Customer Reviews for

Disgrace

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 19, 2010

    A peep into South Africa politics

    I enjoyed reading Disgrace and took it slow not wanting to miss a thing. Coetzee is a powerful writer who doesn't beat around the bush with long drawn out sentences. He writes with integrity and courage. The 220 pages were packed with grim truth and intelligent potency.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    David Lurie, is a middle-aged, twice-divorced Afrikaner Professo

    David Lurie, is a middle-aged, twice-divorced Afrikaner Professor of Romantic poetry at the Technical University of Cape Town, grappling with the dawn of old age. Not quite yet ready to throw in the towel, he doggedly pursues a female student, with whom he has an affair that goes bad. After she files a complaint against him with the administration, he admits guilt but opts to resign rather than publicly repent. David then goes to spend some time with his daughter, Lucy, on her farm. But just as he is settling in and putting his life back together, he and Lucy are savagely attacked by three African youths.

    In this Booker Prize-winning classic, Nobel Literature Laureate Coetzee takes us on David's odyssey of self-realization, a journey he seemed to feel too old and a little too all-knowing, to take. As the world around him collapses, and a new post-Apartheid South Africa emerges, he realizes that the survival tools he has all along kitted himself with have now become obsolete and he has only one choice: to adapt or lose what he values most - his daughter.

    Voted in 2006 as "the greatest novel of the last 25 years", Disgrace is not a book you hurriedly skim over, as each of Coetzee's words is bold, potent and very deserving of the readers' attention that it commands. His exemplary craftsmanship, partly stems from the fact that he doesn't shy away from the full exploration of the emotional core and psyche of his characters, never once allowing his concern for the exterior to eclipse his attention to the interior by hiding underneath layers upon layers of descriptive detail, as some authors do. As a result, Coetzee has achieved a piercing elegance with Disgrace; one that raises the bar very high for all future novelists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    A quick, but engaging read.

    A living legend.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2006

    I see why he won the Booker twice and now the NOBEL

    I read this book about four years ago. It stays with me ¿above all for the intense alienation the main character feels towards everything. Yes, he has sex with a number of women but that doesn¿t satisfy him. The title might have come from the fact that his wife says he¿s a disgrace because he had sex with his young student. There¿s an allusion to a dog and its nature and a man¿s inclination to be sexually promiscuous. In fact, the earlier edition had a picture of a dog on the cover. And in the book, he puts stray dogs to sleep. BEST thing about this book is that we all see what we want to see. Mr. Coetzee is a true magician.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2005

    Beauteous Brevity

    While Rushdie's 'Midnight's Children' may have won as Booker's best book of the first 25 years, I find it hard to believe that Coetzee's finest offering will not get the nod for the next twenty five years. In a fast moving, and absorbing novel, Coetzee wastes no words (a Coetzee hallmark) weaving an intricate web of complex human emotions. The underlying layers of social commentary further enhance the brilliance of this novel. With 2 Bookers and now a Nobel Prize to his name, Coetzee firmly entrenched himself in the pantheon of history's finest authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2005

    captivating

    This is an incredibly insightful story. With its and deep exploration of the relationship between father and daughter, Coetzee successfully brought out a story that is difficult to forget. The characters are rich and portray deep, though extreme emotions, rationale and impulse. Though quite understated and subtle, the writing is nevertheless rich in so meaning. There is everything to learn from this book. Coetzee's writing style is superb, the setting is ingenious and the pace of the novel is fast and absorbing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2004

    How many levels this book has

    This was an incredible book. My son who is dyslexic read it and thought it was the most amazing book he ever read. The story can be read as is and is a fine but sad story. It can also be read as an allegory for the Whites in South Africa. There is a parallel allegory with the poets Wadsworth and Byron, that the professor is teaching. There is the dog/animal symbolism. And there is many religious symbols both Christian and Muslim. You could devote an entire course to just studying this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2004

    Brilliant

    I am quite surprised that I read so many poor customer reviews of this book. This was an incredible story and deeply explored the relationships formed by father and daughter. Coetzee's writing is quite understated and subtle, but contains so much meaning in each line. I cannot understand how one could not learn something from this book. In every Coetzee novel I have read, I am speechless at the conclusion. I would recommend this book for anyone who is willing to appreciate the genius of Coetzee's subtle writing style and his integration of the setting. Disgrace is an excellent read that really makes you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2004

    A book you truly have to think about and reexamine

    The basic plot summary of this book has been amply given in other reviews. Without giving away what I believe to be the real point of the book, I urge readers to, go back, after reading, and to look at the initial descriptions of characters. If you do that, you will discover, as I did that the real subject of this book may be something that is never directly mentioned but that becomes glaringly obvious from the first pages. It is a truly amazing book, one which rewards real discussion with a good friend. In its subtlty and mastery of prose, I think it is one of the most brilliant books I have ever read. Some of the other reviewers seem to have missed this aspect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2001

    COETZEE'S INITIATION OF OPINIONS

    This book is both powerful and challenging - requiring the reader to invest their own biases and subjective attitudes towards the events and characters that Coetzee portrays so deftly. It is impossible to be indifferent towards this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2001

    One Of The Best Books I Have Ever Read

    Poignant, beautiful, deeply profound, loving and full of grace and beauty in the face of brutal reality. Excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2000

    Booker Prize winner a must read

    Disgrace affirms that South African writer J. M. Coetzee is an author of classic proportions. The sparse narrative style captures the psyche of Professor David Lurie as he not only struggles with the roots of his passion, but must deal with an as-real and changing world in which he may no longer have any place. Prof. Lurie believes the very nature of passion and desire are defense enough when his affair with a student is discovered. Banished from the world of acedamia, Lurie ventures in to the post-apartheid world of South Africa only to discover he is as inadequate in life as he is in love. Coetzee doesn't give anything away, and his present-tense writing lends an immediacy to his work. As in his Waiting for the Barbarians, Coetzee brings an overwhelming, and often oppressive sense and weight of history to his writing. Disgrace holds nothing back as it delves into the deepest, and often darkest, recesses of its central, and in many ways only, character. Disgrace is intense, chilling, dark and at the same time optimistic. As in all masterpieces, the reader is given the liberty (burden?) to absorb its content long after the last page is turned. Look for Coetzee's other work, including Life & Times of Michael K, another Booker Prize winner. Disgrace is published by Secker & Warburg, Random House.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1