Customer Reviews for

Dispatches

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2001

    Eye Opener

    Dispatches is one of the most realistic books I've read. While reading this book I could almost smell the damp and mildewed bunkers, feel the rumble of fire fights, and appreciate the madness within each soldier. Herr made me feel as though I spent the weekend at Khe Sahn. Vivid descriptions wouldn't let me put this book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    GREAT BOOK,I HAVE READ IT TWICE.WILL READ IT AGAIN I AM SURE

    GREAT BOOK,I HAVE READ IT TWICE.WILL READ IT AGAIN I AM SURE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2003

    IT'S BEEN ALONG TIME

    YEARS HAVE PASSED SENCE READING "DISPATCHES" BUT ITS IMPACT HAS NOT BEEN FORGOTTEN--AS ONE THAT WAS THERE, IT HIT HOME.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2002

    Undescribable

    I had to read a book for my US History Honors class in high school and I picked this one, knowing nothing about it. From the moment I started reading this book, I felt that I was there. It was was an undescribable feeling. It was awesome!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2001

    On Being a Grunt

    This book is a very intense and descriptive account of the happenings in the Vietnam War from 1967 to 1968. From time off in Saigon and Hong Kong to his time spent in a bunker during the siege of Khe Sanh, Herr covers every aspect of the war. He shows how so many soldiers were so drastically affected by the war. He describes the strange, fearful moments when at night the jungle suddenly goes silent. Herr tells tales of Marines throwing themselves on top of him with incoming fire, people he has only just met minutes or hours before that are risking their lives to protect his. As I mentioned before, this book is very descriptive and one of the best examples of this is this sentence, ¿Every fifth round was a tracer, and when Spooky was working, everything stopped while that solid stream of violent red poured down out of the black sky.¿ In this sentence Herr is retelling the feelings felt by everyone as they watched the gunships flying overhead, unleashing the fury of Gatling-style guns that could fire thousands of rounds per minute. Not only does Herr convey the impact of such a sight; he does it in such a manner that a vivid image is formed in the reader¿s mind. One of the more disturbing and insightful quotes in the book comes when a Marine at Khe Sanh learns that his wife is pregnant, but not with his child. Herr retells with this account, ¿¿Oh don¿t worry,¿ Orrin said. ¿There¿s gonna be a death in my family. Just soon¿s I git home.¿ And then he laughed. It was a terrible laugh, very quiet and intense, and it was the thing that made everyone who heard it believe Orrin.¿ This quote shows how badly some soldiers were transformed during the war. A man who used to be very peaceful and calm would now snap at the slightest provocation. He would now plan the death of his wife for cheating on him. With these examples I would definitely say that one of the strengths of this book is its vivid descriptions. The other strength of this book is probably how it covers the emotional and physical aspects of the war. I think that the worst part of the book is how it sometimes reads like a documentary, as there doesn¿t seem to be any people or characters involved at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2000

    A Poster for America's Rock-n-Roll War

    A must read for anyone interested in a view of the Vietnam War from the bunkers of Khe Sanh, the streets of Hue and the decks of the Hueys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1