Customer Reviews for

Disney after Dark (Kingdom Keepers Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 941 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(735)

4 Star

(110)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

152 out of 170 people found this review helpful.

A Fantastic book

I read this book last summer and absolutely loved it. I found it very creative and interesting and also funny. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves fantasy and adventure

posted by Twilightgirl1609 on September 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Review 1335206430165

This is a really nice book! 1335206430165

posted by 4986710 on April 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 735 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 37
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    A Fantastic book

    I read this book last summer and absolutely loved it. I found it very creative and interesting and also funny. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves fantasy and adventure

    152 out of 170 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic Read for Disney Fans of All Ages

    Kingdom Keepers: Disney After Dark is full of everything that is Disney - the rides, the atmosphere, the adventure, the imagination, and the magic. The first book in the ongoing series introduces readers to the Kingdom Keepers, five ordinary kids in Orlando, each with a talent to add to their team. The book follows Finn and the others around likely the most famous of any Disney parks, the Magic Kingdom. They face pirates, dinosaurs, witches, parents, school, and much more in their adventure to stop what the Disney Imagineers call the Overtakers.

    There's never a dull moment with this book. It is guaranteed to keep you reading all day and night as it takes you on one of the wildest rides through Disney imaginable.

    123 out of 131 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

    Five young teens living in Florida get the opportunity of a lifetime--they're each going to be turned into a DHI, or a Disney Host Interactive, to guide visitors throughout the park. The five teens--Finn, Charlene, Willa, Philby, and Maybeck--are a varied assortment of ethnicities, and all attend different schools. As Maybeck states, they're "the Orlando assortment pack." When Philby points out that DHI also stands for Daylight Hologram Imaging, the kids get a little worried that maybe the people at Disney aren't telling them everything there is to know. And that turns out to be quite an understatement. <BR/><BR/>One night when Finn falls asleep, he finds himself in the park after closing-- in his DHI, or hologram, body. He meets an old man named Wayne, one of the original Disney Imagineers, who informs Finn that he and his other four DHI friends have been chosen for a mission. A mission to save the park from the Overtakers, a group of once-benign Park characters who have taken on power and are intent on spreading their power outside of the borders of Disney World. <BR/><BR/>What at first seems like a fantastical dream soon turns to reality, when the attractions at the Park begin coming to life when the DHIs cross over into the Magic Kingdom while sleeping. They're attacked by animatronic pirates from The Pirates of the Caribbean, the dolls from It's a Small World try to capsize their boat, a dinosaur fossil from the Thunder Mountain ride comes to life and starts chasing them. And then there's Maleficent, the witch from Sleeping Beauty, who appears to be all too real--and determined to stop the kids from solving The Stonecutter's Quill, the fable that Walt Disney passed along to save the Park from the Overtakers. <BR/><BR/>THE KINGDOM KEEPERS is definitely an imaginative read, full of action, adventure, and suspense. For anyone who has ever visited the Magic Kingdom, you'll recognize the settings immediately. Even if you're not a frequent visitor of Disney World, this is one book that will bring the magic--both good and bad--to very realistic life.

    67 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Speechless

    If you're a disney lover like me you'll love this book! After reading the whole series it left me speechless and got me thinking more deeply about disney!

    62 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good

    That was great. I enjoyed every minute reading this.

    61 out of 98 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for any Disney Fan!!

    Ridley Pearson has written a fantastic book about what happens at Disney after the park closes. This is a fantastic book to read for fun or whenever you need a moment to get away from the stress of life. Disney fans will especially love this book as Pearson takes you from place to place inside the Magic Kingdom.

    38 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    WOOOOOOOOOOOOOW!!!!!!!!

    THIS BOOK WAS SO AMAZINGLY AWESOME!!!!!! I am practically dying to read the second one. I LOVE THIS SERIES!!!!!! I am a bookworm, and have read a ton of books, and this book is one of my absolute favorites. And hey, whoever said this book was boring, BACK OFF. This series rocks. :D

    36 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Hi

    I really like this book. I m twelve and i started readimg it in fourth grade! Now i m in sixth and i luv the series! I just got book five!










    25 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    great

    i love disney and i love this book

    22 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Great!

    This book is two hundred some pages. You should definetly get it. I thought it would be babyish, but its not!!! It was a great adventure, and brought back memories of disney films from when i was a kid!

    21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    geet it

    i definatley recomend getting this book. although, it is only good if you are a fan of mystery books, problem solving, and you are a fan of disney. and i am. it is awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!




    10 stars!!!!!! click yes if u agree :)

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    For Disney lovers of all ages

    We couldn't believe it when we heard there was a book about the Magic Kingdom. My daughter loves Disney and read the book right before we went on a trip to Disney World, I read it too and we spent a lot of our trip talking about chapters in the book when we were on rides that were mentioned in the book. We couldn't wait for the next book to come out. The book besides being interesting and exciting makes you feel like you get to see behind the scenes parts of Disney even though you are just reading about them.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    book of a thousand centuries

    This book is great. You will get sucked into it like it is a black hole. It should get all the awards posible to get.

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Excellent

    I love this series and cant wit for book five i just dont see how anyone cant like this book

    9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    You know...

    This is almost the same thing as kimgdom heart!KYA~!!!!!!!!!!!! Go Kingdom Hearts! Go Kingdom Keepers!

    7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    Best series ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book was awesome, but with every book, the quality goes down. If I could give 10 stars, I would.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Gummy bear

    I'm a huge disney fan, and the kingdom keepers series is my #1 favorite!!!!!!

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Awesome

    I read this book a couple weeks before going to Disney and when i got there I couldn't help but try and find everywhere the Keepers had been. This was an awesome book and it's turning into my new favorite series!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Best book ever

    This book is amazing if you like diseny and likes adventure this book is for you.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Amazing

    I am only 3%through the book & it is good already.I would totally recomened this to anybody who LOVES Disney!!!!!!!!Just like me I crave disney!!!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 735 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 37