learn whether the supernatural in terms of the devil or a devilish killer are behind the homicides and the assault on the heroine¿s senses. Erin Samiloglu writes a powerful who-done-it that is part wonder suspense and part supernatural thriller................. Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

2

Good story, but Erin should let up on the inappropriate political remarks. Remember half of America is republican. Not a good way to win over fans. I had to skip over the political remarks (which had nothing to do with the story) to keep interested. I am republican ...
Good story, but Erin should let up on the inappropriate political remarks. Remember half of America is republican. Not a good way to win over fans. I had to skip over the political remarks (which had nothing to do with the story) to keep interested. I am republican and was insulted by some of the remarks and false information regarding republicans. Politics and paranormal just don't mix well. Ha!
Besides this authors apparent dislike of republicans, it was a good story. Maybe the next book I purchase from this author will be more open minded? Hope so.

posted by deborah56 on March 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    2

    Good story, but Erin should let up on the inappropriate political remarks. Remember half of America is republican. Not a good way to win over fans. I had to skip over the political remarks (which had nothing to do with the story) to keep interested. I am republican and was insulted by some of the remarks and false information regarding republicans. Politics and paranormal just don't mix well. Ha!
    Besides this authors apparent dislike of republicans, it was a good story. Maybe the next book I purchase from this author will be more open minded? Hope so.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    !

    Harriet klausner strikes again with her cliff note book report, telling every detail of the booj. This pister needs to be banned. She is an egomaniacal demon.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A powerful who-done-it

    Residents of the Big Easy are not living up to the city¿s nickname as fear has gripped New Orleans. A serial killer has been mutilating young females before dumping the corpse into the nearby Mississippi River. Because the victims are tattooed with weird diagrams, New Orleans Homicide Detective Lewis Kline concludes that the killer is performing some form of a ritual slaying. As his hemorrhoid flared up, he knows that in a city like New Orleans there is virtually no clue as the occult shines big time here................. Following a nightmare, Sela Warren goes to the Black Kitchen on Bourbon Street with her friend Mandy who deserted her, but left her cell phone behind when it rings. Thinking it is Mandy, Sela feels compelled to answer the ringing phone, but quickly regrets that she did. The caller says she is Chloe Applegate, the serial killer¿s last victim. Sela is shocked with the impossibility of apparently either hearing from the dead or more likely a cruel trick, but will soon realize how deep the insanity can go when evil comes calling for her...................... DISCONNECTIONS is a strong thriller that moves on two levels, that of a police procedural struggling to stop a serial killer from murdering again and that of a paranormal connection between Sela and the malevolence coming for her. Readers will be hooked from the moment Sela picks up the phone and keep reading to learn whether the supernatural in terms of the devil or a devilish killer are behind the homicides and the assault on the heroine¿s senses. Erin Samiloglu writes a powerful who-done-it that is part wonder suspense and part supernatural thriller................. Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Do not read

    I could not get past the author's political views, and obvious didain for Southerners in general. We are not all redneck racists. I am appalled that this author let what would have possibly been a good, even great, book be derailed by political garbage!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Very good

    This book keep me at the end of my seat at times. I enjoyed reading this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Not at ALL what I expected!

    It was a good read for a short story, but, it was a little creepy. The book was very detailed and the twist on it wasn't expected.



    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    gross

    I tried my best to finish this book to get to the end to see what happens and how everything comes together. But it just was too disgusting for me.
    I had a hard time staying focused on this book and following it. It was a little all over.
    And quite frankly there is only so much you can read about hemorrhoids before you wanna throw up. If you read this book you will know what I am talking about.
    If you like gross, disgusting, and creepy thriller this is the book for you.
    I only am giving it a star because I have to

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    ?

    Was not impressed. I skipped a lot of dialogue. I don't know why we had to know about the detectives issues with his rear.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Slightly confused

    I beleive this book may have started out as a murder mystery in the authors mind and then switched to a supernatural thriller somewhere down the road. Rule of thumb... stay with your first instincts but it was a good effort

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Anonymous

    Good read...enjoyed the plot.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    This was very good read. I enjoyed it.

    This was very good read. I enjoyed it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    This book is a good read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    All I have to say is...

    WOW! Did not expect a short story to be this good. Kept me entertained the whole time. Political "slams"... who cares, get over it. Too much information on Kline's "discomfort"... once again, get over it. And holy cow... why read the book if one person tells the whole fricken story with just the "review"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    I loved it!

    It had all of the elements of Stephen King early books: great plot. suspense and the unknown. I highly recommend this book! Oh by the way, it really did not slam the repulicans that bad and hell it is only a book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Loved this!!

    I thought this book was great!!! I love these kinds of books!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    I loved this book

    This book is a good thrill and has a perfect plot. You'd be surprise at what will happen in this book. (It has strong language also)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Ok but got lost

    This book starte off interesting but i got loss towards the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Suspense

    This book started out really good and kept me interested but right at the end it got weird. Many typos. Its an ok read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Good

    Kept me interested

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Really weird!!!

    Suspenseful yet really weird!!!

    Contains quite a lot of transcribing errors.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2