Customer Reviews for

Discord's Apple

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

wild super Rocky Mountains fantasy

With her dad Frank dying, Evie Walker leaves Los Angeles for his home In Hopes Font, Colorado, to take care of her father. She moves in with him, but is stunned by the attitude of the visitors who ignore her and barely greet her dad. They insolently enter the basement...
With her dad Frank dying, Evie Walker leaves Los Angeles for his home In Hopes Font, Colorado, to take care of her father. She moves in with him, but is stunned by the attitude of the visitors who ignore her and barely greet her dad. They insolently enter the basement and leave with hardly a farewell salutation toting out strange junk. A comic book writer, Evie reflects on how the strangers are stranger than her characters.

In Troy, with the help of Odysseus, Sinon the "Liar" gets in the walled city. He persuades the doubting Trojans that Greeks gave up their siege and left behind a large wooden horse. His ruse enables the Greeks to win the war, but also angers Apollo with the dishonorable deception. He ignores Odysseus holding the Liar culpable. A furious Apollo kidnaps Sinon, forcing the Liar to become his cupbearer.

In Colorado, with the death of her dad, Evie takes over shielding the basement from those who have no business there. Hera orders Evie to give her the golden apple that causes discord and actually began the Trojan War though some say that the affront by Helen's stepfather to Aphrodite is where it began. Evie fears what the Goddess will do with Discord's Apple; her prime ally in refusing Hera is a stranger Alex, who conceals his agenda from the mortal he is falling in love with.

This is a wild super Rocky Mountains fantasy as Carrie Vaughn departs from her DJ werewolf novels to tell an intriguing epic adventure that includes a hodgepodge from Camelot, Greek mythology and even someone who claims to have known Jesus in his heyday. The cast is strong including the basement storage facility and the fascinating artifacts as Evie and readers learn that the victors write the mythos of history.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Interesting read.

First, I must give a shout-out to Dana from Reading Amidst the Chaos for sending me this book; she knew how much I was looking forward to reading it and kindly offered me her copy. Thank you Dana!!!

I am a huge fan of Ms. Vaughn's Kitty Norville series. I knew, howev...
First, I must give a shout-out to Dana from Reading Amidst the Chaos for sending me this book; she knew how much I was looking forward to reading it and kindly offered me her copy. Thank you Dana!!!

I am a huge fan of Ms. Vaughn's Kitty Norville series. I knew, however, that Discord's Apple was going to be nothing like her Kitty series, and that's important to know before diving in. Knowing that didn't stop me from being confused at the beginning though...I eventually did find my groove and enjoyed the book. I had no idea it involved Greek mythology or that it was dystopian; I'm not sure why but I wrongly thought it was going to be a ghost story.

There are actually 4 stories taking place:

Evie, the main protagonist, who has come home to care for her ailing father. She's a comic book writer; she writes a military-themed comic called Eagle Eye Commandos that has a female heroine, Tracker, who embodies what Evie wants to be. As her father is dying, the pull of the basement becomes stronger in Evie. When a woman comes to her and asks Evie if she has something in the basement for her, Evie knows the answer is no. She does not know it is the goddess Hera, who has been searching for the apple of discord, and Hera does not intend to let it go.

Tracker's story runs through the book as well. There has been some sort of political upheaval in the world (Evie's mother was killed during this time) and Evie's comic is related to current events. Things like checkpoints and town militias are in full effect but as the reader we don't know exactly what happened. As political machinations happen in her world, Evie must change the comic to reflect what's going on in the world and, more subtly, changes in Evie's life.

Alex/Sinon is an immortal mortal (he can't die but he is human, not magic). He's come to the storeroom to see if he can find something to kill himself with. He ends up staying to watch over Evie and protect her from Hera, who has come to claim Discord's Apple. His story of Troy and the events to follow was interesting.

The fourth storyline is the story of the basement itself. Starting with present day, we get brief glimpses of her ancestors who watched over the storeroom until finally we are gifted with the identity of the original guardian.

At first I was a bit confused by the different storylines and the mythology, but as I continued to read I became more and more curious to find out what happened next. Evie ends up with some impressive allies in her fight to keep the apple away from Hera. I enjoyed Evie's story, Alex/Sinon's story, and the basement's story. I kind of felt like Tracker's story was filler. Also, Evie's illustrator, Bruce, appeared a few times and he felt out of place - especially when he abrubtly exited the story; he also felt like superfluous filling.

All in all I liked Discord's Apple. It was short and I didn't get answers to all the questions I was hoping to have answered, but the ending was satisfying and left me with a smile.

posted by BookAddictPatti on March 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    Interesting read.

    First, I must give a shout-out to Dana from Reading Amidst the Chaos for sending me this book; she knew how much I was looking forward to reading it and kindly offered me her copy. Thank you Dana!!!

    I am a huge fan of Ms. Vaughn's Kitty Norville series. I knew, however, that Discord's Apple was going to be nothing like her Kitty series, and that's important to know before diving in. Knowing that didn't stop me from being confused at the beginning though...I eventually did find my groove and enjoyed the book. I had no idea it involved Greek mythology or that it was dystopian; I'm not sure why but I wrongly thought it was going to be a ghost story.

    There are actually 4 stories taking place:

    Evie, the main protagonist, who has come home to care for her ailing father. She's a comic book writer; she writes a military-themed comic called Eagle Eye Commandos that has a female heroine, Tracker, who embodies what Evie wants to be. As her father is dying, the pull of the basement becomes stronger in Evie. When a woman comes to her and asks Evie if she has something in the basement for her, Evie knows the answer is no. She does not know it is the goddess Hera, who has been searching for the apple of discord, and Hera does not intend to let it go.

    Tracker's story runs through the book as well. There has been some sort of political upheaval in the world (Evie's mother was killed during this time) and Evie's comic is related to current events. Things like checkpoints and town militias are in full effect but as the reader we don't know exactly what happened. As political machinations happen in her world, Evie must change the comic to reflect what's going on in the world and, more subtly, changes in Evie's life.

    Alex/Sinon is an immortal mortal (he can't die but he is human, not magic). He's come to the storeroom to see if he can find something to kill himself with. He ends up staying to watch over Evie and protect her from Hera, who has come to claim Discord's Apple. His story of Troy and the events to follow was interesting.

    The fourth storyline is the story of the basement itself. Starting with present day, we get brief glimpses of her ancestors who watched over the storeroom until finally we are gifted with the identity of the original guardian.

    At first I was a bit confused by the different storylines and the mythology, but as I continued to read I became more and more curious to find out what happened next. Evie ends up with some impressive allies in her fight to keep the apple away from Hera. I enjoyed Evie's story, Alex/Sinon's story, and the basement's story. I kind of felt like Tracker's story was filler. Also, Evie's illustrator, Bruce, appeared a few times and he felt out of place - especially when he abrubtly exited the story; he also felt like superfluous filling.

    All in all I liked Discord's Apple. It was short and I didn't get answers to all the questions I was hoping to have answered, but the ending was satisfying and left me with a smile.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    wild super Rocky Mountains fantasy

    With her dad Frank dying, Evie Walker leaves Los Angeles for his home In Hopes Font, Colorado, to take care of her father. She moves in with him, but is stunned by the attitude of the visitors who ignore her and barely greet her dad. They insolently enter the basement and leave with hardly a farewell salutation toting out strange junk. A comic book writer, Evie reflects on how the strangers are stranger than her characters.

    In Troy, with the help of Odysseus, Sinon the "Liar" gets in the walled city. He persuades the doubting Trojans that Greeks gave up their siege and left behind a large wooden horse. His ruse enables the Greeks to win the war, but also angers Apollo with the dishonorable deception. He ignores Odysseus holding the Liar culpable. A furious Apollo kidnaps Sinon, forcing the Liar to become his cupbearer.

    In Colorado, with the death of her dad, Evie takes over shielding the basement from those who have no business there. Hera orders Evie to give her the golden apple that causes discord and actually began the Trojan War though some say that the affront by Helen's stepfather to Aphrodite is where it began. Evie fears what the Goddess will do with Discord's Apple; her prime ally in refusing Hera is a stranger Alex, who conceals his agenda from the mortal he is falling in love with.

    This is a wild super Rocky Mountains fantasy as Carrie Vaughn departs from her DJ werewolf novels to tell an intriguing epic adventure that includes a hodgepodge from Camelot, Greek mythology and even someone who claims to have known Jesus in his heyday. The cast is strong including the basement storage facility and the fascinating artifacts as Evie and readers learn that the victors write the mythos of history.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Another Great One By Carrie Vaughn

    Carrie Vaughn expertly weaves the themes of current political events, mythology, family and romance in this engrossing tale. The only tragedy here is that the story had to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not your typical fantasy

    I am a voracious reader. In any given year, I will read, just about, every Urban Fantasy book that is released. Many of those books are what I call "Popcorn Books". Like popcorn, the books are simple, fun and quickly gone. Like popcorn, they don't stay with you for that long. Discord's Apple in definitely not a Popcorn Book. Complex characters and layered plots make this a full meal that you will think back on fondly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    WOW!

    I started reading the Kitty Norville series and hesitated to buy a book not set in that "universe". I finished this book in one weekend and it just blew me away! I didn't think the author could top Kitty, but she did!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Shivan

    A longer version of my rant earlier. I was bored.)) I am done, I am through, I am just sick of it all! I am sick of everyone using me for their fantasies. I am done, I am through, I am sick of it already! I am not anyones s*x kitten, I am scary, knock it off! Ever since the day my author created me, I knew this would happen. Fangirls/Guys like to make me do explicit things. Do I look like Slendy?(If you don't get the reference, don't ask) I am always paired up with one of the guys, especially Jeff or BEN. In all the fanfics, they make me pretend like I don't want to be [explicit], like they're- I'm not going to say! What. The. F*ck? What is wrong with America and Japan these days? I was made for horror use! Not h*rny teenagers. I hate this life, I really truly do. Well, I know one way to end this, I'll just stop killing! I'll uninstall! I am done, I am through, I am just sick of it all! BEN and Slendy are cute, go violate them, sheesh! Why am I ranting about this anyway?...Ok, I'm done.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Shiva

    "May I be the first to say, blech. I don't do romance." Shiva says, morphing into an unknown form and creating a portal to the palace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Pantherkit

    Stands and streches.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Mask

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Apocalypse, Comic Books + Greek/Roman Mythologies ... What more could you need?

    I'll warn you that this book may not have the type of ending that the average reader craves, but don't let that stop you from immersing yourself in this wonderful pre-apocalyptic tale by Carrie Vaughn. Comic book author Evie Walker goes back to her ailing father's home & learns about her family's hidden connection to the goddess, Hera, & the Trojan War. No one can quite spin a tapestry of words like Carrie Vaughn when it comes to story-telling. Within Evie's tale, we glimpse the story that Evie is writing for her next comic book series. We also see events from the perspective of the person instrumental in the successful "Trojan Horse campaign". I highly recommend this book. Just don't complain about the ending; it works!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Huh??? :(

    First, I love Carrie Vaughn's Kitty Norville series. This book however, I found torturous and couldn't get past page 81 and that was a couple of months ago. I can't wait for the next Kitty the werewolf book to come out! I'd even take the second book in the OK dragon series she wrote.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    Very different than Kitty

    I would give this a 3.5 stars if possible: It is imaginative, nice mythology mixed in, and a likeable main character. Problems: it keeps switching between characters, time period, and points of views too much for me. It seemed to be trying to hard, and not sticking enough with the main storyline and characters enough to ever really make it a comfortable read. It's this lack that makes it so different than the Kitty books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2010

    Gelati's Scoop

    I really don't think Vaughn left much out of this novel. I felt a bit overwhelmed as I have not read her work and didn't know what to expect, and by overwhelmed I mean it in a good way. The story goes all the way back to the time that gods were formed and ruled the Earth to present day. How does she carry that off you may ask, she does very well, thankfully.
    Here is what the inside jacket of the book has to say: "When Evie Walker goes home to spend time with her dying father, she discovers that his creaky old house in Hope Fort, Colorado, is not just the legacy she will inherit. Hidden behind the basement door is a secret and magical storeroom, a place where wondrous treasures from myth and legends are kept safe until they are needed again. Of course, this legacy is not without its cost: there are those who will give anything to find a way in."
    I really enjoyed the read. It had surprises galore and was fun to try to follow and figure out where she was going next with it. The plotline was fun, the subplots were many and not distractions. Carrie Vaughn brought it all together in the end in a very cohesive way. I totally enjoyed the paranormal; sci-fi theme running throughout the novel. Not to give anything away, but these were the elements she had in here novel: Homeland Security, King Arthur, Merlin, Zeus and his group of Greek gods, Russia, China, comic books, werewolves, Jesus Christ and a dirt basement. Sounds like your normal fun and frolic. I for one totally enjoy it.
    Discord's Apple has an amazing range of emotion in it. There is plenty of action and adventure, humor, fantasy, mystery, and magic for anyone's tastes. I think I forgot to put romance in there also, more than what I had anticipated, but I don't add that in a bad way. What else can you expect during an impending worldwide nuclear war? I think I may have covered all the bases, at least Carrie Vaughn did. I don't hesitate to say to put this in your Goodreads or Shelfari -to read- lists, why not both?
    What are you reading today? Check us out and become our friend on Facebook, Shelfari, and Crimespace. Go to Goodreads and become our friend there and suggest books for us to read and post on. You can also follow us on Twitter, Book Blogs, and the Gelati's Scoop Facebook Fan Page; also look for our posts on Amazon, Barnes and Nobles , Borders and the Bucks County Library System. Did you know you can shop directly on Amazon by clicking the Gelati's Store Tab on our blog? Thanks for stopping by today; we will see you tomorrow. Have a great day.
    http://www.gelatisscoop.blogspot.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4