Customer Reviews for

Discovering You

Average Rating 4.5
( 785 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(499)

4 Star

(153)

3 Star

(76)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

123 out of 131 people found this review helpful.

Good read

The reason why I read novels is to read a happily ever after at the end of the story . Entertaining, relaxing, a feel good feeling . What is the point of reading something, if it will make you feel sad and upset. If that is what I want, then I might as well w...
The reason why I read novels is to read a happily ever after at the end of the story . Entertaining, relaxing, a feel good feeling . What is the point of reading something, if it will make you feel sad and upset. If that is what I want, then I might as well watch the news. This is a very good read for a period piece novel. Itis defintely a A PAGE TURNER. Id say the storyline had a little hint of Jane Eryer and I didnt mind at all. It has a better ending. The mystery and suspense keepsgoing on and on. Most of all , I like the clean intimacy style. Nothing vulgar nor bold. a simle kiss and a touch, is very romantic enough. Id say to the author, kudos to you and keep on writing.

posted by 17473616 on December 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Frustrated! Why the missing chapters... 12!!! Too much! :(

I was caught up in the story and absorbed when suddenly the story jumped from chapter 11 to chapter 23! I stopped reading as l do not like missing so much of a book! Like missing the major part of a movie... what is the point of continuing? I am very disappointed in thi...
I was caught up in the story and absorbed when suddenly the story jumped from chapter 11 to chapter 23! I stopped reading as l do not like missing so much of a book! Like missing the major part of a movie... what is the point of continuing? I am very disappointed in this... not sure who is to blame..Nook or...? Reason for poor rating!
I was enjoying the story... just wish l could finish it... bummer!

posted by Anonymous on April 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Frustrated! Why the missing chapters... 12!!! Too much! :(

    I was caught up in the story and absorbed when suddenly the story jumped from chapter 11 to chapter 23! I stopped reading as l do not like missing so much of a book! Like missing the major part of a movie... what is the point of continuing? I am very disappointed in this... not sure who is to blame..Nook or...? Reason for poor rating!
    I was enjoying the story... just wish l could finish it... bummer!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Too many inaccuracies..

    First of all, 30k British Sterling lbs converted to today's wealth, adjusting for inflation, equals about 2.5 mil. While that would have made the Nicholas well off..it certainly would not have made him fabulously wealthy enough to give money away to retainees.
    Secondlly, anyone in service would have never crossed social lines. A valet and former employer becoming friends??? On what planet?
    Thirdly, telegrams were not invented yet. That would be the 1870's. Not 1817.
    Fourthly, young, single women did not go off to work unless it was as a governess or in service.
    Fifthly, an educated gentleman would never have stooped to becoming a merchant let alone let his single daughter work as a clerk and then ship her off to a single man's home without a chaperone.
    These are just the stuff off the top of my head. The chef calling his employer by his name??
    Jewelry stores in villages of the countryside?... Who the hell would they sell to?

    I think the author truly disrespects her readers by not researching before writing a book so inaccurate as to make it COMPLETLEY unbelievable!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Really?

    I read this book (free) and read the reviews when I was finished. I was curious how this book got so many stars until I realized how poorly the actual reviews were written.

    This book is poorly edited - even a character's name changes from Maria to Marie!

    If grammar and sentence structure are important to you at all I would skip this read. Regardless of what the other reviewers say, this is not a historical novel.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    A reason

    There is a reason this book is free. It is slow boring and predictable. The characters and plot are extremely dull and cliche. This was a drag to read. Unless you aren't bothered by low quality writing DON'T read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Thanks

    I just read reviews. Several expressed that was basically a clean read without graphic sex . I appreciate the review with that info. W e need more reviews like this. I don't care about others reading preferences, but I like knowing my time and money isn't spent discovering the book goes against my standards. THANKS AGAIN.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Please read ad comment

    Im debating ovet wether or not i want to read this book. It looks really good and i love love storys but is it appropite for a 12 year old. Please respond back.... anyone whos read it

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Help

    My book ended on pg 780 ... obviously unfinished....chapt 43 just when lucy is upset with nicholas and ben is in her room...what happens???? I saw some reviews that said its 1200 pgs... so incredibly frustrating to read a book all day but not get to read the end!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Good book but...

    I started it but after page 180 it refused to load so it was just blank pages so I deleted it and then got it again but same problem so I tried it on my tablet and same problem. ..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Missing chapters

    Chapters 11-22 are missing and no where to be found. Have tried everthing. The book may have been good, but I wouldn't know. Had to delete it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Frustrating book...

    I believe the author has writing chops somewhere. However, her talent gets in the way of itself. She needs a good editor that will tell her bluntly that it's time to cut a manuscript like this in half and nix odd metaphors and similes ( "He smelled like warm skin..." EW! "She looked at him through sooty eyelashes...")

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Anonomous

    I have not read this book yet but it does seem like a good book

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Anomous Anonomous

    Good so far i guess

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Is this okay for kids please i wish theywould put a real authours rating on here

    Is this good for kids

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2