Customer Reviews for

Dispatches from the Edge: A Memoir of War, Disasters, and Survival

Average Rating 4.5
( 119 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Well Done Cooper!!!

I couldn't put this book down. There was many a sleepless night trying to read this book. Anderson Cooper is a fabulous anchor and reporter from CNN and CBS and this book is just another one to add to his many accomplishments. It's well written and you feel either li...
I couldn't put this book down. There was many a sleepless night trying to read this book. Anderson Cooper is a fabulous anchor and reporter from CNN and CBS and this book is just another one to add to his many accomplishments. It's well written and you feel either like you sitting right there like he's telling you his stories or like you're experiencing them with him. It's also a nice open up to his more personal side without going too far. I feel like I know my favorite reporter better and this book makes me love him even more. Good job Anderson!!!

posted by Anonymous on January 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Waste Of Time Ghost Written Book

Anderson Cooper revealed little about Katrina, or his home life, you do not know by now unless you lived under a rock in 2005.

posted by 6295304 on February 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Couldn't put it down

    To be honest this genre isn't my usual cup of tea, but I am a fan of his show so I picked it up anyways. I'm so glad I did because once I started reading, I couldn't put it down. It was interesting to see these natural disasters and war torn countries from his perspective, without the censorship of a video camera. The way he weaves stories of his personal life into his professional experiences makes for an emotionally gripping biography. We all deal with death differently, and I don't think it was depressing at all, just insightful.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Great read

    I think it's safe to say that Anderson Cooper can write as well as newscast. I found this book in the library and did not look up until I had finished it. The subject matter was interesting, even if the time bounced around a lot. However, even though I liked the writing, the tense changed a lot, which I was not such a fan of. While Anderson has discussed the deaths of his father and brother on his talk show, this book definitely gave a more quiet, personal side to his feelings. I did notice the lack of inclusion of 9/11. Anderson has frequently stated that 9/11 was the reason he went beck to being a war correspondant, so I wondered why it wasn't at least mentioned. But I understand why it was not a bigger part of the book. The stories in the memoir were of things he had witnessed, and I don't think Anderson covered much news about 9/11. Also, it is highly plausible that 9/11 did not have a large effect on Anderson. I lived in Brooklyn at the time, and although 9/11 was horrifying, I was not affected much. All in all, I enjoyed this memoir and would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    I learned a great deal about anderson cooper from his book. Very emotional and poignant book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    Good, Smart and Interesting read

    Great Read. Makes for a good home office or den coffie table book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2009

    Wow!

    I learned sooo much from this book. I never knew that he was Gloria Vanderbeilt's son. He wrote this book sooo well, in such great detail. I was sad to hear that his dad killed him-self. I love his show also!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Insight

    I was one of the viewers of Anderson back in the day when he was on Channel One. I've been a fan of him ever since. I really enjoyed this glimpse into his life and also the inside look into the Tsunami, Hurricane Katrina, the Iraq War, etc. Additionally, I agree with other reviewers that it gives you a new perspective about the news on TV. I found it an interesting and quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    A tribute!

    This was the first non-fiction book that i truly appreciated. It gives great insight into how Anderson thinks and what he felt at the time of covering all these important events. I admit i also know a lot more about him now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2006

    not bad, not great

    I love watching Anderson Cooper on CNN and I also read his article on Vanity Fair, I expected a little more from his book. The book was very indepth with his experiences with Katrina and his relationships with his family. It was a fast, enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2006

    A personal tale of suffering

    This book was a great insight on how world affairs affect Mr. Cooper. He gave the reader an insight of what is was like to be some of the worst places on earth and then reflect on them and how they changed his life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2006

    Reporters really have feelings

    Anderson Cooper Dispatches From The Edge really describes the true life of top-notch reporter Anderson Cooper. He talks about what he saw and experienced in Iraq, Niger, what happened at Katrina and other world disasters. He describes what he went through on the most dangerous road in Iraq. This book caught my attention because it shows how a reporter can actually have feelings. For the longest time, I thought reporters were just like robots, no feelings, just retelling what they saw and go home to their families all happy. But Anderson tells it how it is he describes the stories from the front line the way they were, no sugar coatings. The way he tells all of his reports for Channel One and CNN just hooks me in and kept me reading on and on. He also talks about his family and when he talked about his brother committing suicide just really made me think about how I take things in life for granted. The book was really good all the way to the end but then it just kind of fizzed out. It was a great book and I would read any other writings of his in the future with no second thought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2006

    Glaring Hole in Book

    This book was interesting and an easy read. However, I found Anderson's lack of talking about 9/11, especially since he was raised in NYC, curious, and it left me wondering why? He goes further back into the past and discusses other disasters - I just don't get it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2006

    Simply Put, A Must Read!

    When I first started reading this book, I couldn't help but notice how hard it was to put it down. It was as if Anderson Cooper himself were taking you on a journey with him through all of the tragedies that took place last year. The sights, sounds, and smells of the tsunami that struck Indonesia, the War in Iraq, starvation in Maradi, and of course Hurricane Katrina. He even gives the reader a rare glimpse into his childhood, his teenage years and the personal tragedies he's had to endure that have helped to fuel his desire to continue reporting from the front lines. It's a great book, that's well worth buying!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2