BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Disintegration

Average Rating 5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Cure for Disentigrating Music

    This was by far one of the best of the Cure's albums. It was also one of the only ones not to feature a dominating amout of pop tracks. This is one of their dark albums that are in league with Faith, Seventeen Seconds, and Pornography. There are a lot of great songs and lyrics that really appeal to anyone into dark music. My only problem is I didn't like the huge amout of synth. It made it too new-wave, which the Cure most certainly isn't. A must-have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely Beautiful

    The best gothic/darkwave album I have ever heard, nothing else needs to be heard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Classic

    While I liked the Cure, I never found them to be more than a singles band - in my opinion their albums would consist of a few great songs surrounded by filler. Disintegration is their "exception that proves the rule". Not only is it far and away the Cure's best album, it's one of the better rock albums of all time. Haunting, poppy, dreary, and all tied together beautifully. No better album to put on while sitting next to the picture window on a gloomy, rainy, fall day, watching the trees die. Robert Smith and the boys have yet to top it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Godfathers Of Goth !

    This album is perhaps the greatest alternative record ever made.It perfectly sums up the genre and is the blueprint of all that followed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Second Best Cure Record

    This album blew me away when i bought it, i reccomend it for any cure fan or someone who defenitely wants to learn more about the darker parts of alternative music, Disintegration is amazing, the songs Plainsong, Lovesong(which is my personal favorite), Pictures of You, Same Deep Water As You, and Disintegration are the best on the Cd in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    PROBABLY THE BEST ALTERNATIVE ALBUM EVER!

    Definitely the best Cure album ever. Hypnotic, beautiful, eerie, all at once. I defy you to hear the keyboard arrangements to "Plainsong" and not be mesmorized. "Pictures of You", "Fascination Street", "Untitled"... I could go on and on and on. The sheer anger/emotion of the song "Disintegration" is worth the money ALONE. BUY THIS CD. IT'S EXCELLENT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The music that became part of my soul

    I didn't discover The Cure until the late 80's, and when I did, I dove in headfirst. Robert touched me more deeply than any other artist before or since and I've never let go. I've spent hundreds of hours listening to this music -- much of it in headphones -- and still, I can hear something that I never noticed before. The layering effect so beautifully portrayed in Disintegration gives the music a depth few can hope to match. It is hard to pick a ''favorite'' Cure album, but this would have to be it. It is his masterwork. Buy it, embrace it, let it become a part of you, and as the label says, PLAY IT LOUD!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the best album to come out of the 80's

    this is one of the best albums ive ever heard. its deep in hypnotic synth strings and a voice that is as hopeless as beautiful, if you buy this album you wont be disappointed, even if you are not a fan of the cure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    brilliant

    just like all of the cure's albums, robert smith writes amazing lyrics and beautiful music. definitely one of my very favourite albums. very signature cure, and along the melodic, intense side of things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Timeless

    A mellow, enchanting, yet timeless piece of music that has not dated in the past ten years. The emotions in Plainsong, the romance in Pictures, the chilling undertones in Lullaby, through to the loneliness of Untitled; this truly is a rollercoastering masterpiece. An album that I treasured a decade ago, sorrowly missed when I lost it, and listen to endlessly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Disintegration

    This is by far the best Cure album ever. I've had this album since college. The melodies are haunting yet romantic and overlap each other with depth and complexity. These are true musicians who have stood the test of time. I've grown up loving the Cure. I hope they continue writing such beautiful music for many more years to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1