BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Dispatcher

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An Explosive edge of your seat thriller

    Ian Hunt is a shell of the man he once was his life changed for the worse seven years ago when his daughter Maggie was kidnapped from her bedroom, she was seven years old and the fallout didn’t stop with the kidnapping. Working as a police dispatcher Ian receives a call that will once again change his life. What would you do if you got a call from your dead daughter, Ian will have to answer that question and face the consequences that go with it.
    Maggie Hunt has lived the last seven years of her life in a Nightmare World, the people who took her keep her locked away, scared and often in harms way until one day they leave the door unlocked and she escapes, makes a crucial 911 call before she is recaptured and the nightmare starts all over again. But now she has something that she hasn’t had in a long time, she has hope. Hope that her daddy will rescue her, hope that he will not rest until she is in the loving arms of the family that she was ripped away from.
    What would you do?

    Mr. Jahn gives us a thriller that’s as good as I’ve ever read, a plot of a world that no parent, in fact no one wants to get up close and personal with. His dialogue will take us into the seedier side of life and death with no holds barred, where his narrative is brutally beautiful and his scenes come alive to his readers. His characters will shine from his slightly noir-ish Ian to his sadistic villains and to the magic of Maggie and all the others as well as he clearly and succinctly lets us into their hearts and their minds. He takes us on a journey where the outcome is always just out of our reach, but reach we must.
    If you like the writing of Michael Connelly, Andrew Gross or Nelson DeMill, you will love Ryan David Jahn, if you need that edge of your seat, nail biting drama where the bloodier and guttier the better you’ll love this novel. And then just keep asking yourself, What would you do?

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Must read

    Storyline is terrific. Every parent should read this book. Holds your interest till the end.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A missing child considered forgotten, something bad that happene

    A missing child considered forgotten, something bad that happened and is now in the past, a buried memory.

    Ian Hunt is a small time cop in a sleepy police department in East Texas. His daughter Maggie was fourteen years old when she was kidnapped from their home. Ian blamed himself for not being there that night. Out of the blue, a phone call comes in from Maggie, she's alive and needs her father to come and save her, save her like he failed to do the first time around.

    I randomnly came across this book at the bookstore, got intrigued by the story and decided to give it a shot. I was hooked right away, the writing is excellent and the bad man is really bad.

    The book is compared to "No Country to Old Men", with moments of macabre violence that calls to mind the writing of Thomas Harris (author of "Silence of the Lambs"). The names Quentin Taratino and the Coen brothers are also mentioned with the style of this book. In my opinion the violence in this book is on those levels, the bad guy is believable on every level.

    I would highly recommend this book to fans of Dennis Lehane's Kenzie & Gennaro series.

    A enthralling cat & mouse game across the country between a determined father and those willing to go to any length for what they want.

    If your interested in reading this novel, do not base your opinion off the poorly written synopsis but rather the glowing reviews.

    Based off this novel, I look forward to reading Jahn's debut novel Good Neighbors: A Novel.

    How far would you be willing to go for your child?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Bravekitty4

    I loved this book! Working as a Dispatcher myself I have received calls similar to this. I have even taken a 9-1-1 call from my own child that was involved in a car accident. You never know who is goin to be on the other end. Was glad to see someone write a book about the true first respomders. Hope to read more in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Modern Day Western

    The Dis­patcher by Ryan David Jahn is a fic­tional thriller which takes the reader from ­Texas to Ari­zona. I could not put this book down, it moves fast and furi­ous.

    Dis­patcher Ian Hunt wears a uni­form but does not con­sider him­self a police man. One day Ian answers a 911 call only to real­ize he is talk­ing to his daugh­ter who has been abducted from his home seven years before.

    Going on a bul­let rid­den chase from Texas to Cal­i­for­nia, this macabre, vio­lent ride in a 1965 Mus­tang will pit a man against him­self, the dessert, the law, the abduc­tor and any­thing that comes between him and his daughter.

    I could hardly put down The Dis­patcher by Ryan David Jahn (web­site). The first chap­ter, where Ian Hunt answers a 911 call only to real­ize he is talk­ing with his daugh­ter who was kid­napped sev­eral years before was the per­fect start to this excit­ing book.

    Read­ing this book I had a clear image of a Coen Broth­ers / Quentin Taran­tino movie in mind. The char­ac­ters are gritty, well defined and for a few pages I thought I could even smell them. The scenery, con­sist­ing mainly of the desert, is per­fect and the plot is tight and moves fast.

    This is a story about a man doing every­thing pos­si­ble to save his 14-year-old daugh­ter from a weird cou­ple. Mr. Jahn man­ages to cre­ate an atmos­phere of ten­sion and unpre­dictabil­ity as sus­tain­ing that sense for the major­ity of the book.

    The plot is told from a view point of three peo­ple, Ian Hunt, his daugh­ter Mag­gie and her abduc­tor. The fury of this book and the fear which the authors man­age to cap­ture some­how jus­tify the twisted logic many of the char­ac­ters have.

    The grief that Ian feels after his daugh­ter been abducted is heart wrench­ing, we watch Ian’s life and fam­ily fall apart. We are wit­nesses to the way he destroyed his rela­tion­ship with his teenage son and Ian’s weak attempts to res­ur­rect it.

    Mag­gie, four­teen and abducted for sev­eral years, is a spunky girl who has noth­ing to lose. The character’s strength was admirable and filled with desperation.

    Henry sim­ply wants to make his wife happy – oth­er­wise he is a total scum­bag. The most fas­ci­nat­ing part of this book was giv­ing this mon­ster or a man some human qualities.

    Many books are about the rela­tion­ship chil­dren have with their moth­ers, but this one is about a father and daugh­ter. Maybe that’s why this book really hit all the right cords with me. I couldn’t imag­ine any­thing hap­pen­ing to my daugh­ter and I know I’ll go to the ends of the earth for her (despite that she has been a bit fresh lately / 7 going on 17).

    The Dis­patcher is a mod­ern day west­ern, a bat­tle between two men pro­tect­ing their families

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Really enjoyed the book.

    The book had an interesting structure and pace. The story was told from several points of view and had interesting characters. Worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1