Customer Reviews for

Discovering You

Average Rating 4.5
( 806 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(510)

4 Star

(163)

3 Star

(77)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

126 out of 135 people found this review helpful.

Good read

The reason why I read novels is to read a happily ever after at the end of the story . Entertaining, relaxing, a feel good feeling . What is the point of reading something, if it will make you feel sad and upset. If that is what I want, then I might as well w...
The reason why I read novels is to read a happily ever after at the end of the story . Entertaining, relaxing, a feel good feeling . What is the point of reading something, if it will make you feel sad and upset. If that is what I want, then I might as well watch the news. This is a very good read for a period piece novel. Itis defintely a A PAGE TURNER. Id say the storyline had a little hint of Jane Eryer and I didnt mind at all. It has a better ending. The mystery and suspense keepsgoing on and on. Most of all , I like the clean intimacy style. Nothing vulgar nor bold. a simle kiss and a touch, is very romantic enough. Id say to the author, kudos to you and keep on writing.

posted by 17473616 on December 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Frustrated! Why the missing chapters... 12!!! Too much! :(

I was caught up in the story and absorbed when suddenly the story jumped from chapter 11 to chapter 23! I stopped reading as l do not like missing so much of a book! Like missing the major part of a movie... what is the point of continuing? I am very disappointed in thi...
I was caught up in the story and absorbed when suddenly the story jumped from chapter 11 to chapter 23! I stopped reading as l do not like missing so much of a book! Like missing the major part of a movie... what is the point of continuing? I am very disappointed in this... not sure who is to blame..Nook or...? Reason for poor rating!
I was enjoying the story... just wish l could finish it... bummer!

posted by Anonymous on April 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 806 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 41
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Too many inaccuracies..

    First of all, 30k British Sterling lbs converted to today's wealth, adjusting for inflation, equals about 2.5 mil. While that would have made the Nicholas well off..it certainly would not have made him fabulously wealthy enough to give money away to retainees.
    Secondlly, anyone in service would have never crossed social lines. A valet and former employer becoming friends??? On what planet?
    Thirdly, telegrams were not invented yet. That would be the 1870's. Not 1817.
    Fourthly, young, single women did not go off to work unless it was as a governess or in service.
    Fifthly, an educated gentleman would never have stooped to becoming a merchant let alone let his single daughter work as a clerk and then ship her off to a single man's home without a chaperone.
    These are just the stuff off the top of my head. The chef calling his employer by his name??
    Jewelry stores in villages of the countryside?... Who the hell would they sell to?

    I think the author truly disrespects her readers by not researching before writing a book so inaccurate as to make it COMPLETLEY unbelievable!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Really?

    I read this book (free) and read the reviews when I was finished. I was curious how this book got so many stars until I realized how poorly the actual reviews were written.

    This book is poorly edited - even a character's name changes from Maria to Marie!

    If grammar and sentence structure are important to you at all I would skip this read. Regardless of what the other reviewers say, this is not a historical novel.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Great story BUT... Great stpry BUT...

    I loved the storyline but, the editing was disgustingly non-existent. There are hundreds of errors, including many, many missing words, misspelled words, even a change in one of the main character's names...from Marie to Maria! The author used the wrong words in some very common phrases, like "wreck havoc" instead of wreak havoc, and she wrote "upmost" instead of utmost.
    Sorry, but I would have enjoyed this book MUCH more if I weren't constantly shuddering at her errors.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    One of the best books ever!

    I loved it! It was a huge page turner didnt want to put it down! But not for really little kids has some bad words in it! But other than that it was a very very great book!!!!!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Excellent! Great read.

    Worth the 1200+ pages. Almost a Disney similar theme to it. Enjoy. PS. Clean for young readers too.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Good Read

    Good Read

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Good

    Good read

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    MUST READ!!!

    i absolutly adored this book. I was looking for a romantic book without having intense love scenes and i actually found one! Which was pretty suprising. Discovering you by itself is an amazing read! Even though it was over 1,000 pages i couldnt stop reading it was perfect :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Absolutly amazing! Loved it sooo much!!!

    This was by far one of the best books that i have read in a while and i agree that there deffinitly should be a part two a where are they now book. I loved their lov for eachother how the shadows left when their love began to build into something magnificent. I am 15 years old and i love to read especiallt mysteries with alittle romance but even teen romances now are very expicit with sex and language, but this is clean and sweet with just enought suspence and mystery that i loved it. The characters were well characterized while the animals that are intertwined into the story sybolize many things and many changes that the characters undergo throughout the story. I was a bit wary when i purchased the book that because it takes place in the early 19th century that i would find it boring but it was a nice suprise that it proved just the opposite! I cannot begin to imagine how difficult it was to write using proper english though it seems like a challenge i may persue because along with loving to read i love to write. I do hope that the fix the issue with the missing chapters though... either way i am in love with this story and hope everyone who is considering buying it reciprocates the feelings! I hope you all enjoy!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Was great until pages 489-490

    The story was great till i reached 489-490 she was in her room reading a letter and next thing shes back at the other house. All these events happened and are just randomly thrown at you leaves you confussed and fustrated as you try to sort everything out

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    It was an ok book, but as they say, the devil is in the details.

    It was an ok book, but as they say, the devil is in the details. During a dramatic scene, the woman a contradiction, being fierce one moment and a simpering distraction the next, who cannot walk on her own two feet. Call in the doctor who is now prescribing an antibiotic almost 80 years before the term was created and morphine 10 years before it was created. Those little details blew it for me

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    A reason

    There is a reason this book is free. It is slow boring and predictable. The characters and plot are extremely dull and cliche. This was a drag to read. Unless you aren't bothered by low quality writing DON'T read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2013

    I'd love to give this book a 5 star rating but perhaps it's just

    I'd love to give this book a 5 star rating but perhaps it's just the Nook version that is the problem. I finished reading Nicholas' letter from Christmas and then jumped right into Lucy not believing his kissed her. I thought maybe it was a dream sequence. I went to the nook for web version of the book and discovered pages 161 through 224 are not in my nook version. How do I correct this? Very disappointed in nook right now!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Pages

    The book appears to be 1200 pages on my nook, however when you turn the page, it skips 3 page numbers. So its actually closer to 400 pages long. This story is well worth every page!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Hi

    Very good:)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Loved it!!!

    I really loved this book, I could not put it down. I would love to read more from this author. I also like the fact it was good clean reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    I enjoyed the story, but there are way too many historical inacc

    I enjoyed the story, but there are way too many historical inaccuracies. The doctor using antibiotic cream? Give me a break.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    I loved this.  Great story with romance and intrigue - kept me o

    I loved this.  Great story with romance and intrigue - kept me on the edge of my seat.  Nice to read romance without all the trash that is so unnecessary.  Wonderful story!   Recommend to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    This is a wonderful read. It is well written, great character d

    This is a wonderful read. It is well written, great character development, and great excitment. I could not put it down. I love the intimate clean love. I was able really get into the story. I love this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Loved this book.

    This was a great read. I don't feel it was too lomg at all. Most series I have read on Nook have been 300-400 pages and will be 3 books long, so this was a great value.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 806 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 41