Customer Reviews for

The Distant Echo

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    The best book ever that everyone should read

    I've read the whole which was really good i never would have thought that it would have ended like it did it was fantastic book that I couldn't put down at all Distant Echo is one of the geatest books ever.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Cold Case UK style

    This was my first Val McDermid book. I've been a big fan of the BBC's Wire in the Blood series, so I was looking forward to reading her books. I opted for a stand-alone novel, rather than one of her Tony Hill works.

    Overall, I was pleased with this work. The characters are interesting and there's a real tension that builds convincingly. I want go into details, but you cared enough about the characters that when events unfold you're whispering to yourself, "please, not him." The story is basically told in two parts. The original murder and investigation, and then a big jump to present day. I thought there would be more back and forth between the time periods, but I'm not sure I would say that is a critique.

    Once I got into the book, it was a quick and enjoyable read. Less gore than in Wire in the Blood, and more psychological suspense and character drama. Worth picking up if you're a fan of British mystery writers and don't want to commit to a series. She is an exceptional writer. You're in the hands of a true professional

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2005

    An utter disapointment

    Almost unreadable. You keep waiting for something to happen and it never does. The dialogue is completely unbelievable. No one talks or thinks like this. I have two teenage boys and these characters are bogus and totally unrealistic. I put it down after 175 pages. Don't bother.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2005

    The best McDermid by far

    So I bought this book out of the sheer fact that I own all of her other books and I adore her style of writing. I didn't even bother reading the back. When I read it, I about died. This book weaves together the tale of four boys skillfully. The Distant Echo grabs hold of its reader and doesn't let go from page one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2004

    Really Good

    This book was really good. It latches onto you from the start and doesn't let go (although I will admit the first part was better than the second part). McDermid really knows how to write a good mystery. Trust me; the end will surprise you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2003

    Great storytelling

    In 1978 St. Andrews, Scotland, four intoxicated students stumble home at four in the morning while snow heavily falls. However, they sober up rather quickly when they stumble over the raped and murdered body of Rosie Duff. Though everyone especially the victim¿s siblings believe that the drunken male quartet killed her, no proof exists and thus no one is charged with the homicide.<P> Twenty-five years later, forensic science has advanced to the point that the Scottish police reconsider this cold case. Instead of rejoicing that perhaps Rosie¿s killer is identified, the reopening of the investigation sets off someone seeking revenge against the four former students, who remain haunted by that deadly discovery. Two of them, Sigmund Malkewicz and Davy Kerr, suddenly die in what look like accidents, but their deaths sends a shiver up the spines of the surviving pair. Alex Gilbey and Tom Mackie become determined to learn the truth about the murder a quarter of a century ago and the two killings of their friends because they fear they are next. On the other hand, Assistant Chief Constable James Lawson wants them to stay out while he tries to solve the murder as homage to his former superior, Detective Investigator Barney Maclennan, who died during the 1978 investigation. <P> Part one takes place in 1978 is brilliantly designed so that the audience wonders who killed Rosie. Part Two occurs in 2003 is well written with an intriguing and plausible ending. The contrasting police procedural story lines enable the audience to see how far forensics has come in a relative short period while entertaining the audience with a strong two in one novel that ties nicely together.<P> Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    VAL DOES IT AGAIN

    I KEEP WAITING FOR HER BOOKS TO BECOME TOO MUCH ALIKE AS SO MANY DO, BUT THIS ONE KEPT THE STANDARD UP.
    I DEFINITELY RECCOMEND IT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding and Fast Paced

    This was an outstanding book. Everything about the book was great: characters, plot, writing style, etc. This was my first Val McDermid book and I look forward to reading more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2004

    HIGHLY LISTENABLE ENTERTAINMENT

    Following on the heels of her acclaimed mystery 'A Place of Execution' British writer Val McDermid offers an equally compelling story based on a 25-year-old unsolved murder. Talented voice performer Gerard Doyle gives an outstanding reading of this tale, spicing it with proper amounts of chill and suspense. A quarter of a century ago four male students, much the worse for drink, staggered toward home through snowy Scotland. They are friends and all enrolled at St. Andrews School. Their nocturnal journey is interrupted by the discovery of a young woman's body - Rosie Duff has been raped, stabbed and left for dead. Of course, the prime suspects are the four young men. Rosie's family is convinced of their guilt, still no one is charged for her murder. Seque ahead to the present day when the use of DNA evidence enables law enforcement officials to solve decades old crimes. However, there's more than crime solving going on here as one of the original foursome dies in a house fire. Soon, a second loses his life in what looks like a botched burglary. The remaining pair know they must solve the cold-case before they are also killed. For mystery fans 'The Distant Echo' is highly listenable entertainment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1