Customer Reviews for

Dishing Up Desire

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    Dishing Up Desire had me on the edge of my seat! If you like rea

    Dishing Up Desire had me on the edge of my seat! If you like reading about a spontaneous romance, this is the book for you. The author did an amazing job with her first book! Loved it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2013

    4 Temperature Rising Stars! A successful, stubborn woman cou

    4 Temperature Rising Stars!




    A successful, stubborn woman coupled with a devastatingly handsome man telling her to change everything about her, what could possibly go wrong with that combo? ¿ Barbara DeLeo’s Dishing Up Desire was hilarious as well as emotional. And I enjoyed it from beginning to end.
    The stakes run high for Chef star, Kirin Hart when she is sued by one of her younger staff members. Her image is going down the drain and she is trying everything to just stay sane and keep her business from going under. This would be the moment that Blake Matthews saunters in to take control and tell her how to fix everything. Not only does she not listen because she is uncomfortable with everything being thrown at her, she doesn’t know if she can trust him. Blake Matthews is the sexy-as-sin PR rep trying to prove himself to the company that Kirin is under contract with. If Blake is successful in turning around Kirin’s image in two weeks, they will sell him their company and he will have acquired the largest PR Empire in the nation.
    Just as things start to come together, things begin to boil over, causing chaos and pain for all those involved. Blake and Kirin must decide what is more important to them; their careers or their love.
    I admire everything that Kirin has gone through in her life and still comes out standing, no matter how much her stubbornness got on my nerves and I just wanted her to give in to Blake. As much as Blake seems to be aloof and uncaring to what others think of him, he is vulnerable to those he cares the most about, leaving him truly insecure. Kirin pulls at this side of him in a way he never thought possible. Their relationship is always on a see-saw of epic proportions that left me unable to put the book down. 




    (I received an ARC for my review and this is my honest-to-goodness, straight from the heart review!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Kirin is a domestic doyenne in distress, after a harassment clai

    Kirin is a domestic doyenne in distress, after a harassment claim has derailed her career; she is in desperate need of the services that Blake can provide.  His PR firm is the perfect solution for Kirin’s needs, and fits Blake’s personality well.  Through much banter, a mysterious past and an obvious chemistry between the two this story is the perfect beach read. 




    The future of Blake’s company, and his success, revolves around reworking the often recalcitrant Kirin’s image, a holdover from the image designed and directed by her late husband.  Through the story we get to slowly understand Kirin and her rediscovery of herself. After starting off as a rather difficult character to empathize with, her growth and development in this short novel provide the reader with someone to cheer on. 




    Blake is an interesting character with a strongly developed sense of woman’s fashion and presentation for the best effect.  Cleverly portrayed, his awareness is just a hair’s breadth from being overly camp: a tribute to the writing that keeps him very much a man’s man with confidence to embrace his more feminine abilities.  




    As the characters battle and banter, their chemistry is very apparent, and the kitchen /bedroom antics are quite steamy and satisfying for all.  Removing Kirin’s widow’s weeds was a job that he obviously delighted in, sometimes literally.  This was such a cleverly written and presented story that it flew by, perfect for a quick read.




    I received an ARC copy from Entangled for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2013

    Dishing Up Desire is another wonderful addition to the Entangled

    Dishing Up Desire is another wonderful addition to the Entangled Publishing Indulgence line. I love these shorter novels, they really seem to fit in my summer so far and provide me with wonderful stories to get lost in for a couple of hours.

    Character Development:
    Kirin and Blake, two very interesting characters with somewhat mysterious pasts. Both have a drive in the present to make something of themselves. Kirin really just wants to get her life and career back on track. Blake has something to prove by changing public opinion of Kirin and then he will have the company of his dreams. But along the way of course there is romance. But first I enjoyed getting to know Kirin and Blake. Kirin was a little hard to like at first, but as I got to know her through the book, I really began to enjoy her and see a little bit of the everyday woman in her. Blake is flat out hot and a good man when you really dig into who he is. I liked him, liked how he falls for Kirin and like how he grows in the book. Both characters have growth and are well-developed for a short book. Also the romance is not instantaneous if that is one of the things that bothers you about a shorter book. The attraction is there, but the romance develops a little slower.

    Plot:
    The plot is built around Kirin and Blake, first in the restoration of her image and second in their romance. It's a fast read and kept me engaged through the entire book. I wanted to turn each page and see how the plot would unfold and how Kirin and Blake would develop.

    Final Thoughts:
    If you are looking for a short read to jump-start your reading and satisfy your taste for romance, then Dishing Up Desire is just the book for you. With interesting characters and a different plot, it was one of the books that has started me back on a reading binge. These Indulgence titles are just the right pace and length for these busy summer days!

    My Rating: 4.5/5.0

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    I was really pleasantly surprised by this book. I'm a fan of the

    I was really pleasantly surprised by this book. I'm a fan of the Entangled brand including the Indulgence lines. I know I'm not going to get a bad book when I read them, but this book really surprised me in a good way.

    The book starts out in the male perspective of Blake, the image consultant hell bent on purchasing an L.A. PR firm to add to his empire. He's been told his purchase hinges on whether or not he can fix a Martha Stewart type celebrity chef/homemaker's image.

    The person needing an image fix is Kirin. She's stuck in an image created by her late husband and feels that any type of change is a betrayal to him and their fans. She's tired of being guided by the men in her life and wants to handle the problem on her own.

    What I found so surprising was the inner workings of the characters. It was almost as though there was a role reversal. Kirin had the image mentality of the typical male in these novels, and Blake the female. Blake was in no way feminine but his knowledge and beliefs were more in tune with what the typical female would have. It made the book less predictable. He also seemed to acknowledge his feelings first. It was nice to not know what they were going to do next. Because of that I would totally recommend it.

    The only thing I would have liked more of was the Trent situation. He disappeared off the planet so quickly and I would have liked more info/action considering how much it was referenced.

    **I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet contemporary romance Celebrity chef Kirin Hart needs an im

    Sweet contemporary romance
    Celebrity chef Kirin Hart needs an image makeover.  Her life has been in turmoil since her husband and ½ of the cooking team died and recently she was sued for sexual harassment by a younger male employee.  Image consultant Blake Matthews takes one look at her and knows that this may be his toughest challenge to date.  Change is hard but not changing could cost them everything.
    Kirin Hart started out poor, married young and is a little naïve when it comes to the image machine of celebrity.  Blake Matthews is a former model who has been a part of the machine since his teens and has hardened his heart to protect it or the machine will suck it out of you.  I don’t think he was anymore prepared for Kirin than she was for him.  This book starts out a little slow but picks up speed and you are exhilarated by the end.  
    Copy provided by the publisher for a fair and honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    Barbara DeLeo definitely is Dishing Up Desire. The first few cha

    Barbara DeLeo definitely is Dishing Up Desire. The first few chapters started off a little slow, but as soon as Kirin and Blake really start to interact, their relate-ability in their emotional story makes Dishing Up Desire a quick but good read.    

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Well, I finished Dishing Up Desire by Barbara DeLeo. Honestly, I

    Well, I finished Dishing Up Desire by Barbara DeLeo. Honestly, I was on the fence with this story. However, once I started to see the emotions starting to build between Kirin and Blake, I was sold. 
    The first few chapters when Blake Matthews strolling and basically try to take control, I wasn't sure I was going to like the story. Then you have Kirin Hart who happens to be a tad bit naïve when it comes to her image. Once the story gets going you start to understand where Kirin is coming from you get a sense that she doesn't have a clue who she is. When Blake starts to realize this, he starts to help Kirin realize her true potential. 
    Yes, emotions start to run high when one falls in love with the other. Yet, the other wants to keep the other at arm distance. I love the connection these two create as they slowly tear down walls. Overall, I found Dishing Up Desire as an emotional charge story that can cook up some steam. So, if you are looking for a quick read with a lot of emotion, you might want to give Dishing Up Desire a try.

    Copy provided by the publisher

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    Dishing Up Desire by Barbara DeLeo had me on the edge of my seat

    Dishing Up Desire by Barbara DeLeo had me on the edge of my seat. After the first few chapters I found myself unable to put it down. I was captivated by the characters how both Kirin and Blake grew throughout the story. The book definitely kept emotions high and attention fixed. It is a great read for anyone that likes a love story with a little twist.   

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Dishing Up Desire by Barbara DeLeo is a sweet, yet slightly spic

    Dishing Up Desire by Barbara DeLeo is a sweet, yet slightly spicy romantic read. Thirty-four year old celebrity chef and domestic goddess Kirin Hart has been living a nightmare for the past year. Her integrity and wholesomeness took a huge hit when she was wrongly sued by an employee ten years her junior for sexual harassment. Her life has become a media circus and as a result, she has become hardened and difficult to deal with. She is now in debt and her public image is in the gutter. The multimillion dollar empire that she and her late husband created, "Cooking with Hart" is in danger of crumbling. Kirin needs a complete makeover; heart, body and soul.

    Former model Blake Matthews is the best Public Relations and Image Consultant in the business. Everyone and everything he touches turns to gold. Once he acquires the prestigious firm of Dent and Douglas, (D&D), his conglomerate will be complete. However, Kirin Hart is their client and her unwillingness to cooperate is causing the upstanding reputation of D&D to go down the tubes. They will not sell him the company until D&D's reputation is back on track. Blake has been given two weeks to change Kirin's image and prove to D&D that he can maintain their high quality of services.

    Due to a tragedy in Blake's childhood, it is difficult for him to form and maintain personal relationships of any kind. Thus, he doesn't have any close friends and has never been in love.

    Kirin and Blake do not hit it off at first. It is difficult for Kirin to trust anyone and Blake is no exception. However, between his good-looks, sound advice and public image knowledge, he is slowly gaining her confidence. Spending so much time together naturally causes feelings to develop and cultivate. They begin to transform each other while sharing secrets, dreams and hopes.

    If you are looking for a quick sexy read with good story development, get this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    A romantic sexy journey of self-belief If you are looking for

    A romantic sexy journey of self-belief


    If you are looking for a well-written romance with characters to love, a great storyline and some nice steamy content, look no further. This ticks all the boxes.

    I loved both Kirin and Blake. Following a harassment claim against her, Kirin’s career is free-falling. Stubborn and defensive, she craves control, but underneath the façade is a woman who sees herself as nothing short of ordinary (I loved the fact that she doesn’t have the ‘perfect’ figure) and her true character has become that little bit lost. Enter image consultant Blake; confident, cheeky, sexy and not only does he know his way around a woman’s wardrobe, he is protective, thoughtful, insightful with his own vulnerabilities. His plan? Out with the plain widow and in with the sexy single lady. But who is really getting a makeover? Mirrors do not lie…

    Their stubborn banter made me smile, their vulnerabilities tugged on the heartstrings and their bedroom/kitchen antics were hot. I swooned over Blake and loved the fact that neither he or Kirin were perfect, which made them exactly that. The only thing missing for me was an epilogue; as such wonderful characters I feel they deserved one and it would have finished their story off perfectly. Nevertheless, this doesn’t detract from a book that I would recommend and will certainly read again.

    I received this book as an ARC from the publisher for and honest and unbiased opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1