Customer Reviews for

Dismantled: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 143 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read

I loved reading this wonderful book! Jennifer McMahon did an excellent job in making you entertained for hours. Can only recommend.

posted by theReader278 on June 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

It was good but,

a little overwhelming. For the first hundred and fifty pages I really felt like she was playing with too many different ways to develop the plot. It felt like she wanted you to think it was a ghost story, but then, NO! it's a psychological thriller about guilt and stuff...
a little overwhelming. For the first hundred and fifty pages I really felt like she was playing with too many different ways to develop the plot. It felt like she wanted you to think it was a ghost story, but then, NO! it's a psychological thriller about guilt and stuff, NO! it's about going crazy.She pulled to together very well, but by that point I felt all stretched out.
Also she was very repetitive in describing her characters. This character says babycakes and this other chews on the inside of his cheek, but that was it. Every time he was nervous, it was cheek chewing. Every time she addressed someone it was babycakes. They didn't have any other ticks. Not to say that the characters were one-dimensional, but it felt overdone which made the whole experience a little weak for me.
But over I liked it. I didn't love it. It was good, not great. Worth a read from the library but I wouldn't buy it if I had it all to do over again.

posted by Pakato on July 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!

    The originality of the story was great and the characters just made it better. If you like to be shocked you will like this book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Great suspense story!

    Loved the twists and turns this book takes. Kept me guessing up to the very end. (Also kept me up reading late into the night).

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Intriguing story but long

    The story is about a group of college students who form a contravercial group called "The Compassionate Dismantlers". Under the direction of the groups capricious leader "Suz" the members create havoc and spread social disroder believing people will be more appreciative of a thing when it's taken apart or destroyed. Things become complicated when emotions run high and members start to turn on eachother ending in the death of their leader. Although this story was intriguing I found it a bit longwinded at times and could have been shortened. I will say that it was a page turner with an interesting ending. You will definitely enjoy it and the authors writing style. I look forward to reading more work from Jennifer McMahon.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Thrilling

    An extremely talented writer. A book to keep you guessing but does not let you down. Perfect for a day when there is nothing on the agenda, as you will not want to set this one down. Her writing flows smoothand is full of emotion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    amazing read

    If you like plots with twists and turns then this is the story for you!!! absolutely entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Well Written - Freaky

    Dismantled is Pulp Fiction meets Tell-Tale Heart, a group of young people on a path of destrution that "Dismantles" everything from art to construction to people's lives. Eventually leads to the survivor's undoing, a sort of day of reckoning for all who are involved. Takes the reader on a shair raising journey with a suspenseful ending and a twist that is unforeseeable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Good book

    This book was a little hard to get into for the first few chapter. After that though I didn't want to put it down. Great ending. Just when you think you know what was going on there was a twist. Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Starte out slow but then quickly picked up the pace.Turned into

    Starte out slow but then quickly picked up the pace.Turned into a real pageturner,loved the twists at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Great Read Though Long

    This was a great read. Will keep you entertained but be prepared for the necessary long back story. I initially wasnt a fan of the back story but grew to realize it was necessary to understand the characters and what they were thinking. Definitely a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Fantastic book!

    This book literally had me guessing up until the very last page. Well written and hard to put down at times. I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    Great read

    I really enjoyed reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Rate

    Hi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    Creepy...

    But awesome! Loved the ending. Really loved the story and loved the book. Give it a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Good Read

    I liked this book. My first book with paranormal activity. It was a little creepy but that's what kept me reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    Good book

    I love Jennifer McMahon's writing style. If you like this one then definitely check out Don't Say a Word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Very good

    This was a very good read. It takes several twists and turns along the way and keeps you guessing!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Loved it!

    Really enjoyed this book, it was worth the price. Awesome twist ending! I intend to read other selections by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Creepy!

    Loved this book, it creeped me out a bit which I like. This book is fast paced and keeps you guessing on the "who done it". Worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    Highly entertaining

    I really enjoyed this ghost story! It had many great twists and turns, and was definitely not written in an amature fashion. Although not Stephen King, the author is obviously talented and it will keep you guessing until the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    Wowww

    Great book, once you get to the last 100 pages it is literally impossible to put down, im so impressed with the authors ability to develop the story and keep you guessing until the very last page!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3