Customer Reviews for

Dispatches from the Edge: A Memoir of War, Disasters, and Survival

Average Rating 4.5
( 119 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Well Done Cooper!!!

I couldn't put this book down. There was many a sleepless night trying to read this book. Anderson Cooper is a fabulous anchor and reporter from CNN and CBS and this book is just another one to add to his many accomplishments. It's well written and you feel either li...
I couldn't put this book down. There was many a sleepless night trying to read this book. Anderson Cooper is a fabulous anchor and reporter from CNN and CBS and this book is just another one to add to his many accomplishments. It's well written and you feel either like you sitting right there like he's telling you his stories or like you're experiencing them with him. It's also a nice open up to his more personal side without going too far. I feel like I know my favorite reporter better and this book makes me love him even more. Good job Anderson!!!

posted by Anonymous on January 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Waste Of Time Ghost Written Book

Anderson Cooper revealed little about Katrina, or his home life, you do not know by now unless you lived under a rock in 2005.

posted by 6295304 on February 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2008

    Well Done Cooper!!!

    I couldn't put this book down. There was many a sleepless night trying to read this book. Anderson Cooper is a fabulous anchor and reporter from CNN and CBS and this book is just another one to add to his many accomplishments. It's well written and you feel either like you sitting right there like he's telling you his stories or like you're experiencing them with him. It's also a nice open up to his more personal side without going too far. I feel like I know my favorite reporter better and this book makes me love him even more. Good job Anderson!!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2008

    Refreshing and Realistic

    I read this book in about 3 days, I litterally could not put it down. While some might say the content is depressing and a bit of a 'downer' I find it refreshing that someone in the public eye can be so candid, and honsetly there were many passages that I related to 100% I think his story challenged the reader to step out of their comfort zones and acknowledge that the world is so much bigger than the little boxes we choose to stay in.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Would highly recommend.

    Was well written, very honest and showed great insight into death, suicide, and the difficulty dealing with the harsh world we live in today.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    Very well written, I learned alot. I enjoy Anderson Cooper wheneverI have the chance to see him on TV.

    I have not written a book review in over 60 yrs.

    Reading this book made me realize that the "non fiction " world is wide open.

    That is my goal. Thank you Anderson Cooper.

    Carolyn McM

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Couldn't put it down

    To be honest this genre isn't my usual cup of tea, but I am a fan of his show so I picked it up anyways. I'm so glad I did because once I started reading, I couldn't put it down. It was interesting to see these natural disasters and war torn countries from his perspective, without the censorship of a video camera. The way he weaves stories of his personal life into his professional experiences makes for an emotionally gripping biography. We all deal with death differently, and I don't think it was depressing at all, just insightful.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2006

    Great Book

    Wonderful book .. sounds just like Anderson Cooper talking to you. Many inside stories with a lot of detail from the front line. Super - highly recommend this read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Strongly recommend

    Brilliantly written, impossible to put down, emotional and honest.... I strongly recommend this book. I remember watching Anderson on Channel One News and continue to admire his work on CNN. This book strengthened my respect for him and his work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    Waste Of Time Ghost Written Book

    Anderson Cooper revealed little about Katrina, or his home life, you do not know by now unless you lived under a rock in 2005.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2007

    Fantastic and Brilliant!!

    I really enjoyed this book and could not put it down. Anderson Cooper is one of the world's best journalists and he proves it with this book. He talks about his travels and really draws the reader in. He talks about his family and childhood growing up with such open honesty you really see the things we take for granted in this world. It was one of my favorite books and I recommend it to everybody.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2006

    Not much there there

    Fairly short, 224 relatively small pages with blank pages between the chapters, this book does not amount to much. To disguise the fact that there is so little here, the short passages are presented out of chronological order, as if this were some sort of literature. The author's brother's suicide is not discussed once, but is touched on numerous times in short (a page or less) passages. I suppose we are meant to think that it is highly significant, but after a while I began to think 'So what?' Plus, his father died. Pretty much everybody's father dies sooner or later. Big deal. The author of course is a news personality who has been at the scenes of various conflicts and disasters, and so we get little anecdotes about those experiences, few of them interesting.

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Hey anderson!!!

    Can u pplleeaassee have justin bieber on your show? I loove this book as well!!! I loove justin bieber soo much to!!! From jen-massachusetts

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Great read

    I think it's safe to say that Anderson Cooper can write as well as newscast. I found this book in the library and did not look up until I had finished it. The subject matter was interesting, even if the time bounced around a lot. However, even though I liked the writing, the tense changed a lot, which I was not such a fan of. While Anderson has discussed the deaths of his father and brother on his talk show, this book definitely gave a more quiet, personal side to his feelings. I did notice the lack of inclusion of 9/11. Anderson has frequently stated that 9/11 was the reason he went beck to being a war correspondant, so I wondered why it wasn't at least mentioned. But I understand why it was not a bigger part of the book. The stories in the memoir were of things he had witnessed, and I don't think Anderson covered much news about 9/11. Also, it is highly plausible that 9/11 did not have a large effect on Anderson. I lived in Brooklyn at the time, and although 9/11 was horrifying, I was not affected much. All in all, I enjoyed this memoir and would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    I learned a great deal about anderson cooper from his book. Very emotional and poignant book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    Blind Bargain

    I bought this book recently after reading some of it from the Library. I was overjoyed to get it for such a low price of $4. Anyway what was not made to my attention through this website is that it was a bargain book. So don't be fooled by the "seemingly" low prices. I definitely was upset because I thought I was getting a good deal and ended up getting screwed...

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Could not put this book down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Loved it!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted January 19, 2011

    Anderson Cooper is the future face of legendary journalism.

    When reading this book you quickly come to terms with the fact that it will not be easy to put down. The way Cooper describes his ordeals both personally and while on the field makes the reader feel empathy not only for thr victims of these tragedies, but for him as well. Very, very brave memoir worthy of respect.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    a lot of heart

    This book makes you travel with Anderson Cooper in his true-to-life adventures. Amidst his fame in the news and in his family life, his writing makes him human. Definitely a must read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Anderson Cooper Review

    This book was a fantastic read. I really enjoyed the heart and passion put in this book. Anderson Cooper really makes you feel like you were in his shoes in the foreign soil. Not only on the foreign soil but in his home life. He allows himself and his life to be relate-able. He pours all he has in this book. I have personally been inspired by this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Incredibly enlightening. For any aspiring journalists or Anderson Cooper admirers.

    Anderson Cooper skillfully recounts his experiences as a journalist, while weaving his own personal history into a thought-provoking narrative. Upon hearing that AC wrote the book, I searched relentlessly for it. Reading it now, I am more than satisfied with my decision. Anderson Cooper has perhaps outclassed his magnificent reporting style with his talent with a pen. Dispatches From the Edge is a gripping book that will leave you on the edge, eager from the first to last page, fascinated with the numerous ordeals Cooper survived.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6