Customer Reviews for

A Distant Melody (Wings of Glory Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 139 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(98)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

BusyMom5

The era in which this story occurs plus the cover of the book first caught my attention. It was well written, with an excellent devlopment of characters, historical descriptions, and plot. I enjoyed this christian romance. Of the many christian fiction books I have read...
The era in which this story occurs plus the cover of the book first caught my attention. It was well written, with an excellent devlopment of characters, historical descriptions, and plot. I enjoyed this christian romance. Of the many christian fiction books I have read, this is a top pick for me.





posted by 5962643 on February 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!!!

This was an awesome read! True romance, tender love, historical moments in history for the background of a truly beautiful love story. This book reminded me of the way they used to make movies, and I wish they still made them today.

posted by Ladydi8 on February 8, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 139 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    BusyMom5

    The era in which this story occurs plus the cover of the book first caught my attention. It was well written, with an excellent devlopment of characters, historical descriptions, and plot. I enjoyed this christian romance. Of the many christian fiction books I have read, this is a top pick for me.





    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Incredible!!!

    I read this book in two days only because I got a late start on the first. I don't know if it was the time period of WWII, the story, or the characters that was the best. The time period was a perfect choice, the story kept moving forward, and the characters changed through out the whole book. I also loved the involvement of God and scripture verses. This is just an all around excellent book!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Best!!

    Loved this series! This book is my favorite in the series-learned lots more about ww2!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Very good

    It has been a while since i have read such a good book. I was quiet young during World War 2, but I remember it well. This was such a good story and was well written. I could feel the pain the people were going through. It was a book for every one. No hot steamy scenes. The romance was so sweet and a true picture of a time when our morals were so different than they are today. I would like to read more of her books.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!!!

    This was an awesome read! True romance, tender love, historical moments in history for the background of a truly beautiful love story. This book reminded me of the way they used to make movies, and I wish they still made them today.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Clever story line of two shy people.

    War is so sad and this story brings back memories of all the families who prayed and sacrificed during WWII. I'm 80 yrs. old and I remember all the rationing, the collecting of papers, cans, rubber, etc. It brought back all the sacrifices Americans made for our soliders, unity, country and patriotism.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2013

    A Distant Melody is a masterfully documented Christian historica

    A Distant Melody is a masterfully documented Christian historical love story set in WWII. I was taken on several missions with Bomber pilot, Walt Novak and his crew. Intertwined in the story an unlikely love develops between Walt, the son of a preacher, and Allie Miller, a daughter of wealth. The author takes you on a riveting journey, keeping you guessing until the end, if they will confess the truth of their love for each other. Will the trail of lies harm or hurt them in the end? What will each of them sacrifice in order to follow God's will? A bit of a surprise ending. I found the book hard to put down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Excellent read

    A great story... very well written.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    A Distant Melody was a good story with a weak ending and some sa

    A Distant Melody was a good story with a weak ending and some sappy and cliche writing.

    There were moments when I was very captivated by the characters and the story, to the point of tears, and I didn't want to stop reading. I really liked, both Walt and Allie. I thought Sundin did a fine job, particularly with Walt, in conveying emotions and the stress of war. Sometimes I was lost as she described what was happening in battle, but never lost the adrenalin that pilots must have felt during their bombing missions. I liked how the camaraderie developed between Walt and his crew.

    I did find it hard to believe the relationship between Allie and her parents. But I could let that go for the sake of the story and because I realize that when you read a historical fiction you still approach it with 21st century sensibilities.

    For the most part, I liked the Christian element of the story. I did think it got to be just a but preachy toward the end.

    The music metaphor that ran threw the story sometimes worked, sometimes seemed like the writer intruding on the story.

    And unfortunately, the ending became a bit tedious and then trite. I am picky in how I like my romances to end. Yes, I want them happy, but I most enjoy those that can do so without all the schmaltzy, cliche reconciliations and proposals.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    Summary: A Distant Melody follows the journeys of Allie Miller a

    Summary:
    A Distant Melody follows the journeys of Allie Miller and Walt Novak during World War II.  Allie is in an unhappy relationship, and Walt is tongue-tied around single women.  They meet at a mutual friend’s wedding and quickly become friends.  Allie and Walt share a love for music and God.  When they part ways, they promise to write, as Walt is flying planes in the war, and Allie goes home to a life she is not content with.
    My thoughts:
    I have so much to say, but again I must say I loved this book.  It was a wonderful story of two people who meet and quickly become important to one another.  Allie and Walt meet on a train and have a somewhat awkward conversation before realizing they are both headed to the same place.
    During their conversation, Walt says, “I guess silence is a truthful solution to a dilemma” (21).
    This later becomes a subtle theme throughout the novel.  Is silence really truthful? What if silence just perpetuates a lie?
    After a week together, Walt and Allie correspond through letters and become close friends and confidants of one another.  As the story progresses, they lead separate lives, in which they each tell lies that cause problems for themselves and each other.  Will they be able to tell the truth?  Will they decide to work through the lies and forgive? Will they obey God?
    The theme of obedience to God is central to the characters’ development.  Will they change their ways and do what God asks of them? When we meet Allie, she is not content with how things are in her life, but she is not doing much about it.  As the story progresses, Allie becomes stronger and takes action in her life.  Instead of letting things happen to her, she takes control of her life.  Walt’s character development was also exciting to watch.  After making a mistake, we watch as what he has done eats away at him.  He deals with guilt, punishment, and the need to accept forgiveness.  These characters are beautiful people who grow and mature by the end of the book.  I find myself wishing I knew Allie. I feel like she would be a wonderful friend.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Predictable

    The book was okay. It wasn't a waste of time - but the romance story was totally predictable. If you're looking for something light and airy this would be the book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    This is a wonderful, beautifully researched book, as is her firs

    This is a wonderful, beautifully researched book, as is her first book in the series. Definitely an author to watch.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    This is one of the best Christian historical romances I've read

    This is one of the best Christian historical romances I've read lately. I wasn't sure I wanted to read it because it was supposed to involve a correspondence between the hero & heroine for much of the story, which meant they'd be apart a good while (a no-no in a romance). But the author made up for this by having such a good development to their friendship/relationship in the first third of the book. One of Sundin's strengths is excellent dialogue between the hero and heroine. Their wit was so catching, you could just feel the growing chemistry between two shy people. When they were apart, there was such interesting stuff going on and good interactions among the secondary characters, which made up for the separation of the two main characters. The World War II details, especially about flying, were so well done and authentic-sounding. There were quite a few laugh-out-loud moments for me, and one tear jerking one (reading Walt's grandfather's letter to him). I look forward to reading the other two books in this series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    Great Series... A MUST read.

    I waited anxiously for the 3rd book in the Wings Of Glory Series to come out. Blue Skies Tomorrow, was worth the wait. Wish there were more to come. I rate this book a 5 *****

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    great book!

    i cherished this love story. i read the entire book in one day. i cant wait for the next book in the series!u

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    An easy read.

    Kept my interest....a good vacation, plane ride read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    New to me author alert!! I really enjoyed reading Sundin's, A Di

    New to me author alert!! I really enjoyed reading Sundin's, A Distant Melody.   As a kid I had a fantastic Cherry Ames collection and I remember several of those stories being set during wartime.    As a teen, I was enamoured with Emilie Loring's books as well and many of them were wartime romances.   So I guess it was only natural that I would read something written by Sarah Sundin.




    I didn't realize however that she was such a Christian writer.    This 422 pg historical romance also included  Walt and Allie's struggle to follow God through obedience and there was a lot of scripture included with those pages.   I for one do not mind the scriptual references and I think there are many who feel the same way, but I know there are those that do not appreciate it, so be forewarned.   However, if you want a truly sweet romance set against a World War II back drop, when life was slower albeit not so gentle, this could warm the cockles of your heart.    It certainly did mine! 




    Her characters certainly earned a place in my heart and I have often thought, I should have been born in the forties rather than the fifties.   The only problem with the storyline was Allie's unbelievably unloving parents.   But they needed to be what they were to make the story quite believable, and to set the stage for Allie's growing discontent with her lifestyle.    Yes, she grew to listen to that wee still voice that led her and guided her, as did Walt.




    Definitely a love story from a different place and time and quite enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    Anonymous

    Good story. I especially enjoyed the World War II history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Enjoyable

    If you enjoy romance & aviation this is a must read. If you ever lived in southern Calif. the setting for this story will bring back memories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    Not even a half star

    This book could have been written in half the pages and been much more enjoyable if there had not been so much self loathing, religious indignation and christian righteousness. Very disappointed. only giving a star because review will not submit without one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 139 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7