Customer Reviews for

Dismantled: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read

I loved reading this wonderful book! Jennifer McMahon did an excellent job in making you entertained for hours. Can only recommend.

posted by theReader278 on June 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

It was good but,

a little overwhelming. For the first hundred and fifty pages I really felt like she was playing with too many different ways to develop the plot. It felt like she wanted you to think it was a ghost story, but then, NO! it's a psychological thriller about guilt and stuff...
a little overwhelming. For the first hundred and fifty pages I really felt like she was playing with too many different ways to develop the plot. It felt like she wanted you to think it was a ghost story, but then, NO! it's a psychological thriller about guilt and stuff, NO! it's about going crazy.She pulled to together very well, but by that point I felt all stretched out.
Also she was very repetitive in describing her characters. This character says babycakes and this other chews on the inside of his cheek, but that was it. Every time he was nervous, it was cheek chewing. Every time she addressed someone it was babycakes. They didn't have any other ticks. Not to say that the characters were one-dimensional, but it felt overdone which made the whole experience a little weak for me.
But over I liked it. I didn't love it. It was good, not great. Worth a read from the library but I wouldn't buy it if I had it all to do over again.

posted by Pakato on July 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It was good but,

    a little overwhelming. For the first hundred and fifty pages I really felt like she was playing with too many different ways to develop the plot. It felt like she wanted you to think it was a ghost story, but then, NO! it's a psychological thriller about guilt and stuff, NO! it's about going crazy.She pulled to together very well, but by that point I felt all stretched out.
    Also she was very repetitive in describing her characters. This character says babycakes and this other chews on the inside of his cheek, but that was it. Every time he was nervous, it was cheek chewing. Every time she addressed someone it was babycakes. They didn't have any other ticks. Not to say that the characters were one-dimensional, but it felt overdone which made the whole experience a little weak for me.
    But over I liked it. I didn't love it. It was good, not great. Worth a read from the library but I wouldn't buy it if I had it all to do over again.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    Very entertaining

    Quite predictable but thoroughly entertaining and enjoyably odd.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    *sigh*

    It took me forever to read this book - maybe that's why I didn't really like it? I really don't remember much of anything about it even after reading about it on the book's page. Three stars was stretching it for me.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    6 out of 10, not great work from a great author

    Being a huge fan of Jennifer McMahon I devoured "Don't Breathe a Word" it was the first book I read by her and it haunted me for weeks after finishing it in a single evening. I realize this might have set the bar very high for "Dismantled". I wasn't 'disappointed' per se with the book but it wasn't anything really special either. It was a fun read, an enjoyable read. I like McMahon's style of writing and the boldness of her characters Suz was by far my favorite. However what I didn't like about "Dismantled" was the main characters. I felt like we as readers didn't get to know them very well, it was difficult to connect to them. There was so much emotion, tension, feeling in "Don't Breathe a Word" all of that was largely lacking from "Dismantled". If I could do it over again I would read the book, I would probably borrow it from my library however, not purchase it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2013

    Decent mystery and page turner but leaves you not totally satisf

    Decent mystery and page turner but leaves you not totally satisfied.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Her other books were so much better. I think that the story c

    Her other books were so much better. I think that the story could have developed in a shorter version

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Its was ok

    Nothing I would highly recommend. It was okay in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sort of confusing

    At first the books seems to take of smoothly and then thing (in my opinion) become muddles when flashing back between the Suz's journal and the present. but then toward the end it gets back in sync and has a smashing "I can believe it" ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2